We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvard Square Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Small but Great”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is small and room was small but it's new, clean and cosy. Reception staff was very welcoming and helpful. Location is great - right in the heart of Harvard Square. Elevator condition could be better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SYC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    208
    151
    54
    29
See reviews for
197
76
69
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Room was sufficient size with comfy bed.. Mini fridge and safe were good to have in room. Parking should be free for guests. Perfectly located at Harvard Square which has plenty of options for food/drinks within walking distance from hotel. Would have preferred regular size ironing board and closet to hang adult size clothes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KCRaposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The best thing about The HSH is The location. Good shows and restaurants are nearby right at The heart of Harvard Square. The rooms are comfortable, light and clean. The staff is very attentive and supportive. The hotel lacks a bigger commom area and a restaurant were guests could get together specially when travelling in groups for small meetings.

Room Tip: The rooms facing front are sunny and have a great view of The charming Harvard Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PatriciaFausto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Toscana, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

it's a basic hotel, too expensive, good location near harvard square and near Harvard metro station,o cafe or restaurant in the hotel- you have to eat out - there is a small area in the lobby offering basic snacks such a health bars, yoghurt and coffee

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had previously stayed at The Charles Hotel and LOVED IT!! However, they were sold out for the week we needed stay in Cambridge, MA. The Hotel was clean and the staff is friendly. The staff was friendly and were quick to help me scan a document to my office. The business center is an iPad that you must print from to get your airline tickets. I was so hopeful that staying near Harvard Square would make my Harvard experience less stressful. Au contraire!! We had to nearly beg the hotel for 3 days until I finally got the General Manager for a chair that wouldn't collapse at the desk. I also couldn't believe that there wasn't a simple laundry room for guests to use. However, we did find a really nice Wash and Fold 4 blocks down the street that was wonderful. You did have to bring it and pick it up and they even fixed a pair of socks without asking. Rooms are small yet freshly made up every morning after you leave for your return. The bathroom is IKEA and works for what you need. The beds were comfortable yet they fit tightly in the room.Their is a small self-serve Starbucks machine in the small lobby that also offers waters, juice, soft drinks and packaged snacks. Breakfast at Henrietta's across the street in The Charles is extra special. Dinner at the Legal Seafood located across the street in The Charles is always a treat!

Room Tip: The wifi woks sporadically. Fortunately, I was able to connect to the Harvard Guest wifi for free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I arrived for a weeklong conference and enjoyed my stay very much. The hotel has a small footprint yet it's very pleasant for what it offers. Its centric location provided easy access to Harvard University and the local businesses, of which there are many. The room was always well kept and the staff was extremely helpful. I can't overstate these last point, the staff at the hotel made all the difference, there level of attentiveness and cordiality really made this hotel standout in my travels.

Room Tip: The best views are facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oscar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Clean, small and no breakfast. Free wi-fi and very helpful staff will make you feel good. Very close to Havard Campus.It seems there are not many options in Cambridge. This fact could explain the high price charged, above US$ 300/night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
497 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,918 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Square Hotel

Property: Harvard Square Hotel
Address: 110 Mount Auburn St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5774
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#13 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harvard Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvard Square Hotel contemporary in decor is centrally located in the heart of Harvard Square. Just steps away from all that Harvard Square has to offer including the Harvard University Campus, Harvard T-Station, Charles River and the many eclectic stores and restaurants found in the Square. We are also only a few miles to downtown Boston. Our on the go Starbucks Cafe is a big hit with our guests as the head out to start their day !! We would like to thank our recent guests for their patience as we installed a brand new elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harvard Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvard Square Cambridge
Cambridge Harvard Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing