We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was on the Square and close to the campus. It was also next to the Train which was very convenient. The rooms were very basic. Little or no closet space. Bathroom had very little counter space to lay out your stuff. Hotel was clean. Bed was very comfortable. No coffee service in room.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ramona, Thank you for your review we are happy you fond the room very clean and our location is close to everything you needed in Harvard Square. Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    199
    146
    48
    26
See reviews for
192
72
68
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice hotel, very good and friendly staff, excellent location. Not too great wifi though...no restaurant but the worlds smallest restaurant at the reception. I would recomend this hotel for business trips especially....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mads F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mads F Thank you for complimenting the great staff at the Harvard Square Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

During my two-week stay in Cambridge, I was delighted with the quality of service and the close proximity to Harvard Square festivities (including a street music festival). Enjoyed the room and the view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shaily_Menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Shally, Thank you for your review of the hotel. As a guest for 2 full weeks we are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. Sincerely, Richard Carbone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Over priced but good location.

Rooms seem to be updated but perhaps the updates were not installed with much care. I could have renovated as well.

No gym, no restaurant, charges for cheap coffee.

Better off at Sheraton Commander or somewhere else and simply take a taxi - it will be better and less expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Travis: I apologize that you were not happy with our hotel. Your comments mean a lot to us. We strive to offer friendly guest services along with a wonderful location in the heart of Harvard Square. We do offer complimentary Starbucks Verona coffee in our lobby 24 hours per day alsomg with Tao Tea selections. I am sorry if you were charged for your coffee. Sincerely Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I enjoyed my time at Harvard Square Hotel!
Positives:
- As mentioned, it is a great location close to Harvard Square, shopping, dinning, coffee places, bars and two T stops. You really can't be in a better location.
- The staff was courteous, helpful, and responsive.
- I stayed for two weeks and the room was always clean.
- Free WiFi (although the service could be spotty at times).
- My bed was comfortable and the ambiance was inviting for relaxation.
Negatives:
- Room was TINY with a small bathroom (but well appointed) and virtually no closet.
- No on premises workout facility or swimming pool.
- No on premises dinning option.
- Room was pricey but competitive with other hotels in the area.

Overall it was a positive experience for my purposes (there for an extended education experience) however, I don't think it would be a good choice for families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cache75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Cache 75 I am happy that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Harvard Square
Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We and our friends from across the U.S. stayed at this property when we came back to Cambridge for our 20th college reunion. Rooms were small, but nicely appointed and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Waters in the rooms were a nice touch. Location is superb. The concierge also went out of her way to accommodate us during the peak graduation season in town, helping us secure a room from another guest who no longer needed the reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MichiganFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Michiganfans: Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I am happy you enjoyed your reunion here at the hotel. Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location, steps from the Harvard COOP, can't be beat. For 1/3 the price I'd have been very happy. But for one of the most expensive hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, I'd have expected distinctly better facilities and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Harvard Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear BenjaminP: Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor Review. I am very happy that you enjoyed our hotel location and the staff service. Sincerely, Richard Carbone General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing