We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel- free parking!,Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in for an overnight stop to visit friends and go to the theater. The room was well equipped and comfortable including a microwave and ample storage space. The bed was comfortable and the sofa bed worked well.
Breakfast is well prepared (except for the green bananas. We all had what we wanted. The staff was helpful in holding a taxi for us and estimating the fare.
Based on previous stays in the area we were pleased to find the free parking and the easy access from this location.
The internet worked well witha solid and speedy connection.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear riclaw -

I appreciate you mentioning how comfortable you were while staying with us and how helpful and friendly our staff was in assisting you. Our team members strive to ensure all of our guest enjoy their stay with us and we enjoyed having you as our guest. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a gold mine of a find. Walking distance to Lechemere (end of the greenline on the T), and right at stops for the 88 and 87, and I believe walking distance to the 83. From here, you can get to Davis, Porter, downtown, Arlington-- just about anywhere and very easily.

My parents and aunt/uncle are both in their 60s and in pretty good shape. They've never maneuvered 'big city' transit or dealt with the walking obligations of city life, and they were able to figure out the T, bus, and even hub bike systems using this hotel as their starting point.

I was very pleased with the hot breakfast-- lots of diversity and good for those both on "diets" and those who choose to eat more freely :)

Excellent coffee 24/7; crisp, fresh water and apples in the lobby 24/7, very friendly staff, and ample parking- some covered parking. Across the street from a liquor store, around the corner from a Marshalls and a grocery store (Shaws).

Tips: Use foodler.com to get food delivered if you want to relax one night in. I suggest the New Pizza Palace in Somerville, City Slicker burgers (get the meat well done for delivery).

New to Boston? For North End cannolis, go to Bova (it's around the corner from Mike's and this is where the locals go!), go to Davis Square and ask a local to point you to the Saloon (it's unmarked on the street, so you'll need someone to point it out), for cheap bar food downtown, try Whiskeys-nothing spectacular, but nice and cheap. Duck tours that depart from the Sci Museum are overrated, as is the Science Museum and the MFA, for that matter. You can walk the Freedom Trail for free, look into 90-minute harbor tours from Long Wharf, only get your clam chowdah from Legal Seafoods, and get your oysters from Island Creek!

Room Tip: No view is too good from here, just the facts. So don't spend more thinking anything will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear James W -

Many of the items you mentioned - our friendly staff, close location to the T and several bus lines, great breakfast - are things mentioned by many of our guests and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts about your stay as well. We are very happy that you appreciated the value of our hotel and that you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit us on your next trip to Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel is located within a 5 minute walking distance to T stop. If you drive they offer free parking which is added plus. Very friendly front desk people...special thanks for Jimmie for the milk to go along with chocolate chip cookies every night for my stay. Breakfast items included: cereals, juices. breads, fruits, cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage, pancakes, & eggs. A shopping center is located nearby that has a McDonalds and a Shaw's grocery store. Room was clean, bed comfortable, and outside noise at night was minimal. Would stay here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear 1travelingDad -

Wow, thank you for sharing your great comments about our staff and our location. Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our guests, whether at the front desk or with our housekeepers and maintenance teams. We will certainly share your comments with them and we look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I just came back from staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Cambridge and could not wait to write a review about this place.

I arrived on a red eye flight at 5 in the morning on a crazy rainy day without a jacket or umbrella. I knew I could not check in until 3 pm and had no idea what I was going to do all that time. Before I left I had sent an email asking if there was anyway I could check in early and got a quick response saying that they would do their best but the hotel was full. So my plan was to hangout in the airport for a few hours and then maybe cruise around the city. Well after an hour I was freezing and exhausted and thought I would call the hotel to see if I could get in. I think the woman I spoke to was named Diana or Diane not only managed to get me in earlier she said here was a taxi taking someone from the hotel to the airport and that she would have him pick me up and bring me back there. I was so grateful!!!

The location is great as well. After a few hours of sleep I walked about 3 minutes to Marshall's and purchased a sweater, went to the grocery store for some snacks and came back to the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located near the Lechmere Station stop or you can walk to Kendall Square which is about a 20 minute walk through a very pretty neighborhood. I even walked to Harvard Square which took about 40 minutes. It was a great location for me and easy for me to get al the places I needed to be and I felt very safe.

When I left I didn't want to take a cab in traffic to the airport so I asked the woman at the front how to take the T to the shuttle for the airport. I was completely intimidated by the train changes. She convinced me that it was very easy and even wrote out step by step instructions. It was easy peasy! I can't say enough about this place and highly recommend it. Thank you for making my stay so pleasurable!!!

Room Tip: top floor is always good so you don't hear people above you walking hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carli_Saimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Carli_Saimin -

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to get you settled in without having to wait very long. My staff members are committed to helping our guests enjoy their time in Boston, whether it is for business or leisure and it sounds like our front desk team did just that. I thank you for sharing your comments and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just back from a great stay at this HIE. The front desk staff was friendly and eager to help, and despite being a super busy week (marathon and school vacation) the breakfast staff kept everything stocked and fresh in the mornings! Rooms were clean, and it's just a 3 block walk to the subway, which is just 2 stops (4 mins?) from the city. We even walked to Kendall Sq in Cambridge, then to the river, which we wouldn't have done from a city hotel. Plus, right around the corner is a grocery store, drug store, and Marshalls, plus a park. Hard to beat.

The only note I'd make is if you are a light sleeper, choose a room on the back side of the hotel. It's as quiet there as it is noisy on the street side! I am a light sleeper, and the staff quickly moved me to a back room upon request. No fitness center, but I wouldn't have used it anyway with all the walking we did around Boston.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are on the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 214tracic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear 214tracic -

I think you said it perfectly - "hard to beat". Our location within Cambridge near shopping and restaurants, as well as our close proximity to the T and everything in downtown Boston is perfect for any travelers who want to stay in a clean, comfortable hotel with a friendly staff and not pay Boston prices. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A great hotel for location and price. Less expensive then staying in central Boston hotels and nicely locationed a few minutes walk to Lechmere subway station on the Green line. Free hotel breakfast. Supermarket, drugstore, gas station and McDonalds five minutes walk. Free parking in hotel lot (not a big lot but never had a problem parking). Within ten minutes drive or less to highway 93, 90, and 95 (via Rt 1). Very clean hotel.

Room Tip: For quiet room ask for a non ajoining room and far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonemountain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear W L -

Your comments say it all - great location and great value for the Boston area. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and as you noted, we are close to many restaurants, shopping and of course the T, which can take you into Boston. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I can not express the gratitude that I have for the people that work at the Holiday Inn in Cambridge, MA. I brought a group of juniors and seniors from Nebraska to stay in Boston for 5 days and was amazed at the customer service. Jimmy was our first initial contact with the hotel and he was wonderful. I had a million questions and he answered each with much patience and ease. Kaitlyn was also an huge help. I needed to go to church on Palm Sunday and she looked up all of the Catholic churches for me and directions to each. She also took an interest in my group and was wonderful to talk to. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Jen M -

We were so happy to host your group recently and we enjoyed having all of you as our guests. Our staff goes out of its way to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable while with us and it sounds like Jimmie and Kaitlyn did just that for you. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
3.3 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#18 of 19 in Cambridge
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#10 of 19 in Cambridge
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: £76 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing