We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel especially if you like horses” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandra Edera Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandra Edera Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abbasanta
Reading
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel especially if you like horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Not really a hotel as the rooms are dotted around the estate as small bungalows, the horses roam around the estate and you can find them outside your door! We had a riding lesson and went on a hack, the stable staff were fabulous and the room was great too. The food was good. The beach-pool was really nicely designed. Once we had paid for the room and the riding lessons and hack it turned out to be 500Euros for one night, but we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

+ the location,
+ the food,
+ the atmosphere
- no english channels (on TV) despite the international audience
- the rooms needs a update...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tololo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mandra Edera during our visit to Sardinia. We selected this hotel based on the central location to the island. While we enjoyed seeing the horses, neither of us ride and as soon as that was made known to the staff, imparticular to the female manager, we were given rude and unfriendly responses to our questions. There was quite an air of expectation to ride the horses if you wanted better service, if it is expected of the guests to ride it should be stated on the website. We had dinner only 1 night here because of the rudeness and found the food to be pretty average. Typical sweet breakfast, Lori the morning waitress was extremely friendly. The room was nice sized for the two of us and cleaned perfectly every day. The gentleman at reception was very helpful in setting up a boating tour and was never rude. Also, the female manager charged our credit card before asking us whether we still wanted to use that same method of payment, while I was okay with reserving the room on that card, it would have been nice if she had asked us our method of payment. Otherwise an enjoyable stay and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here in the middle of April not realising that Sardinia is 'shut' out of season. Luckily for us there was lots of riding and relaxing to do in this really classy, well run little hotel. The rooms are in suites set in the gardens and are furnished to a very good standard with huge comfortable beds. Don't be surprised to find a small her dof horses grazingthe lawn and expect to be accomapnied by a dog or a cat if you are int he grounds.Evening meals are a communal affair with a set menu of well cooked rustic Italian food. Breakfast is continental but plentiful with the addition of cake which our 12 year old though was great. There is a pool with a solarium and jacuzzi although the outdoor section of pool wasn't heated. Staff are attentive without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely well schooled horses with lots of trekking options through the hills. This place is not cheap but it is a jewel in this part of Sardinia and we will be going back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillegom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Visited the rather dry island of Sardegna in september. Yellow is the dominant colour of the landscape. But then there is Mandra Edera : a quiet, green oasis with horses, dogs, cats and guests who share the place in complete harmony. The hotel consists of linked bungalows and a B&B main building. The bungalows are surrounded by grass and often a horse or two wander about.Breakfast is a bit simple but being able to eat it outside (they move the chairs and tables onto the lawn every morning) it is fine. Dinner is what you're looking forward to every evening. Fresh home-cooked food served in an informal setting; spendid! I am a vegetarian but this was no problem at all for the kitchen. Compliments for that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollenmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Not much to add on top of all the positives already mentioned. Pros - great huge pool, good shallow end for kids, very quiet and relaxing, good food, large grounds for walking around. We had a bungalow in the grounds which was spacious and very clean.
Car essential. We combined this with stay in Alghero which gave us best of both worlds. Stayed for 2 nights which personally was just right length for bit of relaxing during our holiday. Cons - can explore surrounding areas but have to travel some distance, this place is ideal for relaxing by the pool and recharging. Only other negative is the time keeping not great! We booked a 15 minute lesson for our son which ended up being an hour late. Hopefully this was one off and they were apologetic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finlandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was our first stop on our tour of Sardinia about 2hrs from olbia, amazing place, simple but lovely rooms,great pool and relaxing area, lovely lovely food a set menu but about 5 courses, great horses,lessons, kittens,dogs, the children loved it, total safe freedom for children. They ran off and explored, would recommend to anyone. We would go back. Amazing.

Room Tip: All quite similar little cottages in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbasanta
2.8 mi away
Hotel Su Baione
Hotel Su Baione
#2 of 2 in Abbasanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
6.6 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione
82.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hotel Raffael
Hotel Raffael
#2 of 4 in San Vero Milis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
18.3 mi away
Is Benas Country Lodge
Is Benas Country Lodge
#1 of 4 in San Vero Milis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Sa Pischedda Bosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandra Edera Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandra Edera Country Hotel

Property: Mandra Edera Country Hotel
Address: Localita Mandra Edera SNC, 09071 Abbasanta, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Abbasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abbasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandra Edera Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovering the rural heart of Sardinia and experience the thrill of crossing extraordinary landscapes, their history and ancient culture. Breathe the timeless rhythm of a journey through the beauty. All rooms and suites of the Country Hotel Mandra Edera have air conditioning and private bathroom. The Mandra is set in the heart of Sardinia and is surrounded by woods and lush countryside. The hotel owners breed championship-winning horses. Hotel Mandra has a semi-covered pool with a hot tub and sun terrace. The restaurant serves typical cuisine and local wines. Many of the ingredients are produced on the estate. Mandra Edera is recommended by tourist guidebooks. There are horses roaming free in the grounds, a working stable, and horse riding lessons are available for all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mandra Edera Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandra Edera Country Hotel Sardinia/Abbasanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing