We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I enjoyed my time at Harvard Square Hotel!
Positives:
- As mentioned, it is a great location close to Harvard Square, shopping, dinning, coffee places, bars and two T stops. You really can't be in a better location.
- The staff was courteous, helpful, and responsive.
- I stayed for two weeks and the room was always clean.
- Free WiFi (although the service could be spotty at times).
- My bed was comfortable and the ambiance was inviting for relaxation.
Negatives:
- Room was TINY with a small bathroom (but well appointed) and virtually no closet.
- No on premises workout facility or swimming pool.
- No on premises dinning option.
- Room was pricey but competitive with other hotels in the area.

Overall it was a positive experience for my purposes (there for an extended education experience) however, I don't think it would be a good choice for families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cache75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Cache 75 I am happy that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Harvard Square
Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We and our friends from across the U.S. stayed at this property when we came back to Cambridge for our 20th college reunion. Rooms were small, but nicely appointed and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Waters in the rooms were a nice touch. Location is superb. The concierge also went out of her way to accommodate us during the peak graduation season in town, helping us secure a room from another guest who no longer needed the reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichiganFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Michiganfans: Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I am happy you enjoyed your reunion here at the hotel. Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location, steps from the Harvard COOP, can't be beat. For 1/3 the price I'd have been very happy. But for one of the most expensive hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, I'd have expected distinctly better facilities and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear BenjaminP: Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor Review. I am very happy that you enjoyed our hotel location and the staff service. Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The difference between the online representation and reality is stark. The staff are very helpful and polite but the rooms are extremely poor and facilities are zero.extremely poor value. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Tompmurray: Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I apologize that you were disappointed with the hotel facilities. We did complete a full guest room and lobby renovation in 2012 and we try to provide a friendly brand of guest service coupled with a heart of Harvard Square location. Again thank you for your review and I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager for the past 22 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Harvard Square Hotel for our daughter’s Harvard Commencement. We stayed there for 5 days. Upon our arrival at the main entrance, the hotel staff came out and helped us with the luggage and accompanied us to the registration. The hotel manager Mr. Carbone was there to greet us. The friendly staff processed the registration efficiently. The room was bright, clean, and cheerful. It seemed newly renovated; the furniture looked new and modern. It had all the essentials: good size desk, modern television, large window with elegant curtains, large comfortable beds with clean and neat beddings etc. The bathroom was modern and bright. This was the first time we stayed in this hotel and it was a pleasant surprise. We had a great time staying there. The housekeeping staff did a good job. The hotel provides the major benefit offered by smaller hotels: more personal service and staff greeting you by your names. Harvard Square Hotel is located next to the Harvard campus and surrounded by shops, restaurants, and within 5 minutes walk to the subway station. Hotel guests can enjoy the relaxing and quiet atmosphere inside the hotel and at the same time only a few minutes walk to Harvard Yard, shopping, bookstores, restaurants, and enjoy the atmosphere of being near Harvard. The innkeeper Richard Carbone is an excellent manager and runs an efficient operation at the same time providing personal service. The front office manager David Haigh is dedicated, experienced, and pleasant. The front desk team such as Charlotte are efficient and helpful. We want to thank all the staff in Harvard Square Hotel who made our stay very enjoyable and comfortable. We look forward to staying in Harvard Square Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JandS3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear J and S Toronto: Thank you very much for the outstanding review! Richard Carbone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Good location in proximity to Harvard. More like a euro style guest house than a hotel. Room had bleach stains on the carpet but otherwise was fine. Beds and bedding were nice. Room had an iron. Staff were helpful. If you are going for a Harvard conference sign up early to get a cheaper conference rate at the Charles across the street for much better value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Min Flier Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and constructive comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your guest comments very much and I will follow up with the staff.

Sincerely,

Richard Carbone General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

very convenient location, excellent, competent, friendly staff, excellent management…….nicely updated. staff very concerned that guests have a good experience. They offer good guidance and advice bout the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natus1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Natus: Thank you for your review we are happy that you enjoyed our locations and hotel in Harvard Square. Richard Carbone General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 19 in Cambridge
508 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,026 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £135 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! Stay tuned for updates as we plan out our hotel renovations scheduled for late 2018 !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing