We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 16 March 2008

The hotel is only a few trains stops to downtown Boston, which was really cool. The parking sucks, had to park across a highway at some abandonded lot. The 24 hr Mcdonalds right behind the hotel was cool when we came in late after partying all night. Took forever to check in. The room was really clean. Over all I was really happy with this place and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eriickah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    245
    97
    36
    11
See reviews for
218
126
36
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

After a 7 hour flight the last thing that you need is to find that your hotel was double booked. To be fair the Hotel was booked Centrally within the UK.
We were expected ,but given a smoking room (didnt know until we went to the room) long story short no non smoking rooms available for our planned three night stay. By the time that we had questioned the room the staff had changed,the guy on the desk was very very apologetic and sympathetic. He was also very helpful and "recommended" the Hampton down the road (if they had any rooms). No way were we going to stay in a smoking room after booking a non smoking room. I did read somewhere that this Hotel had been refurbished in 2007 more likely 1907. The foyer and floor that we were allocated were very "stressed" and "tired". The area is ok fine for the subway/downtown had no problems walking around.
All in all stay at the Hampton just down the road slightly more expensive but worth very cent

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve&Trudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

I have stayed here many times over the past few years for both business and leisure. This is one of the best hotel deals in Boston especially when you factor in the convenience of the location.

Rooms are generally a decent size and comfortable, although I always ask for one in the back to avoid street noise from the highway. As a priority club member, I always get a free goodie bag at checkin with fruit, granola bar, and bottled water which is a nice touch. I sometimes stay at a more expensive hotel nearby and am appalled at how much they charge for parking, internet and breakfast so the freebies here add up to a good value if you aren't on an expense account!

I have to say the people who complain about having to walk 5 minutes to the subway are being a little harsh. I guess some people are used to driving everywhere, but a 5 minute walk is less than most people who live in Boston have to go to catch the train! Anyone wanting to go to Harvard can also catch a bus just up the street and be there in 15 minutes. And yes, this hotel is not in the prettiest corner of Cambridge but the neighborhood is safe and will give you a better feeling of what Boston is like if you have interests beyond the usual tourist spots in Back Bay and the North End. For example, nearby Inman Square has lots of good restaurants/bars/cafes. If you have kids, the McDonalds and shopping center next door could be a godsend too.

In any case, if you are looking to stay in the Boston area and get a good deal this could be the place for you. I have very rarely had trouble getting a room here, even during busy times like the Marathon/Head of the Charles/etc.

PS: For those of you with Zipcar there are a few cars just a short 5-10 minute walk near the mall!

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Sometimes tough to get a parking spot midday
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2007

I spent two nights here and woke up on the second morning with one eye glued shut. I spent the next week with nasty gooey runny eyes that were sealed shut every morning, couldn't drive or read. It wasn't pink eye it was more sinister. The bedding at this hotel is my prime suspect.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank guyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip, and thought it was a very good value for the price. There isn't a lot of parking, but it's right on the property (which, for my purposes, was much more convenient than valet parking.) The rooms are clean and pleasant, and while they could use an upgrade here and there (on the in-room refrigerators, for example) I found the rooms attractive and functional. The front desk staff was just lovely, and there were complimentary cookies, coffee and tea in the lobby. My room also had a microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, and sink -- and working wireless internet.

One caveat: this isn't the most appealing corner of Cambridge -- there isn't much to walk to on foot (except maybe the Cambridgeside mall or the Science Museum) and the view isn't great. By car, however, it's convenient to downtown Boston, and it's not far to walk to a T station. If you're looking for an affordable, pleasant hotel that's a short hop to downtown Boston, this is a good bet.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank field-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

We spent five nights in Holiday Inn Express Boston - Cambridge at the end of June this year. We had an excellent stay from the word go. The greeting we received from Deirdre on Reception was wonderful and she went out of her way to help us with directions and place to go. When I presented my passport at check in Deirdre immediately noticed that it was my birhday in a few days and on the day I received a birthday card from the staff. That was a nice touch. First impressions are so important and Deidre is a real asset to this hotel. All other members of staff were very friendly as well. We had a lovely big room with a small kitchenette. There was a full sized ironing board and iron which came in very handy. The complimentary breakfast is really good with a choice of hot and cold food all of which is excellent quality. There is complimentary fruit in the foyer and there is a complimentary newspaper left outside your door in the mornings.The location of the hotel is really good. We had arrived by train and thought we were quite far out from Boston judging the taxi ride out. However, there is a T (tram) station only five minutes walk from the hotel (Lechmere) and you could get to the centre of Boston in about fifteen minutes. The T is an excellent way of getting all around Boston. We got a weekly pass which worked out at $15 each which was fantastic value for money. We used the T all the time and came home at about midnight each night and never felt nervous. There is a lovely shopping mall in Cambridge with loads of eateries and this is about ten minutes walk from the hotel. Boston is a fantastic city with loads to do and I have never met such friendly people before. If you are considering going to this hotel do not hesitate you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TutsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Had an overnite stay as part of Baseball road trip to Boston and NYC.....Hotel was modern and rooms were clean and staff was very helpful.....The only thing I did not like was the proximity to T- Station....Had to walk 3 blocks to Lechmere station and in the rain with kids it was a bit of a hassle...The Hampton Inn was right across the street from same station.....Otherwise my stay was fine as well as the price being very reasonable for Boston.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing