We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monteconero - Peaceful luxuriously converted monastery, in woodland but 10 mins from beach & near walled towns”
Review of Hotel Monteconero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monteconero
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Sirolo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This peaceful luxuriously converted monastery immersed in natural woodland with wonderful walks is still only 10 minutes in the dedicated minibus from a lovely beach. Easy to hire a car locally & visit the miriad of beautifully maintained historical walled towns such Osimo, Offagna, Recanati, just to name a few. Spacious bright rooms with en-suite, air conditioning & private balconies with fabulous views of the coastline to north & south. Pool & wellness centre. Excellent choice of cusine where fresh produce is plentiful.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with a balcony above or behind the reception wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choralsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at this hotel in transit north to Chioggia as part of our five week motoring holiday in Italy. The views from the balcony of our bedroom were heartbreaking in their beauty with a mixture of mountains, rolling hills, newly mowed fields, and a shoreline which stretched Into the distance lapped by an azure blue sea. The silence was only broken by the birds in the wood immediately below our balcony. The air was still and the smoke from a distant farmhouse chimney rose upwards into the sky. The bedrooms are large spotlessly clean and well appointed having a minibar and ensuite facility. The staff at this hotel are gentle, friendly and very helpful. They are totally compatible with the surroundings of a building which used to be a monastery. The hotel enjoys a beautiful swimming pool, complete with loungers, chairs and tables, and the bar is an ideal location to have a snack at lunchtime whilst looking out to sea

Food is very good and freshly made, served piping hot by a very capable restaurant manager.
The car has to be parked offsite after depositing luggage at reception in the courtyard. The adjacent abbey makes for an interesting and tranquil visit.

The location of this hotel in our opinion means it is essential for guests to have their own vehicle.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a peaceful stay with absolutely tremendous views. This hotel represents excellent value for money.
Peter M Richardson

Room Tip: Rooms with views overlooking the mountains, hills, fields and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

If you have your own car with a Tom Tom, you would love this hotel. The view from the room-if you get the one facing the ocean and the hills, is mesmerising. If the weather is good, this is heavenly. Staff is very polite. Rooms are just ok-mediocre. Internet works fine all over the place-and is free! Breakfast is very limited but the view from the b/f room is divine. We had some fabulous lunches though, at the Restaurant at the basement level. So one knows the chefs are good! Without a car, forget about staying here though. I'd love to go back though. A good value for money hotel-especially for young couples.

Room Tip: Politely but firmly insist on a room facing the ocean, preferably at igher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineguyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here a week or so ago. What a place! It is stunning beyond belief! The only downside was the weather which was bad but nothing can take away from the beauty of the place. Unlike other reviewers we had no car and found loads of walks literally outside the hotel. They were amazing (if a little wet at times!)
Sleep quality beyond excellent!
Location beyond excellent!
Large rooms

All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful! Thanks very much

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreaterLondonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed about 5 nights in Monteconero and had a lovely stay. The view and the location is what makes this place special, but I wouldn't go here without a car (or bike/motorcycle etc).

The room was ok, but felt a bit rundown. The service was also ok. Apart from the view there was nothing that made us go WOW.

We had booked with breakfast and dinner. I'm not too keen on Italian breakfast (to me it is too sweet and too few fresh items) but it was perfectly ok. Coffee was great and so was dinner although we once ended up with the wrong thing than what we ordered. No apology was made which I always find sad, but it was worse that the food was not taken back and exchanged for what had been ordered. This kind of things - problem handling - is for me a make or break test... "Luckily" they got another chance to make things right.

They had a lovely spa which we used pretty much everyday as the weather was not too good. We asked about the spa on arrival and were shown it. When checking out we were charged with every visit there apart from the first one. When we asked where we should have gotten this information from we were shown a leaflet which was a separate one from the main info over the spa and even the lady at the reception had a hard time finding this info. However, this time they agreed not to charge us for the visits.

Even Steven...

Room Tip: All rooms have views over the water so you can't go wrong. If you prefer sunrise you should have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We only had drinks on the terrace one evening having driven all the way up to the hotel from Sirolo. It seemed a perfectly "nice" hotel if you are looking for value for money. The location is spectacular and there is a swimming pool and tennis courts (I think), but it is a bit "cheap" and certainly not right if you are looking for something more exclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stockholmer_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A group of four of us stayed here for two weeks, and it was truly stunning. The food was excellent, and the location... Incredible! The people were lovely too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirolo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
Hotel Fortino Napoleonico
#1 of 4 in Portonovo
477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Conero Camere
Conero Camere
#1 of 12 in Sirolo
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sirolo
Hotel Sirolo
#3 of 12 in Sirolo
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Giardino Suite&Wellness
1.2 mi away
Meuble Le Cave
Meuble Le Cave
#8 of 12 in Sirolo
136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Camera con Vista Mare - Blu Panoramic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteconero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteconero

Address: Via Monte Conero 26, 60020 Sirolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ancona > Sirolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sirolo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sirolo
Price Range: £80 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monteconero 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monte Conero ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monteconero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteconero Hotel Ancona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing