We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zabojad in USA Exploring Harvard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvard Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Altorf, France
Level Contributor
275 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Zabojad in USA Exploring Harvard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Another favourite City of Zabojad Boston, USA. Harvard Square is one its favourite stop as the Hotel is very close to the Campus and Libraries. Harvard Square Hotel allows to be very close to the Harvard Univeristy and facilitates to take Courses at a very decent price and high Quality Services.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Zabojad!!

Thank you for your fine review!! The Harvard Square Hotel is in the center of Harvard Square and very close to many of the graduate schools at Harvard University as well as Harvard College!!

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about our hotel in the heart of Harvard Square Cambridge!!

Thank you!! Very Much Appreciated

Richard Carbone General Manager and Business Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    196
    145
    46
    22
See reviews for
190
72
65
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is super convenient to Harvard, the Metro and associated businesses. The rooms were very clean and functional but on the small side and consistent with the price which was quite reasonable for the area.. It had very good sound insulation and the staff were generally helpful and accommodating. However, for a business hotel the internet connections were painfully slow and completely inadequate. Also, there was no coffee maker in the room which I missed although there was coffee in the lobby. When I needed to go to the airport, I asked the staff to call a cab and explicitly requested a licensed taxi but a "town car" showed up instead. I asked the driver for the cost before I got in and he said $45 plus tip which was about 50% more than it should have been. Since I was did not have time to wait, I went ahead and took it but it left a bad impression.

I will stay there again if they get the Internet connection upgraded but I will also be aware of some of the negatives.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear George B.

Thank you for your review of the Harvard Square Hotel. As General Manager here I really appreciate your constructive feedback. I will work on the complimentary wireless internet connection. I am sorry that it was slow for your use. Also after we completed the guest room renovation we decided to offer Starbucks coffee and tea in the lobby. I am also sorry you missed having a coffee maker in your room. We can put one in your room for a future visit. I did want to comment on the cab service to the airport from the hotel.. It is a Flat Fee of $45 dollars to the airport for a cab or a coach from Harvard Square and the front desk staff should always inform you of this flat rate. We hope to serve you soon again and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
General Manager and Business Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am reviewing the Harvard Square Hotel, Cambridge, MA. It is adorable. I know that is an odd description for a hotel. Sounds more like a kitten. I'm an urban dweller and I love proper use of space. This hotel is perfect not only for location but amenities. Clean, safe updated decor: simplistic and trendy. Very chic. Also everything I needed was a quick walk because I was there in the brutal winter of 2014.

Room Tip: I was in Room 119 / 2 Queen beds. There was early a.m. construction work outside. I don't hold t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piaxlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Piaxlou:

Thank you very much for your review.We are very happy that you found our newly renovated Harvard Square Hotel adorable. We did try to use the space in the guest room efficiently. I hope you liked our brand new bathrooms. Thank you again for your fantastic review. We have a great location in the center of Harvard Square.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, and decor clearly has been recently modernized: contemporary European styling made my room feel elegant. Nice toiletries, extra-soft bed and cozy duvet, free WiFi. I was on the fourth (top?) floor and enjoyed a great view down the streets of Cambridge. Staff were helpful and gracious. No coffee in the room and no restaurant on site (only a pricey self-serve snack bar), but IHOP is just a few doors down the street so that was fine! (Only real irritation was being asked twice by the housekeeping staff if I was ready to check out. I felt a bit rushed - I would understand if it had been around noon, but this was before 8 am!)

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariz0nagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review. I will follow up with the housekeepers.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Harvard Square Hotel is a quaint hotel within walking distance to Harvard University campus, restaurants, shopping, and more! The hotel is clean and safe. The rooms are spacious and decorated beautifully! My favorite thing about the hotel is the staff!!! ALL of the staff are wonderful, accommodating, and above all nice and professional! Traits that are difficult to find in people who reside/work in Boston, MA.

To all the staff at The Harvard Square Hotel, THANK YOU!
Jen Depp - Chaperon/Parent
Sequoyah High School Speech & Debate Team
Canton, GA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest!!

Thank you very much for writing a Tripadvisor Review!! It rally means a lot to our staff to have you post your comments. Thank you very much!!

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The location if you are to visit Harvard Square is the best. The hotel is clean and modern, and the staff is very friendly and pro active. The rooms are small but modern, although a bit noisy. Hot water presure was weak.
No amenities.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlzabala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest!!

Thank you for your review!! We are fortunate with our Center of Harvard Square Location!! We hope to serve you again soon!!

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

New, clean and modern. The Harvard Square Hotel staff was extremely accommodating for my group. Rooms were small, but clean and functional, and the beds were especially comfortable! The price was excellent for the location!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest!!

Thank you for your review!! We are fortunate with our Center of Harvard Square Location!! We hope to serve you again soon!!

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing