We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Great time, easy access, nice area, public transport close by. Boston & area is on my list of things to see again. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, made us feel right at home. Rooms were spacious, street side is noisier but not unbearable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tigger671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Tigger671 -

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt so welcome by our staff during your hockey trip. We thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pros: good value, good rooms, good breakfast, decent location, parking available

Cons: horrible housekeeping, poor Internet access, weird HVAC control, unsafe-looking overflow parking lot

Details:

On the pros first, the hotel offers good value but the price to be paid is the somehow awkward location (on the outskirts of an industrial area in a neighborhood that looks somehow seedy). This being said, the neighborhood actually looks worse than it actually is (we have never felt unsafe around the hotel), the nearest T stop is only minutes away, and a large strip mall can be had literally next door. MIT is within walking distance (about 20 minutes away by foot).

Limited parking is available on the premises and looks safe and sound. The overflow parking lot however is across the street in front of a store that has been out of business for a long time. I am not sure about how unsafe that area is for vehicles left there overnight (especially with out-of-country license plates such as ours), but it certainly looks so to me.

The rooms are nicely appointed. The furniture looks new and is largely practical (though I wish we had more than one armchair in the room). The power outlets are plentiful. The hotel is situated on a busy highway so traffic noise is to be expected, but such noise is surprisingly well controlled and it was never an issue for us. Sleep quality is very good.

The complimentary breakfast is good. The food is fresh and reasonably varied from the usual muffins and jam to at least two egg-based dishes. Coffee is bad though (a brownish liquid with a vague taste of burnt coffee beans), but is available throughout the day.

A somehow minor cons for the hotel is big honking HVAC unit which we positively hate. It is noisy and produces strong drafts throughout the room. In fairness though such a unit is the norm in North American hotels of this star rating. The main problem however is that the built-in control of the unit was replaced in this hotel by a wall thermostat. This is in principle a good idea, but in practice the particular wall thermostat installed in our room did not have separate cycles for heating and cooling and has almost no hysteresis loop in its control logic. The end result is that the unit often heats and then immediately starts a cooling cycle for a brief yet quite uncomfortable period. This brain-dead control logic was not good for us and certainly not for the AC compressor. We are sure that the stock control of the HVAC unit would have done a superior job.

A more substantial cons is the Internet access. When we arrived we could not even speed test the connection (it was that poor). The next day a speed test yielded 0.41 Mbps (yes, you read it right, that's bits not bytes). This was the highest speed we got throughout our stay. Numerous ports are blocked. Port 25 (SMTP) is intercepted and redirected to a Comcast server. This is in my book a really ugly thing to do: if you want to block emails then block port 25 outright; otherwise a less technically inclined person will send her emails blissfully unaware that a third party is intercepting them.

By far the biggest cons for this hotel is housekeeping. When we came in the bed sheets were crumpled as if somebody slept in them before. We even found something on them that looked suspiciously like hair. We asked for a change of the bed linen the next day and we marked the existing set to see what happens. We thus noticed that the sheets were changed but we still got the original pillow covers! This is just appalling. On the day of our departure we got a (very brief!) knock on the door and immediately afterward (with no delay whatsoever) I witnessed a card in the lock and an attempt to open the door (the safety latch prevented the latter). This happened at about 8:30 in the morning and was repeated a couple of hours afterward. The second time I opened the door and faced the housekeeper who responded with "it's OK" in place of an apology. Now, I do expect that the housekeeping staff will want to enter a hotel room. What I definitely do not expect is for this to happen early in the morning. I would also expect a chance to react before the staff barges in (such as a delay between knocking and opening the door).

It should be noted that the front desk staff was polite and efficient. Our problem is strictly restricted to housekeeping staff.

Overall this is a thoroughly reasonable hotel except for housekeeping. We enjoyed our stay, but we cannot dismiss the fact that we probably slept in bed linen used by somebody else. We certainly hope that our experience on the matter was the exception rather than the norm, but nonetheless we will hesitate to book into Holiday Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS_Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We are very sorry that you did you fully enjoy your stay with us. Our location is not for everyone and we wish you great success in finding a hotel that meets your needs on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

My wife, little boy and myself just spent a lovely 10 nights in this hotel during the lunar new year holiday. It fit all our needs and was very conveniently located within walking distance to the Science Museum and the Lechmere mbta station. What made the difference in this hotel was the care and assistance the staff gave us late at night when my son became Ill. Ralph at the front desk, went up and beyond the call of duty by immediately attending us with exta sheets, towels and overall helpful suggestions to help our sick boy. I want to also mention the exceptional work from the day clerk Rene and all the house keeping staff. This hotel isn't the perfect hotel, but it was perfect for this family visiting Boston from Taiwan.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank LiQ-American
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear LiQ-American -

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and ability to take care of you during your stay. We remember your son getting sick and are happy that Ralph and Renee were able to assist you. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here overnight meeting friends. Hotel had easy parking, very clean rooms, and helpful front desk. Snowed while we were there which limited walking to restaurants a few blocks by. Neighbors late night a bit loud but hotel staff monitored the situation without us having to complain. Would definitely stay again. Great rates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear KimF29,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our friendly staff, hotel cleanliness and location to the T. All of these aspects allow our guests to fully enjoy their stay and make us a top choice in Cambridge. We will certainly pass your comments to our TEAM and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed overnight here to avoid the drive to Logan Airport on the morning of the 3 January 2014, when a severe snowstorm was forecast.

The price was good, the breakfast was fine, the room was comfortable with very good free wi-fi and reasonable TV news channels (yippee! I couldn't even find Fox News which was wonderful).

What really made the stay was the staff - really helpful and so calm when all was chaos around them - a lot of people looking for a room, luggage all over, endless enquiries. In particular we should thank all the reception staff who were lovely, the catering staff who probably get paid peanuts but were smiling and polite, and the deputy manager who was not only great but seemed to revel in the challenge of a snowstorm like a boy scout with a badge to achieve. Thanks and well done to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: Smile at reception and understand they are doing their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsultantNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

You could not have been more correct about our hotel staff. One of the great things that we have come to enjoy is a challenge and snow storms are just that - a challenge on many levels. We are very happy that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and that you took the time to acknowledge our team and their efforts. We look forward to seeing you again in this new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The minute we walked in the door, greeted by such friendly staff..easy location off highway...clean, comfy rooms and warm cookies to boot.. she gave us directions to wonderful restaurant and went out of her way to make our stay comfortable after s long day of driving after a huge winter storm..price was great for Boston..neighborhood was safe and within walking distant to quite a few places..

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ccyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We appreciate you braving the winter blizzard to stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Free wifi, free parking, big full free breakfast (with hot items like eggs and bacon), two-room suites with fridge and microwave, 5 minute walk to subway, 5 minute run to Charles River running paths, what more could we ask for? Will definitely recommend this location to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the hallways have windows looking in two directions. Breakfast room can be u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moms76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for mentioning how close we are to everything, including the Charles River. As we are just three blocks from the Lechmere T station and about 10 minutes to the river, we are the perfect location for guests who want to see Boston without having to pay for Boston. We look forward to your next visit in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
3.3 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#17 of 19 in Cambridge
250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £74 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing