We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Turri Luxury Retreat
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Arbatax
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had high expectations for Monte Turry, but it did not meet our expectations. Monte Turry is a part of Arbatax Resort, and guests are welcome to use all the Resort Facilities. However, most of the resort is located on the other side of the animal-park (15 min walking). The hotel is located in a beautiful, downhill area, with a fantastic view from the upper part. Further down there are several small houses with the hotel rooms, surrounded by narrow paths and trees. The rooms were clean and large, but otherwise average and a bit dated. The breakfast buffet was also OK, but served with a fantastic view! We loved that the hotel is located in a natural reserve with several different animals that you can visit at any time.

The largest disappointment was that there were no beaches there! The Monte Turry has ocean access, but not close to what could be called a beach. On the other side of the resort, they have filled sand in two mini-bays. There was absolutly NO WIFI in the room. The main pool in this part of the resort was quite small, and there were fare from enough sun beds for all the guests. They also played VERY loud music for the whole day – hence not the right place to relax and enjoy a good book. This part of the resort only had one place for lunch, which only had buffet service – crowded and poor! From the images, we imagined this place to be a bit up scale, but it was fare from it. Noisy, busy, crowded, average rooms and poor food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Cecilie,
thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to read your words because it seems like you didn't stay at Monte Turri, it seems another hotel desciption. First of all the hotel's name is Monte Turri, where "monte" means "mountain", because it's located on the top of a hill, so it is normal that there is no beach. Although there is a characteristic rocky bay where you can arrive through a panoramic lift. Then, we have to specify that it is impossible that we played very loud music at the pool, we pay extreme attention for our Guests comfort, and we would never dare to disturb them by playing loud music in a common area.

We hope to have another opportunity to fully impress you in the future.

Kind Regards
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    90
    53
    35
    28
See reviews for
48
230
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I can't validate or otherwise the mixed reviews left three years ago, but my experience this week has been entirely positive. The location is breathtaking - spectacular ocean views through a rocky gorge accompany your comprehensive buffet breakfast (including coffee of your choice served in good time by the attentive and welcoming breakfast crews).
The reception staff are as good as you'll find anywhere, from the moment you first arrive to any requests or problems throughout your stay. Friendly, attentive, professional and thorough. And of course, multi-lingual as are most of the staff here.
Our garden room was lovely - basic Sarda design and furnishings in keeping with the locale, but clean, comfortable and roomy. Oh and the windows are small and shuttered. Why? To keep the extreme heat out and the air conditioning in. Big windows are great in colder counties but not here - it's called solar gain and it's fierce in the wrong places.
Food at dinner was again comprehensive, local and delicious. Changing every day, we had a plentiful supply of fish, seafood, pasta, game and less traditional euro fare to suit the cosmopolitan roster of guests.
But the best thing about this place was the calm. It pervades the whole place. From the near deserted private beach (actually a lifeguarded jetty) with ladder access to clear, cool azure waters, to the calm of the hotel pool with maybe one or two other couples lounging quietly, to the forty hectares of Sarda parkland, home to families of wild boar, goats, birdlife, tree frogs etc.
And if your children feel the need to mix it with the masses, there is an array of other options more popular with the package deal market within close striking distance and available to Monte Turri guests (but not seemingly vice versa). This included the Borga, five minutes walk away, offering a large, clean, busy pool, towel-reserved sunbeds, aqua aerobics, mini club, always-on euro pop and all you can eat delicacies for the all-inclusive guests. Fun but comforting to be able to retreat after a couple of hours.
So, strongly recommended for people who enjoy sampling different cultures, and above all who get plenty of 'excitement' in their day-to-day existence. Not great for people who have mobility issues - there are lots of steep slopes and steps - and a definite no for people who find quietness boring.
As for me - I loved it, and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavetheSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing such a detailed feedback about your Monte Turri holiday. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Overall very nice experience with this hotel. We were travelling with two small kids and were pleasantly surprised by the politeness of the staff and level of service we received. On top of that we were upgraded to the tower room which was quite nice considering extra space we needed for the kids. Food (especially during dinners) in the hotel was quite amazing. Breakfasts were ok, but still with plenty of choices. The hotel has its own beach but it's good for adults only, since it has very rocky entrance and you need to climb up and down the ladder to get in and out of the water. But we spent most of the time on the nearby beaches whcih were very easy to reach with a car. The hotel also has a good annimation programs for kids, like baby disco and nice nature park with animals walking across. So, we had really good time and fun in Monte Turri. See you next time!

Room Tip: Tower room- we stayed in room 18 which is the one featured on the hotels photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Ivan K,
la ringraziamo per avere condiviso i suoi apprezzamenti nei confronti del nostro staff e dei servizi che offriamo ai nostri ospiti.

Un cordiale saluto
Il responsabile delle relazioni con la clientela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Start with the down side: wifi unreliable and we could have done with additional lighting in the room. Also the park gives you the impression of being cut off from everything and Arbatax isn't really close to anywhere.

Now the GOOD: Friendly, efficient staff. Fabulous varied food I really recommend it for maximum one week. I went with my 25 year-old daughter for some farniente and that's exactly what we got. There is also a fun boat which takes you to a great sandy beach and which has the most fabulous turquoise sea. Whether swimming in the rocky bays of the hotel or the sandy beaches a short boat ride away, nowhere was it overcrowded and this was July.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisianPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Google Translation
Gentile ParisianPen,
grazie per il tempo dedicato a questa recensione.

Un cordiale saluto.
Il responsabile delle relazioni con la clientela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from this magical place and are enthusiastic! We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and couldn't be happier with how they greeted and treated us! The Hotel itself is very cute and set in an amazing surrounding! From our room we could see the gulf and the other structure called Borgo, which is an exact replica of a small Sardinian town (Gairo) which was destroyed after a flood in the 1950's. As guests of Monte Turri, we were also given a Key to enter the rest of the park where animals are kept free to roam on the premises (40 hectares). The animals are accustomed to people and are tame, some even eat from your hands like the deer, goats and mules! Since we were in bed & breakfast treatment and we arrived by car, we decided to eat out side the hotel and the receptionist was very useful in giving us tips on where to go for a romantic dinner, she even called to book a table. Friendly staff and and great atmosphere! I highly recommend coming here! THUMBS UP!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Review_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Review_182,
ci fa piacere sapere che il soggiorno all’Arbatax Park abbia soddisfatto le vostre aspettative e che ne parli con tanto entusiasmo.

Le inviamo i nostri più cordiali saluti,
il Responsabile delle relazioni con la clientela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We arrived in monte turri last Thursday and while it was difficult to find,when we walked through the door til the time we left the service was amazing!the two girls on reception were excellent and so friendly and informative!luca carried our bags to our room and made us feel so welcome!we loved the whole place,set in a nature park with animals roaming with the most amazing views of the sea from the roof top terrace!we swam in pools,drank wine and the buffet dinner was very nice!but above all else,the quiet,beauty of the restaurant terrace is amazing!it holds extra special memories for me because after dinner as we watched the sun setting on the terrace my boyfriend proposed!!!the staff at monte turri are so lovely and this hotel I'm my opinion is a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hackysac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Hackysac,
grazie per avere condiviso la sua esperienza con tutti gli utenti. Ci riempie d’orgoglio sapere che l’Arbatax Park Resort sia stato cornice di un momento per lei tanto prezioso.

Vi porgiamo i nostri migliori auguri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in Monte Turri resort August 2012 - it is very difficult to find - and arbatax is an industrial town so it is very strange - and we really had a terrible room - with NO window! It was dark smelly - a lot of stairs to get there and we had 2 little children with us.
Breakfast was nice (except from the ants running around the breakfast table) and the view is amazing from were you have breakfast.If you can have a room with that view then my review would be different.
The pool at the reception and the sitting area there was really old and dirty - what was nice is that you get a key to go to the animal park a few hundred meters away.
But overall - i would never stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room with the same view as the breakfast area has!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindboxdotbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Monte Turri Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Mindboxdotbe,
la ringraziamo per avere dedicato del tempo alla stesura di questa recensione. All’Arbatax Park Resort i nostri ospiti hanno la possibilità di scegliere tra varie tipologie di camere e ci rincresce sapere che la sistemazione da lei scelta non abbia soddisfatto le sue aspettative. Prenderemo sicuramente in considerazione i suoi appunti per migliorarci sempre più.

Ringraziandola nuovamente per avere condiviso la sua esperienza e i suoi consigli con gli utenti, le inviamo i nostri migliori saluti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbatax
0.1 mi away
Arbatax Park Resort - Borgo Cala Moresca
0.9 mi away
Hotel Club Saraceno
Hotel Club Saraceno
#2 of 12 in Arbatax
759 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidonia
Hotel Poseidonia
#3 of 12 in Arbatax
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Vecchio Mulino
Il Vecchio Mulino
#4 of 12 in Arbatax
217 reviews
76.4 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Turri Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Turri Luxury Retreat

Property: Monte Turri Luxury Retreat
Address: Via Faro Bellavista sn, 08048 Arbatax, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Tortoli > Arbatax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arbatax
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Arbatax
#6 Spa Hotel in Arbatax
#9 Luxury Hotel in Arbatax
#9 Family Hotel in Arbatax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Turri Luxury Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monte Turri is a small hotel full of charm situated in a suggestive and scenic position, furnished with taste and fitted with every comfort, the ideal solution for those in search of elegance, refinement and complete tranquillity. The rooms are equipped with: air conditioning and heating system, wall safe box, telephone, hair dryer, LCD HD flat screen TV with access to SKY, minibar (pay-per-use for guests of the V. Garden rooms). The hotel provides a scenic restaurant, a swimming pool with solarium, scenic glass elevators used to reach a private cove, equipped with beach beds and umbrellas (upon availability) on wooden platforms. WiFi is available in public areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monte Turri Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Turri Luxury Retreat Arbatax, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing