We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise for horse loving kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandra Edera Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abbasanta
cardiff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“paradise for horse loving kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Even if you dont stay here for the horse activities , it is a nice country hotel with spacious rooms in converted outbuildings. The ambience is relaxing and sympathetic to its surroundings. There are extensive grounds/gardens and a good looking pool with a solarium. Unfortunately this wasnt heated despite it being half indoors and only the son was able to swim in it - in a hotel in this price range/standard you would expect this not to be an issue even if only solar heated. The breakfast was standard for italian type hotels and could have benefitted from more of a 'farm' touch with more fresh bread for instance. Snack type lunch was available and a set menu evening meal - all the guests have to be seated at 8pm for service. The meal was very nice but pricing/set menu options meant that we only did this once during our stay. There are restaurants within 10 mins drive in the nearby towns next to the dual carriageway and as you are out in the countryside you will definately need a car for access (IMHO exploring with a car is a must in Sardinia and the roads were very well maintained). Then you have the horses - for a horse mad daughter this was heaven on earth. Riding options varied from riding/jumping/acrobatic lessons on site , roaming freely in the gardens, long and short hacks and day/multiday trips. There were fields of horses and it was safe enough for her to go off and help round up the horses, groom then ride without me having to be physically present , which meant i could keep the other kids entertained with walking, nuraghe visiting, swimming etc Staff and owner were extremely pleasant and helpful, even though it was almost the end of their season ( closes november for the winter). Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

This place is a gem, would almost like to keep it secret! I was traveling to Sardegna after Corsica with my 12-year-old daughter who is madly in love with horses and we spent 5 nights in Mandra Edera. We loved every minute of our stay, the hotel facilities are perfect, the horses beautiful, the food brilliant and the owners and staff super friendly and professional. If you like horses and/or the peace and quiet you will make the most of this place and half board is recommended as nightlife in the area is not very exciting (and in fact diners are a great time to be at Mandra Edera with the horses running freely around while you eat, it makes for a beautiful atmosphere). My daughter had ridding lessons every day and enjoyed them immensely. If we can we certainly will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corsica_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oirschot
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

Peacefull surrounding, very friendly staff, perfect food, comfortable rooms !
Many things to discover in surrounding area (you will need a car).
L & P Luyten, The Netherlands

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorfiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Mandra Edera is really a hidden oasis in the Sardinian countryside. Originally a farm, guest houses and a pool has been built in the beautiful green gardens. The hotel is run by a very sweet familiy that also takes care of the horses still being held on the farm, along with a little white dog and a cat that always sleeps. A few of the horses are let in to the gardens in the day, where they enjoy grazing and taking an occational stroll towars the pool to get a nib of water in the afternoon sun.

The limited number of rooms ensures a quiet and comfortable atmosphere. One may sit by the pool the whole day, listening to the sounds of the surroundings, reading a book or taking a stroll in the garden. In the evenings it is possible to hire a guide to take you on a riding trip in the rural area, which is something that I highly recommend. Most guests arrive by rental car, which makes it possible to have day-trips to nearby towns or to the east- or west coast.

Guests are welcome to have breakfast and dinner in the main house every day. It is delightful to sit in the shady verandah, smalltalking with the other guests or just enjoying the food. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and it doesn´t take long before you really feel at home in this fantastic hotel. One thing to keep in mind is that you might encounter both gecoes, horses, catepillars, small white dogs and the like, because even though it is a hotel, it is still in the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

While we didn't stay at the hotel (due to its unsuitable location and cost), we did drop past on the way to Alghero to do some riding. Its a beautiful location with a friendly cat and dog.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexECLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
343 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

POSITIVE
Beautiful setting with lovely horses to look at & ride - you felt you were in the middle of nowhere but were actually 5 minutes drive from the North/South & East/West motorways.
We had a suite which was spacious & comfortable. Superb pool. Very good evening meals (essential - there was little alternative near by).
NEGATIVE
Breakfast was unappetising: tea made with luke warm water, stale bread, flavourless cheese etc etc AND it was the same every day! It was hard to believe it was the same place as our evening meals.
Watch the extras with dinner! There is no price list & they mount up. On two occasions we accepted the waitor's wine suggestion (as opposed to the house wine) . When we asked the price, he said simply that they were not expensive. Given the setting, we didn't press him. Imagine our shock to be charged 120 Euros for the two bottles. However good the meals, they weren't Michelin star - we were in a farm. We refused to pay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

incredible peace and tranquility. Truly isolated position, although easily to get to from motorway. The suites are spacious and really well designed. The pool is a gem. The staff are very helpful and discrete. If you really want to be active you can go riding, or have lessons, on beautiful horses. The evening meals are cooked to a very high standard but the choice is limited to the set meal for the day, unless otherwise requested.
Lots of fascinating Roman ruins and archaeological sites, beaches, flamingoes, lakes etc.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank kitticatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbasanta
2.9 mi away
Hotel Su Baione
Hotel Su Baione
#2 of 2 in Abbasanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.6 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Antica Dimora del Gruccione
21.4 mi away
Hotel Raffael
Hotel Raffael
#2 of 4 in San Vero Milis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Torre
Hotel Gran Torre
#2 of 5 in Cabras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sardegna Grand Hotel Terme
Sardegna Grand Hotel Terme
#1 of 1 in Fordongianus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
82.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandra Edera Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandra Edera Country Hotel

Property: Mandra Edera Country Hotel
Address: Localita Mandra Edera SNC, 09071 Abbasanta, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Abbasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abbasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandra Edera Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovering the rural heart of Sardinia and experience the thrill of crossing extraordinary landscapes, their history and ancient culture. Breathe the timeless rhythm of a journey through the beauty. All rooms and suites of the Country Hotel Mandra Edera have air conditioning and private bathroom. The Mandra is set in the heart of Sardinia and is surrounded by woods and lush countryside. The hotel owners breed championship-winning horses. Hotel Mandra has a semi-covered pool with a hot tub and sun terrace. The restaurant serves typical cuisine and local wines. Many of the ingredients are produced on the estate. Mandra Edera is recommended by tourist guidebooks. There are horses roaming free in the grounds, a working stable, and horse riding lessons are available for all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mandra Edera Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandra Edera Country Hotel Sardinia/Abbasanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing