We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but that's where it ends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but that's where it ends”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Paid $400 per night at this hotel which has tiny rooms, lacks basic facilities and needs noise insulation for both inside & out. Understand rates are based on supply & demand but this is outrageous for a motel style property with little customer service. Don't bother staying here, find yourself a better option there are plenty around.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    209
    156
    54
    29
See reviews for
200
76
70
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Location, location, location is a key advantage of this hotel, especially if you are visiting Harvard and want to be close to the T and Harvard Square. My room was on the small side, but not uncomfortably so compared to many city hotels. The room was painted bright white and was sparkling clean, with large a large photograph of what looked to be a walkway at the Alhambra. The room was perfectly fine for my 2-night stay. The iron I used while I was there had seen better days, but that is often the case at hotels, I find. The front desk staff was very attentive and professional. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Harvard Square Hotel is the only place we would ever consider when visiting the Cambridge area. Here you will find both value and personal attention. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the recent renovation is modern without sacrificing comfort. We love the new coffee and snack bar and are appreciative of the free wi-fi ..Most of all, the staff makes you feel like your visit is truly welcome and appreciated. Beginning with Dave at the desk who greets us like an old friend, to the rest of the fine staff, whatever you need will be attended to with a professional approach and good cheer. And the location is just steps away from the bustling excitement of Harvard Square and Harvard University, as well as a hop, skip and jump from the scenic Charles River- a perfect spot for a morning walk.. The Harvard Square Hotel is an urban jewel in the crown of the Harvard area community.-Connecticut Travelers

Room Tip: Rooms with the extra hallway leading to the bathroom offer a nice little dressing space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Most characteristics of this hotel are decent. I did have one experience with the hotel staff which might be useful for other people.

I asked the front desk to call a cab for me. Without offering any choices, the man behind the desk informed me that he has a guy who will go to the airport for $45 cash; it rapidly became evident that this guy does not belong to a cab company. I searched online, and it turned out that actual cabs cost around $35 (plus toll). I had a conversation about this with my actual cab driver the next day, and apparently it is a habit of the front desk of this hotel (and a few other hotels) to send customers to a specific and more expensive service in return for kickbacks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 768XLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

There is no one to help with luggage , no cafeteria - just a small kiosk badly stocked , no room service ! They also do not have coffee or tea in the room , so you have to go out every time you need a drink and stock food in your room if you want to munch on something any time of the day and night ! also when I complained about shocks from the switch and the door handle, at first they tried to convince me that it was static . when I insisted that I saw sparks from the switch ,only after the manager arrived next morning , they gave me a better room. The saving grace was they gave me a huge corner room ! The only advatage is its location in Harvard Square so you can walk up to the Campus .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeetaMadhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Owner at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest!!

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor. Your comments help us to make improvements to our services. We just completed a major hotel renovation including all guest bathrooms and lobby. We have all new furniture and the finest new bedding on the market. Thank you again for your constructive comments and I hope you will stay with the Harvard Square Hotel in the near future. As business owner you are welcome to contact me directly to make a room reservation.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone General Manager and Business Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel is expensive and feels quite motel-like but the location is absolutely unbeatable - right off Harvard Square and right next to a T entrance - and cheaper than all the other big hotels. The entrance leads up over the parking lot and is very plain but staff are helpful.The rooms are fine and have been redecorated since I was last there in 2010. They feel more modern but the furniture is too big for the rooms and it all seems to have come from Ikea (looks like the cheap Lack line). Small bathrooms and ho hum amenities. Only one bedside lamp between 2 beds which always means someone isn't happy. Loads of restaurants within a 5 minute radius and although there is a fridge in the room, it isn't stocked - they have do have some food items for sale in the lobby.

Room Tip: Higher up and on the River side are the best. The other side faces the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed last week at the Harvard Square Hotel and highly recommend it to other travelers. Jenny and David were very nice and helpful, and you can see they truly care about your stay. I stayed in room #420, which is beautiful, with large windows from floor to roof and breathtaking views. The hotel has been recently renovated and the location can't be beaten. 1 minute walk to the T and in front of restaurants and cafes. It has a parking lot for those who have a car. The bed and the room itself are really comfortable, with a large desk in front of the large windows, to inspire good work. They keys worked well and I never found any problems getting in and out my room/hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,937 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing