We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Al Gabbiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Gabbiano
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Bosa
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We did not expect the place to be so far from Alghero airport but that was another websites fault with their address and search criteria*. With saying that, we were delighted when we eventually got here and found our room. We had an awesome view and the room was well spaced out. I saw other people complaining about the noise but once you closed the balcony doors, it was silent. The fridge wasnt stocked up too well but had a few cool drinks. Overall I would say it is a nice place away from the hustle and bustle of Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    34
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in two rooms. The problem is that you basically have the choice between no sea view and sea view with street noise or no view at all and street noise. At first one of our rooms was in the first floor on the street and as we entered there was just a bus passing about two metres from the window, later a motocycle with unbearable noise. Luckily we could then change to another room (second floor, no sea view). The second room was in the first floor overlooking the two restaurants of the hotel and therefore quite noisy as well but at least no cars. The restaurant is not very recommendable: In the breakfast there are very limited choices and even the coffee is not really good and the dinner is of very average quality. The beach is close and every room has an umbrella and two chairs reserved at all times. The staff was quite friendly and the overall atmosphere of the hotel typically Italian middle class hotel run by a family since (too?) many years.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoliaEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Came here to get away from it all for a few days and just chill out( ot hot out) at the nearest place I could get near the sea and where I didn't have to do any chores for a change. Got that, just about. Hotel is opposite the sea, get good flip flaps cos the sand can get really hot. Hotel was shabby, food was rationed and had no identity - you wouldn't even know you are in Italy except for the pasta dishes - we had a few extras added on and still can't understand what they were, asked for an extra cup of tea and more water but .......
If you are a tidy person the maid might not change your towels so don't put them on the rack if you want them to be changed. Card key is handy but as soon as you lock the door all electricity lock off so don't bother charging phones in the day time. All in all a pleasant relaxing stay in Bosa which is very pretty and well worth the visit but don't expect any kind of night life, romantic walks and maybe an icecream or drink.

Room Tip: don't take room above the bar, beautiful view but so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pembrokegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and had a great stay. We chose the half pension option (= dinner, bed and breakfast) which was excellent value and always had very good Sardinian food. The hotel also has free wifi and a guaranteed position on the beach with a chair and umbrella. If you are lucky enough, try to stay in the palazzo they own behind the main hotel. We had an enormous room on the 1st floor with a large terrace with table and 4 chairs (room 409 from memory). It may not be the most modern of hotels but it is excellent value for the money in a quiet, pretty part of western Sardinia that has a family beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank over55aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

A beautiful location close to the the beach, but the hotel is a bit disappointing. The "godfather" is reading his newspaper all day in the lobby and has given the reigns to a younger generation. However, they do not have the charisma to inspire the staff. Wearing T-shirts to promote Thailand also doesn't help to brighten the atmosphere. Especially the breakfast is a shame. Not much choice and - yes, you're free to search for the yoghurt in the carton boxes yourself. Evening meal: also uninspired. Room was clean: no problems here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast - motivation staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudolf_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bosa hotels

Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

There isn't a lot of choice in Bosa, so overall we were happy with our choice. Good location and price ok, but hotel in need of a refurbishment.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Il Gabbiano has a lot of things going for it - in particular a great location right by the beach, and reasonable prices. But the rooms were very drab and not overly clean, and we were left with the impression that the staff just weren't that interested in their guests.

Helpful?
Thank deborahsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bosa
25.2 mi away
Hotel Portoconte
Hotel Portoconte
#10 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isola Rossa Resort
Isola Rossa Resort
#2 of 15 in Bosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
25.3 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
44.9 mi away
Hotel Pedraladda
Hotel Pedraladda
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
47.7 mi away
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stintino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Gabbiano

Property: Hotel Al Gabbiano
Address: Viale Mediterraneo 5 | Bosa Marina, 08013 Bosa, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Bosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Bosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Gabbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Gabbiano Bosa, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing