We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whiterockers6 Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Resort & Spa Le Dune
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badesi
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whiterockers6 Family Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 11 days at the Le Dune Resort with our family of four small children aged 18mths to 6 years. The resort was wonderful, the staff where amazing and very friendly the food and atmosphere was also top notch. We would highly recommend the resort for a safe and enjoyable place for small children, with lots to entertain them which is all included in our half board price and as a relaxing place for parents to unwind and enjoy there family away from the hustle and bustle of home. We have only one disappointment and that is that we would have loved to have had a kettle in our accommodation, being Irish we love our tea at any time of the day. We will most definitely be back but we will bring a kettle next time!! and maybe scratch up on our Italian, for ease of translation. Overall a great place for kids, a relaxing place for parents with great weather late August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank whiterocker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    429
    150
    49
    43
See reviews for
882
257
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vilnius
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We been in the middle of June and allready was a little bit of mess around, so i don´t want to known what crazy can be in July or August. Rooms correct cleanlines ok location good but not the best and as is so huge hotel probably you will have to walk a lot inside the hotel looking for restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guxabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

As a family of four, 2 kids aged 14 and 9, we just travelled to Le Dune with friends whose children are 14, 10 and 6. We spent ten days in rooms next to each other in the 'family friendly' area of the resort, I Ginepri.
In truth Ginepri is the cheapest zone of Le Dune and prices rise from there accordingly. According to what exactly it is hard to say, as there seems to be some confusion about how many kids and of what age are encouraged within the other zones and what those zones offer in order to be deemed an upgrade from Ginepri?? The whole status levels thing is typically Italian and I have come across it before. We Brits find it confusing but it clearly works for the Italians.
It is clear however that whole families are naturally placed in I Ginepri and make no mistake, there are a lot of them!! It can be cacophonous! There were babies and toddlers everywhere during our stay [last ten days of August] and many families consisted of at least one baby plus under 5's galore!! A noisy melee around the pool but more noticeably in our allocated breakfast room, the Nautilus restaurant. Pretty frantic! [of course this can be a bonus if you have a young boisterous family and would like to give up all pretence of control and bask safe in the knowledge that yours will not be the noisiest kids on the block!] So my advice would be stay clear of Ginepri if your children are older or more sophisticated in their tastes!!
Its worth mentioning here that the accommodation we chose was a senior family suite and I must say the space was the most generous I have encountered in many more expensive and luxurious resorts around europe. Whilst a little dark and with a rattan, 70's kind of feel, [think green and orange] we enjoyed a spacious double, large, double basin shower room, good sized twin bedroom and a lovely large lounge area. Stocked fridge, two TV's, good, quiet air con and sliding patio doors that managed to keep the noise out from the restaurant just opposite! It might not have had the wow factor but for the price the family suite was a real result in terms of comfort and space. Our friends in the room above us chose the standard family room which managed to accommodate the five of them comfortably but lacked the separate twin room which made all the difference.
So Ginepri is perhaps the most tired and well used area of the resort but more importantly for me it felt very shady, wooded and a little damp. I had a sense of wanting to emerge into the light! I quite like a vista from my hotel room and hopefully a glimpse of glittering blue Mediterranean. No chance here. The whole resort [apart from the sea/road front Duna Bianca suites] lies slightly sunken in a geographical hollow which obscures the view and leaves one with a slightly enclosed feeling, compounded for me by some particularly tall bamboo and overbearing pines! Kind of pretty but not in a colourful geranium kind of way!!
However a five minute walk through the piazetta [evening entertainment hub and home to a curious collection of shops?] brings you to more daylight and the pool/bar area of Le Palme, somehow distinct to I Ginepri, yet we were welcome to use it. So we did! More spacious, sunny, [no parasols??] and attractive. The bar, though operating slowly, under a system I couldn't quite fathom, was open all day and evening for snacks, light lunches, cocktails etc. Our deal was half board which required purchasing a resort credit card for all extras. You have to load your card with cash up front, which somehow feels a bit irritating. Why the card couldn't just be used to run up a bill that you settle at the end I cannot understand. In practice you have to keep schlepping off to reception to add more funds. It is not a relaxing system with the customer in mind. Indeed you have to shell out £££££ refundable deposits for towels, a kettle if you would like one for your room, etc etc. Maybe its the Italian way but it feels a bit mistrustful.
Anyway the food is delicious on the whole. The restaurants offer good fresh local food. Its all buffet style so a bit chaotic and the decor is a little tired in some places. We chose later suppers to avoid the rush. Service a bit hit and miss. Either over keen [trying to clear your plates whilst still eating!] or slow but the staff are ubiquitous and must be pretty tired by this point in the season.
Il Leccio was probably our favourite with an elevated position up in the grown up Sabine area. The food was really very good. Nice wines, helpful staff. La Spiaggia too, next to the beach, was very good.
Which brings me to the beach. The website does not show the road that separates the resort from the beach. Whilst not too busy it has swift traffic back and forth all day long and kids need to be careful. It somehow lends an urban feel, a town beach. During our stay the sea ranged from pretty dangerous and wild to more gentle and safe. There are life guards at the pools and the beach but the bay is quite steep and kids need to be watched carefully. The beds and umbrellas are hierarchically arranged with front two rows reserved for the more expensive areas of the resort.
In conclusion, Sardinia is an expensive island where holidays come at a premium. In light of that fact Le Dune offers an affordable family holiday without a massive price tag but it probably rates a three star rating in my experience and could definitely do with a little upgrading and more care taken with landscaping. Theres a lot of 70"s style cement pathways and pool surrounds that are not pretty. The restaurants could do with some love too!
The clientele are overwhelmingly Italian, which I like. I don't want to be surrounded by Brits on holiday. There is a definite Italian family feel. Some things are lost in translation though and at times the resort felt a little difficult to navigate and slow to help you get what you want when you want it! Individual staff on the whole were good and helpful especially the lovely Paulo in reception at Ginepri!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a senior family suite in Ginepri its well worth the space. Poolside rooms are handy but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This Resort is good families and is clean and well served throughput with lots of facilities and helpful staff set in a large enough area for it never to feel over crowded.
We stayed in connecting rooms in the Ginipri Hotel which were spacious and clean.
There are 10 Restaurants which gives you a great choice but avoid the 2 main buffet restaurants Nautilus and the Duna as they are poor for dinner ( they especially compare poorly to Spanish Iberostar hotel group buffets style restaurants we have been to over the past dew years in Majorca)
Al the others are good with the Romantico (for couples only) the Pizza restaurant and Scorfano being excellent.
Kids facilities are good - although all the pools are very deep which does mean you have to watch your children!
Baby sitting service was good at 12 Euros per child for 3 hours.

My only real issue is the beach - its 5 km long - but they have stacked the sunbeds so close you are sitting on top of other guests! There is ample room to spread them out.

Finally the sea - for some strange twist in the weather patterns the sea in August in Sardinia is often too rough to swim which is kind of the point of a family beach holiday! We could only swim 5 days out of 14
Added to this the sand is impossible to run on- its like quicksand.

But overall we liked it enough to maybe try it again during July to see the sea is calmer.

Room Tip: The connecting superior rooms in Ginipri Hotel give good space for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013 at the Duna Bianca (supposed to be the best place to stay)
When we arrived we were shown our room which their official website says "not only a bedroom but also a lounge" what it doesn't say is that this is all within one small room.......and we had the royal 4 sea view........so there was no privacy or place to sit at night without being in the same room as our 20 month child...........

Now for the worst part, the restaurants don't open until 7.30 so y the time you get seated and collected your food its 8.00, far too late for any young children, every single restaurant was full of tired screaming kids (including ours) which made all the parents launch their meals down and get out of there as quick as they could. There is a Peter Pan restaurant but this was not open once during our stay.

The kids area, which you will struggle to find, has no shade and was covered in dirt and dust, it looked like it had never been cleaned and there was no shelter from the heat!!!

On a slightly positive side we thought the food was acceptable and the staff were friendly although they spoke very little English.

We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, if you don't have kids, you will certainly learn what its like to have them by the time you get home and if you do there are much better hotels to go to for half the price.

This is not a 4 star resort, we would class it as just about a 3 star hotel, we will be going to a normal hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jybina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great Swimming pools and entertainment for kids but its not the place to go if you have no kids !
We got a Sabine Suite which was very well cleaned and serviced and bright and airy - however we got a look in at some of the other rooms in the Geneprini etc had we booked them we would have been disappinted they were tired and a bit " holiday camp" like.
Food was fair enough but after two weeks you never wanted to eat there again as the menu was never really varied enough and after a while you felt buffed out. Staff very helpful although we thought the advertising was misleading about the Spa - you had no accsess to the Gym or spa pools even though you were in a suite only childless couples could use the spa free ( probably had to soften them with something as this is NOT a couple romantic hotel )
All in all a pleasant stay they do lots right but should give the rooms and menu a makeover to really deserve a 4-5 star rating

Room Tip: Stay in the sabine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashling h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed at Le Dune this summer in August with my family and it was a very unpleasant stay since the beginning. This hotel is a 2 star if we want to be fair and a 3 star if we want to be generous. The parking is located in a huge open space with no tents or trees or nothing that will prevent the seats of your car from burning under the sun. The rooms are overly spartan, the bathrooms old and cheap, the blankets had holes and stains and of course no internet service. Additionally, there is no privacy or intimacy whatsoever since the walls between an apartment and the other are so thin that you will feel like you're sharing your place with the neighbors. Lovely and more lovely if your neighbor has a 2 year old crying non-stop at night. Also, if you do not have young children and do not love sitting for meals with hordes of crying infants and kids all around you, the "auditorium" style of restaurants that the hotel offers will probably drive you nuts. The quality of the food is alright, not much to say about that, but it's the context that did not let us enjoy it. The beach is nice however the umbrellas are disposed in a way that the guests are piled up one on top of the other. Also, if you want to sit on the two first rows you have to pay! Only the last rows, far from the water are actually free. In general, prepare some $$ because everything is considered as extra, as to say that besides one restaurant at night all of the others will ask you for reservation and an additional fee. One last thing, the rudeness and incivility of some hotel guests left us speechless while on line for the buffets, for the shuttle to move around the village and wherever the interaction was unavoidable. In a nutshell, be smart and avoid this place. Your vacation deserves better than this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LSH12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badesi
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & Spa
27.7 mi away
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso...
#1 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
42.7 mi away
Family Life Baia di Conte
Family Life Baia di Conte
#1 of 1 in Porto Conte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 mi away
Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa
131.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Resort Capo Boi
Falkensteiner Resort Capo Boi
#24 of 33 in Villasimius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
143.9 mi away
Chia Laguna - Hotel Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort & Spa Le Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort & Spa Le Dune

Property: Resort & Spa Le Dune
Address: Localita Badesi Marina, 07030 Badesi, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Badesi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Badesi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort & Spa Le Dune 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Resort & Spa Le Dune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Le Dune And Spa
Resort Le Dune Hotel Badesi
Hotel Dune Village
Dune Village Hotel
Resort Dune Village
Resort & Spa Le Dune Sardinia/Badesi, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing