We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Arbatax
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

It's about 2 hours transfer time to the resort from the airport but doesn't seem that long and you get to see a great deal of the island, which is quite beautiful. The location could not be better, sandy beaches, rocky coves, plenty of walking if you want and wonderful swimming and snorkelling . Our restaurant was fantastic, the food good, service brilliant, we looked forward to dinner every night, most enjoyable. The only drawback is down to the prat who decides that the evening entertainment for people with hearing impairment should start before the service in the restaurant is finished. Every evening whilst finishing dinner we had to endure the banal kiss me quick crap blasted out, if he waited 15 minutes dinner service would be over and everyone happy - the monkeys with their nuts and Agadoos, me with my Princess and the moonlit waves lapping on the sandy floor of our secluded cove.
The resort is quite extensive, has its own small nature reserve which is worth visiting, and there are paths giving lots of walking if you want, you may think that you need transport but you can actually walk to the nearest village via the beach and neighbouring resort, we did it several times, you will need a torch at night. The one thing that needs immediate addressing is the atrocious service from the main bar by reception. Used it a couple of times and observed it couple more, the bar staff who served me were simply ignorant of how to serve people efficiently or with a modicum of politeness or attention, their rudeness was more a way of life than actual rudeness and when on departure day I saw one of the reception managers propping up the bar puffing a cigarette whilst working, I understood why this rubbish level of service exists.
All in all a fantastic place to have a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Rhet,
thank you for this funny and detailed feedback, we appreciate very much the irony you used to describe some things you didn't like. We apologize for the inconvenient occurred with our bar staff, we don't know how it could happen, as you can see from previous reviews we are constantly receiving appreciations about our staff, in particular about their kindness and helpfulness. We are very glad you are satisfied with your holiday outcome.

We hope to have you here again in the future.

Kind Regards.

Guests Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    73
    34
    21
    9
See reviews for
85
116
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a wonderful holiday at Arbatax Park! The hotel itself is beautiful, and the fact that you stay in little 'cottages' meant that the hotel never felt full or busy. The walkways are lovely with beautiful flowers and landscaping. We stayed here in June, and there were so many pools/beaches/shaded areas to relax in that we never had to worry about finding a lounger. The only minor criticism is that the loungers are hard plastic and quite uncomfortable as they have no cushions on. I would also agree with the comment made by another reviewer below regarding the 'extra costs' for the excursions. We also took a rubber boat out along the coast (which was fantastic), but the staff failed to inform us about the fact you have to pay for the fuel as well as the rent costs when we were booking it. This meant that after our trip, we ended up paying nearly doubly as much as we had anticipated. We felt slightly caught out that we were not informed of this extra cost beforehand - so keep this in mind if hiring a boat!
However, overall we had a wonderful stay. Lovely hotel in a gorgeous location. The staff are also very friendly and willing to help. I would definitely recommend Arbatax Park - in particular the 'cottage' section, which is closer to the sea and has it's own pool, which only those staying in this section have access to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyclaire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jennyclai,
we are glad you experienced a "wonderful holiday", as you defined it. We are sorry for the inconvenient with the boat hiring, probably there has been a misunderstanding with our excursions office staff. We confirm that our boat hiring service works exactly as a normal car rent service, you have to pay for the rent and once the excursion is finished you have to give the boat back with a full tank. We see that unfortunately there has been a misunderstanding and we sincerely apologize for it but we are glad this didn't ruin your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

1. Flight was early, coach transfer was delayed due to need to wait for a domestic flight to arrive. Transfer is 2 hours despite what we were told.
2. Welcome and check in very efficient.
3. The cottage room we were allocated was large, clean, fridge; but no tea/coffee making facilities.
4. Staff all very helpful and couldn't do enough to answer any question and made us feel very welcome.
5. Food - buffet style. we were half board and there was plenty of choice for all. Food was excellent and plentiful.
6. Need to deposit monies on to a card to pay for drinks at bar. bar doesn't take cash.
Great break for us to chill following a busy period leading up to family wedding. Lots of activities going on if you want to get involved. We were happy just to relax.
7. Ignore the negative feedback. We had a great trip and would go back.

Room Tip: We were in cottge 735 overlooking the sea, and very close to the beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kevin,
thank you for sharing your experience at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage we are glad to hear that you appreciated your stay.

We hope to have you as our guest again,
Kind regards.

Il Responsabile delle Relazioni con la clientela.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ok I'm going to be honest here. I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to staying in hotels/resorts and anything outside of my comfort zone. So I'm writing this review for the young/old/family/couple and anyone else who loves a holiday. I'll keep it simple to pros and cons of the resort. Me and my partner who are a young couple in there late 20's stayed here in the last week of June 2014. Now if you're looking at the pictures of other reviews, we saw none of that.
Right! here we go.

Pros.
# on arrival the staff were helpful and they took our luggage and drove us to our cottage in a brand new electric AC kangoo van. It had back seats so you wasn't hugging the driver. He then carried our luggage to the door of our room/cottege.

The room.
#TV, Fridge, draws,AC unit, and wardrobes.
#Plenty of space for stuff.
#Shower, vary powerful and nice.
# Beds are two singles put together and are comfy. No longer metal frames you see in previous pictures.
# You get your own pool reserved just for cottage guests. It's a nice pool.

Cons.

# Okey, so it's not your top class Kensington hotel, but staying in the cottages you do get, obviously your own cottage. The walls are thin so that could get annoying. But saying that there's loads to do and the resort settles down around 12am.
#Your view out the window may not be perfect. But let's face it. If you're going to look out your window the whole holiday then you may need to, let's say. Get out the cottage because you have a great beech on your doorstep.
# AC unit can be noisy if left on over night.
# no duvet covers. Just blankets. It was 26-28degrees everyday. You won't need a duvet, and I love a duvet. Can't sleep without one but still did so that means the beds are fine.

Location.

Pros
# you could not ask for a better location. We stayed in cottage 728 and we were less than 1minute from the beech.
# Found a perfect spot, if you just want to lay on the beech and enjoy the view. Look out for a hidden path located on the left of cottage ___. Walk around the cottage to a view of two palm trees and just sand and sea. It even has a waist high lamp there so you can lay there at night.

Resort Location.
Pros
#Right on the beech.
#In a nature reserve full of Donkeys, Horses, Hogs and roosters with a spa located in the middle of it all. Great view and spa recommended.
#Shuttle service around the resort every 40mins.
# Sign posted everywhere so you can't get lost.

Cons
#Loads of hills. Be prepared.
# 2 and a half hours coach journey and no toilet on board.
# does look like a jail at the main gates but honestly is a nice place.
# it does look worn in places. Paint flaking, not so white walls, but the place is massive. You get your paint brush out and paint 10 hectares of walls and apartments. You have to look hard for it, it's not obvious. It's general ware and tier.
# Rocky. Obviously! It's Sardinia and has rocky places. So be prepared to rock climb. Stairs to the beech have been fitted throughout.

Staff

Pros.
# lovely people, helpful. Always cleaning, and always making sure you're enjoying yourself.
# little flag buttons on there ID's to let you know what language they speak.
# Look out for Tommy. He speaks fantastic English, French and Italian. He sat with us one night for nearly 2 hours just talking and we had a fantastic time just laughing and joking.

Cons
# The resort has only been international for 3 years. So English speaking staff are hard work to find. 1, maybe 2 in a restaurant at one time.

Food
Pros
# seriously, I've eaten in Michelin star restaurants and the food hasn't come close to what is served at the buffet here. The food at the resort is truly amazing. The spread is fantastic. So much choice, so much food.

Cons
# The set eating times can get annoying but that's all inclusive for you. That's what it is.
# The food is out in the open, not outside, left on the tables like you would see at a 1 year olds birthday party.
I have IBS and didn't get upset once. Fantastic food.

Things to do.
There's 9 pools at the resort. 1 of them Olympic sized. So swim where you like. But your own private pool has loads of loungers there and is a big pool.
2 amphitheatres for the kids and shows.
5 bars, I think. DRINK!
The nature reserve. Arcade-ish. 3 machines.
Shows every night at 10pm on the beech.
Wifi zone.
Walking, diving, canoeing, snorkelling and Archery.
There's 4 tennis courts, 5 a side pitch and squash courts, somewhere. I was on holiday, I didn't want to exercise.

Outside the resort.
If you're brave enough to venture outside of the resort, let me know what you find. Sardinia is not a nice place when it comes to welcoming tourists into its little towns and villages. So they recommend and I recommend. You stay in the resort.
But! This is a big BUT!!

Go on the boat trip. A shuttle bus takes you to a boat. You spend the day going to all different beeches along the Sardinian Coast line. This is truly breathtaking. Beeches with white sand and blue sea and some great pictures can be taken.
It's priced at €
Look out for the rock pools around 6pm. These are dotted around the coast line and get bath water warm and quite deep. Lovely to lay in.

Things not to bother with and be aware of.

# Chip cards, don't bother. They're only good for the spa and the central bar.
# The shop, small, overpriced and just a waste of space. Sun tan lotion at €15 a bottle and an inflatable pool tyre €28. Just a joke. Stock up before you come.
GO ALL INCLUSIVE!!
We came half board and it costs €28pp per day to upgrade to all inclusive. Sounds expensive I know. But you will pay €21pp to have lunch and between €3-€12 a drink. We upgraded to all inclusive on the first day because it worked out cheaper.
Beers, wines, cocktails and soft drinks all catered for at the central all inclusive bar. Nowhere else. So be prepared for that too.
Bottled water and cans, snacks and ice creams not included.
#They're always cleaning, gardening, maintaining the resort. So if you're in your room after 10am you may hear a strimmer, lawn mower, chainsaw or sweeper go by. But if you're in the pool or on the beech you won't hear it. Plus it's only done for an hour a day to keep the tourists happy.
# The Spa, do it. It's great. €125 for a twin massage and use of the spa all day. Plus there's a buffet. Or €30pp to just use the spa facilities.
# get as much info as you can when arriving at the resorts. Because there is lots of entertainment and shows.
# brush up or learn the basics of Italian. It will make your life easier.
Learn the basics, like.
Hello
Please/thank you
Wine and water
Can I have
Bye
Etc etc.
I speak French and just got us by.
# If you want a gym, if you're that sad to work out on holiday there is one. But it's not good at all.
# No jacuzzi's or hot tubs. I think. The only one we found was in the spa.
# if you're thinking of staying in the cottages. Always Keep your shutters closed and windows open.

Conclusion.

Great holiday experience. Lovely food and nice staff. Average room and bed, similar to a travel lodge.
Good location

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B3NG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing such a detailed feedback about your stay at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage. Specific opinions like yours, with all the pros and the cons listed, help us to improve ourselves and adjust what needs to be adjusted. They also help our future guests to better understand what Arbatax Park Resort is and what to expect once arrived here.

We hope to have you here again in the future.

Kind Regards.

The Head of Guests' Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The ambience and vegetation are really lovely - wonderful variety of trees and flowering shrubs. The 'cottage' rooms are well designed - private and quiet with fantastically powerful showers! The swimming pools are great and the beaches, whilst not sandy, are picturesque with a good supply of loungers and umbrellas. The food was good - not excellent - but plentiful and well presented. The service was pleasant and unobtrusive. The only slight negative was the absence of a local shop selling more than just the absolute basics. Overall a great place for a sea and sun holiday.

Room Tip: All cottages are well located but those fronting the sea are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIana1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Diana,

Thank your for taking the time to provide this feedback, we take very seriously our guests' opinion in order to offer them services always improved.

We hope to host you again soon.
Kind regards.

Il Responsabile delle relazioni con gli Ospiti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a real 5 Star paradise : fantastic location, beautiful sea and rugged coastline, impeccably designed, constructed and maintained complex of small cottages in beautiful grounds with lots of grass, colourful flowering plants, lovely walkways. Rooms are large, well appointed and cleaned. All the staff we met are very friendly and attentive. The restaurant is light and airy, serves great variety and quantity of fresh, quality food. A short way up the hill is a fabulous walk around the nature reserve : beautiful views of sea and coastline, families of boar, deer, goats, donkeys around every corner and an animal "care centre" where we got friendly with really cute 2-3 day old donkeys, goats etc
It loses a star because, after a breathtakingly beautiful day out excursion up the coast on a "rubber-boat", we had to pay over twice as much as we should have for fuel used. The excursion staff at the hotel were very polite and sympathetic but refused to recognise their own responsibility for this, as the boat-hire was sub-contracted to a separate company
A couple of other minor points : the airconditioning in the room was noisy and not very effective and visitors should be aware that there is a 2h30 transfer from Cagliari airport, with infrequent transfers : on the way home we arrived at the airport over 4 hours before our flight, but fortunately we caught a bus into Cagliari and spent an interesting couple of hours exploring the old town.

Room Tip: We had room 769 which we were disappointed to hear on our arrival was "not near the sea"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Stephen,
Thank your for taking the time to provide this detailed feedback, we are really glad to read such satisfaction in your words. We would like to clarify some points: our boat rent service works exactly like a car rent, you have to return the boat with a full tank, so the cost for the rent depends on how much fuel you consume during your excursion. Regarding the transfer timing, we always inform our guests through our website and at the moment of the reservation that our shuttle service is a collective one, and not a private one, specifying also the approximate waiting times.

We thank you again for your contribution.
Kind regards.

Il Responsabile delle relazioni con gli Ospiti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

A stunning setting close by (rocky) beaches and good quality pool. A friend slipped on the first night and fell heavily injuring her arm. She was taken to a resort doctor with minutes by very caring staff then transported to hospital late where she was treated quickly and carefully for a fracture. A member of resort staff stayed with her throughout to reassure and to translate. Next day our local receptionist visited to check and also took us on a little tour- really impressed.
Overall the resort is very beautiful- similar to a Centre Parks but in the sun with lots of activities but is 2 hours transfer from airport and not near to other places to visit.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are all near to the beach but probably worth paying for a suites as quite tiny. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateOD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbataxParkResort, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Kate,
we hope your friend has recovered. We are glad to hear that this inconvenient didn't ruin entirely your holiday and that you appreciated our cares.
We would like to clarify that Ogliastra, the area in which Arbatax Park Resort is situated, has been elected the most beautiful province of Italy, so there is plenty of places to visit: there are the most beautiful beaches in the world as well as many characteristic villages in the inland. We are sorry that you didn't have the opportunity to visit the area, we assure you that it's beautiful.

We hope to host you again soon and thank you for your contribution.
Kind regards.

Il Responsabile delle relazioni con gli Ospiti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbatax
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club Saraceno
Hotel Club Saraceno
#2 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Bitta Arbatax
La Bitta Arbatax
#1 of 12 in Arbatax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arbatax Park Resort - Borgo Cala Moresca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.2 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monte Turri Luxury Retreat
0.0 mi away
Arbatax Park Resort - Telis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage

Property: Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage
Address: Via Capri' 49 | Baia di Porto Frailis, 08048 Arbatax, Tortoli, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Tortoli > Arbatax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Arbatax
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Arbatax
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arbatax
#7 Family Hotel in Arbatax
#8 Luxury Hotel in Arbatax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
75 rooms. They are placed in one of the most exclusive areas of the Resort nearby the sea (10/100 metres). They have rooms with 2/3/4 beds, furnished in typical Sardinian style, all with air conditioning, tv, telephone, safe, fridge, bathroom with hairdryer. They are facing the sea or the lush garden that sometimes thin out and makes space to the grass and white sand. To the guests in Cottage, we have reserved the exclusive Sa Gana Restaurant with seaview. Guests of the Cottage are free to eat in other restaurants of the Arbatax Park Resort , upon reservation and with extra charge. WiFi is available in public areas and is free of charge. Superior rooms are very close to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbatax Park Resort - Cottage Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing