We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Family Visits to Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Place for Family Visits to Boston”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I took my family to Boston for a few days and we stayed at the Residence Inn. The cost was cheaper than getting two hotel rooms and the space was adequate. The location was good, since it is near the Kendall redline stop. It is also near the trolley tour stop as well. The staff was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    201
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
167
54
17
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
477 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I really like the Residence Inn business model, probably more than Hampton Inn but less than Homewood Suites and certainly much better than Holiday Inn. This is as good as any Residence Inn that I have stayed in. The beds were comfortable, the room was large (for the Boston/Cambridge area), and the breakfast options were good. The hotel was always spotlessly clean and staffed by helpful, friendly people. If you need some business services (as I did), the wifi is good and they can scan & email documents for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI-Cambridge-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mutiny,

I’m glad that you like the Residence Inn business model; so do I! I have worked for Marriott for almost 23 years and spent time in many of our brands. I have especially enjoyed the spacious style of room that Residence Inn offers, including the complimentary morning breakfast.

Thank you for providing comments about your recent stay with your family. I will be sure to pass along the notes about the Hotel being cleaned spotlessly by helpful and friendly people. We promote an environment of fun, with each associate dedicated towards providing a memorable experience. I will also be certain to give thanks to the Front Desk for providing business services that you found useful.

If you and your family are traveling this way again, I hope we will see you on a return trip. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I could assist with your future reservations.

Kind regards,

John Wilmoth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep South
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed in a one room suite for three nights with my son. He stayed on the pullout sofa and said it was comfortable enough. Not a fancy room, but the room was very quiet, clean, comfortable and large enough so it didn't feel like we were stepping on each other. Refrigerator, silverware, etc. make it easy to store some essentials (e.g., beer, ice cream, water). Very good breakfast buffet - lots of choices and the staff was super attentive. It does get a bit hectic in the morning, but what do you expect from a free breakfast buffet in a suite hotel. The hotel was convenient to the metro which made getting around the city very easy. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterGuyDeepSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom unit with my daughter. We were first assigned to a room that backed up to an elevator on the twelfth floor but got switched to a corner room on the eleventh floor facing the somewhat busy street down below. Very good view and and the noise level on the Saturday morning was minimal but on the Friday morning you can hear the numerous buses, so I would recommend the side of the building which faces the alley behind the hotel. The rooms were very nice and actually trendy for a Residence Inn. The workout room was great and the breakfast areas was large and well stocked. Ok, so the reason its average is that we had to reset the AC compressor in the room multiple times to get the AC to work. Also, they have programmed the controls so you can't set it below 70. I am all for the environment, but 68 or 69 would have been great!

Room Tip: Face the parking garage behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Aggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI-Cambridge-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear David_Aggie,

Thank you for staying with us last week. I am glad to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms to be trendy. We put a lot of thought into the design during the recent renovation. I appreciate the comments about the complimentary breakfast as well, and will be sure to pass this along to the associates.

I apologize that you experienced difficulty with the AC controls. We recently installed new thermostats in all of the guest rooms. The new thermostat is set up on the Hotel’s network to recognize when the room becomes occupied through our property management system. Once occupied, the guest has the ability to control the temperature to a wide range for their desired comfort. After researching your particular room unit, I discovered that the interface which handles communication was not working properly at the time you checked in to the Hotel. This affected your thermostat by leaving it in a “vacant” mode, and only giving it a limited range of temperature settings. This deficiency has been tested and corrected so that all thermostats stay synchronized properly.

Again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We took a key learning from your posting, as the Director of Engineering was able to make a programming change to the thermostat system. It now enables a wider range of input regardless of its occupied mode. This enables the Hotel to still be energy conscious but deliver guest comfort. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback. If I can be of further assistance, please contact me directly.

Kind regards,

John Wilmoth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Close to MIT and downtown Boston. Great rooms with kitchen. Breakfast was a full buffet which changed from day to day. Very comfortable dining area. I'd recommend staying on lower floors as elevator ride during morning rush can be somewhat long.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarreMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 adults in a 2 queen beds studio and there was a lot of space in the room! Kitchen, living room, clean, modern, good food, ... perfect! We asked for a 20$ single rolling bed (witch was comfortable for a rolling!) and combine with the sofa bed, the 4 of us had a bed. I couldn't find another hotel configured like this in Boston below 300$.

Congrats!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latoast12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I travel to MIT every 2-3 weeks and usually stay in the nearby Marriott Boston Cambridge but since I travelled with family this time I decided to stay in the next door Residence Inn and was quite happy with the experience. Spacious rooms, good breakfast, convenient location.
Giving it 4 stars since it's still quite expensive and if you're a price-sensitive traveler you may be better off with more reasonably priced nearby alternatives.
Also if you're a Marriott Rewards Elite don't count on any upgrades - for some reason they are very rarely available (even in February when the hotel is seemingly empty).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI-Cambridge-GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Boston Cambridge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Denis L,

Thank you for giving us a try when you brought your family on this latest trip to visit MIT. I’m so pleased to hear that the larger spacious suite and complimentary breakfast helped your family to enjoy their stay.

I’m sorry that we weren’t able to offer you an upgrade during this last stay. We often have large groups staying for several months throughout the year that occupy our larger suites. As a Marriott Rewards Elite member, I respect the amount of traveling that you experience. Next time you are planning a trip to the area please feel free to contact me directly, and I will do my best to secure an upgraded room for you.

I appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and especially for choosing our Hotel. I hope to see you back on a return trip soon.

Kind regards,

John Wilmoth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Boston Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Boston Cambridge

Property: Residence Inn Boston Cambridge
Address: 6 Cambridge Ctr, Cambridge, MA 02142-1401
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Boston Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our newly-renovated Cambridge suites hotel in the heart of Kendall Square. Located on the corner of Broadway and Ames Streets, the Residence Inn Boston Cambridge Hotel is the perfect all-suite hotel for project teams, relocating families and temporary housing. Our unique hotel near MIT offers a newly-renovated gatehouse with intimate, inviting spaces for relaxation or catching up and free Wi-Fi throughout. Just minutes from downtown Boston, Mass General Hospital, and less than 2 miles from Fenway Park, the Residence Inn Cambridge helps you maintain peak performance with fully-equipped suites, including separate living, working and dining areas and daily housekeeping. Enjoy your stay with a complimentary hot daily breakfast buffet and The Residence Inn Mix, a new social experience. Our three meeting rooms are ideal for those looking to host trainings, corporate meetings or social events. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Residence Inn Cambridge helps you stay productive and balanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Boston Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Boston Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Residence Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing