We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem (mostly)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Little Gem (mostly)”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have seen unfair review complaining about the neighborhood and the elevator service of this hotel.
Here is the deal with those two factors: (1) just like many things in and around Boston, the immediate neighborhood is old, but not "shady" as some suggested. It is a safe neighborhood, and I walked through it a few times on the way to Cambridgeside Galleria. I even got a few "good morning" from neighbors on the way. (2) this is not a five star hotel where you pay AT LEAST $250 a night, so it is not going to spend money on two of those highspeed elevators. Consider it has 8 floors to be serviced by two elevators mostly used only around breakfast time, give them a break about long elevator wait.
The front desk people are friendly and helpful, the breakfast was decent (it's complimentary, so keep that in mind), but could be a little slow in keeping up with surge in demand. Oh, the kitchen staffs are friendly and helpful, too, and they kept the place tidy and clean.
The room we stayed in is sizable, clean, modern, and well equiped. The ONLY complain I have is that they don't have an in-suite safe. The soundproofing is very good, as we don't get a lot of hallway noise.
We stayed there around the July 4th, and as we were on the 8th floor "facing the river", we got to watch the fireworks from the comfort of our room unobstructed. Keep that in mind when you book this hotel.
There is a large supermarket just 3-4 blocks west of the hotel, so you can pick up bottled water over there, As for going anywhere else, if you want to head toward Harvard, a bus is only a few blocks away on Cambridge. If you are heading downtown, the Greenline starts only blocks away (if you are planning the take multiple trips during the day, even within downtown, get the daily pass, consider the 7-day pass if you are staying long enough).
The Cambridgeside Galleria as well as the Museum of Science (also where one of the Duck Tours begins) is within walking distance. If you are a ZipCar member, there are plenty of ZipCar around for you to choose from within 10 blocks.
Next time we are heading to Boston, this little gem is surely will be at the top of our list.

Room Tip: If there will be fireworks during the time you are staying there, ask for a room on the 8th floor fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CZLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear CZLai -

We could not have said what you did any better - we are a great value for anyone who does not want to overspend while visiting Boston and Cambridge, yet wants to be close to all of the historical sites and universities that our area offers. Most guests save even more money and don't bring a car with them - your point about the 7 day T pass us absolutely correct. It is the best value for many of our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    245
    95
    36
    10
See reviews for
215
126
36
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Okay, the neighborhood is a little busy as some have noted. The hotel is crammed on a tiny spot and there isn't enough parking in the lot. But the neighborhood isn't really unsafe...just a little urban.
Now that we have that out of the way, once you walk in this hotel you will change your mind. It is spotless, welcoming and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have all you need.
And I mean the entire staff from manager on down. There is a jar of warm cookies, a bowl of apples and a large carafe of fruit water in the lobby. The rooms are immaculate and the beds extremely comfortable. The breakfast is free and plentiful. Need anything? Just ask and the staff will grant your wishes.
And Boston is expensive. This hotel is a real bargain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Catherine N -

We could not agree more with your comments about our hotel. Yes, we are in a city location but as you pointed out, our hotel is next to a residential neighborhood with restaurants and is just 3 blocks from the T into Downtown Boston. I think many guests are pleasantly surprised when they stay with us as our staff is extremely friendly and is willing to take time to show our guests how to get around and what to make sure they see when they visit the city. We offer great value with compared to Boston and we appreciate you mentioning that. We thank you for our comments and look forward to having you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My expectations were not high, but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and informative. When I requested a rollaway bed, it was in our room when we returned from touring. It is in walking distance to the T and the science museum. Yes it is on a major highway but that did not bother us. Parking was not an issue but we were told if their lot was filled they had overflow parking across the street. The room was comfortable. The beds good. The room had a microwave, frig and coffee maker. The complimentary breakfast was a step above with eggs pancakes and meat. Not cheap but cheaper than Boston and you don't have to pay for parking

Room Tip: Not sure if they have rooms on parking lot side but if noise bothers you request one there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shermanrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear shermanrs1 -

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We agree that we offer a better value at our hotel and our location is a lot less expensive than staying in Boston. As we are so close to the T into Downtown Boston, guests have started coming without cars so that they can save a bit more money. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look foward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, GA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed here for the past 2 nights and have been very pleased. It is clean, good customer service, and a nice breakfast. The beds are fairly comfortable and the hotel is located about 2 blocks from the T or metro station. It is an easy walk and I felt safe walking from there at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Ashleigh F -

We apprecaite your great comments about our hotel and staff. We agree that we are very conveniently located just three blocks from the T, which can take anyone anywhere throughout Boston and Cambridge. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everyone was so nice and the room was perfect for my needs. The décor is so so but the place is clean. I had a living room and a separate but small bedroom. I stayed in a much more expensive hotel the night before because I was attending a business meeting there; I found the Holiday Inn Express a much better value and it met my needs better. I prefer in room coffee, a refrigerator and a microwave to a tv in the bathroom mirror. I only ate a small breakfast but they had a really nice selection with plenty of seats.
A couple of blocks to the subway system - the staff told me it was safe to walk at night but I didn't. The ice water in the lobby was really nice after a long day of site seeing. Coffee and tea were available in the breakfast room any time - another nice touch. I would definitely go back there if I wanted to stay in Cambridge again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWtravels20590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear LWtravels20590 -

You have highlighted everything that we strive for here at the hotel, and everything that many of our other guests have also said. We offer value for a location so close to Boston and the T, amenities that some hotels don't offer, and a friendly, outgoing staff that works hard to ensure all of our guest enjoy themselves while with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am going to start with the good because there is only one good thing to report, the staff was very friendly and helpful it ends there.
We arrived around 12 and of course our room wasn't ready but we were able to park, first come first serve for the 30 cramped spaces that were there, I guess if you can't park in the lot you park on the street, if you can find room, but it would have to be a side street because the front of the hotel is on a four lane busy, noisy highway. We choose this hotel because it was on the list of hotels to stay for our venue and it was a Holiday Inn, so we made assumptions, big mistake.
Because of the parking situation and because it was "close" to many restaurants, we decided to walk to find some lunch. In one of the reviews the location was described as "industrial" that is candy-coating this neighbor - "hood". I wouldn't want my wife leaving the hotel by herself to walk anywhere in this area, in my opinion a better word would be "sketchy" at best to describe the location and surrounding area, nothing wrong with that of course but if a guest is thinking about a place to stay I think they should know the surrounding area, if I was privy to this information I would have definitely not booked this hotel,
We visited our family staying at another hotel, when we got to their hotel, I immediately went to the desk and asked if they had any rooms because of the drastic differences in location and accommodations, unfortunately nothing was available but we were only staying one night so how bad could it be?
Well we found out, we got back and the room was ready, get to our room and we have the lovely view and noise of the highway along with a huge liquor store, 3 car washes, a muffler shop and a gas station, see attached picture, the a/c barely worked and the cable connection to the TV kept falling out, but the room was clean, the front desk did call to ask if our room was acceptable, which was nice but again the staff was excellent.
We got ready for our event, bathroom was clean as well, took the elevator, which by the way does not have up or down indicators is very slow and there are only two for the all of the hotel guests to use as well as housekeeping, we get to the lobby and there are about 50-60 young girls checking in, apparently the hotel was hosting this group for the weekend, which they do a lot we were told, this is another issue, guests should be made aware when they book that a large group will be there at the time of your stay, once again if I had known that we definitely would not have booked this hotel knowing this, probably why they didn't say anything.
We walked through the questionable surroundings to our venue. Our event ended around 11pm, We contemplated getting a cab back to our hotel because of the area, taxi numbers were posted at the venue, makes you wonder, but we opted to walk back, there were no issues but as I stated I wouldn't want my wife walking alone in that area or the surrounding areas.
Thankfully we only had to spend one night at the hotel, we set the alarm early so we could leave as soon as possible and honestly if it wasn't a 2 1/2 hour ride home I would have left that night. We really didn't sleep because of all the noise from the traffic of trucks, motorcycles, etc...
We got up early, received the bill almost $300 for our stay which I thought was outrageous. I went to bring a few things to the car, I waited about 5 minutes for the elevator, when it arrived it was packed, I had to wait for the other one, 2 minutes later it arrived, as I exited to the lobby I was greeted by about 30-40 people blocking the hallway, made my way to the car but had to wait to pack it because the people in the cars directly adjacent to ours were packing theirs, no doubt for the same reasons, to get out as quick as possible, then back to the elevator, there were only about 20 people in the lobby this time, 5 minutes later the elevator arrives but filled with housekeeping, not their fault I understand the Hotel should have separate elevators, in any event, I waited another 5 minutes and an elevator arrives, 5 of us get in, but alas no arrows and the elevator was going down to the basement, of course, housekeeping could not get in because there were 5 of us, the elevator stops on 4 different floors and on the last stop 5 more people come in, they want to go down to the lobby but again no arrows.
Finally I arrive at our room, I grab the rest of our belongings, my wife and I finally can leave, back to the elevator, and again a wait of 5 minutes, the elevator finally arrives and of course full of people, making their exit as well.
We finally make it to the lobby, again full of people, to check out, I am sure the clerk at the desk could read my face because she didn't ask how our stay was, I am betting they get that a lot. We did not walk we ran to the car to put as much distance as possible between us and this establishment. NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we are a very busy hotel, there are times when both of our elevators are in great demand and we appreciate your patience. Thank you for praising our hard working staff as they make every effort to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible. We wish you great success in finding more appropriate accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, NY
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very convenient to both Boston and Cambridge. Lechmere Green Line terminal just up the street. Even had good crispy bacon at the complimentary breakfast. Had a large room with 2 Queens, fine mattresses, beddings, pillows, so all three of us slept easily. Got a very favorable price as compared to other less worthy properties.

And...I arrived at noon and the front desk associate was happy to pleasantly check me in right away, early, which to me is always a measure of great customer-centricity. It houses a diverse professional clientele who all seem to appreciate its virtues.

The showerhead was so good (rare) that I examined it, wrote down the name and am buying one for home (on line I noticed alot of people say the same thing). This is clearly a well-managed property with very positive friendly capable staff members.

Admittedly the location looks a bit industrial and busy, but rest assured it is quiet inside, and the location is a boon, with Immediate access to Boston AND Cambridge. The road to Somerville and Medford is also convenient if you need it. The location allows them to accommodate Free Parking, so if you need a car in the area this is a sure bet.

Room Tip: Usually we like a higher floor, but the second floor room we got was secure and quiet. The whole hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWoodmanGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear SueSyo -

Wow, thank you very much for praising our location and our staff. Every one of our team members strives to go above and beyond to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable while with us and we succeeded with you! I will pass your comments to my team and thank you for choosing to stay with us while you visited Boston. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Address: 250 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located minutes from downtown Boston on the Green Line of the 'T' Lechmere Station, close to MIT, Harvard University, Museum of Science, TD Garden/NorthStation, Patni Corp., EF Foundation, Kendall Square, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilition Center and Massachusetts Eye and Ear, and only 3 miles from Boston Logan Airport (BOS), our hotel is the perfect location for visiting the Boston/Cambridge area. We offer a complimentary American breakfast, featuring our famous cinnamon roll as well as a variety of hot foods. Sit back, relax, and enjoy our Great Room, with 24-hour coffee, complimentary cookies at night, and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the building. Our convenient location and commitment to service make us the best value in the Boston/Cambridge area, so book now and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express. Contact the hotel directly for packages that'll save you money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Boston - Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing