We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palmasera Village Resort
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful experience!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Myself and my husband booked our holiday to Sardinia to stay at the Palmasera Village Resort in Cala Ganone.
We booked this accommodation due to the pictures on the Directline Holidays (DLH) website meeting our approval. The pictures showed white bungalows/apartments set around a pool and it looked perfect hence we booked up for us and our two young sons for ten days. However, on arrival we were sorely disappointed to find that we were placed in the villages less appealing accommodation (see photos). It looked nothing like that pictured on the DLH website. It was one in a row of dingy blocks not in front of the pool. We felt like we were living in a garage with the interior being small and dark with four single beds crammed next to each other. There were no windows just the door at the front which did not make us feel like we were in holiday accommodation.
When we spoke to the reception desk about this they explained that the pictures we saw on DLH website were that of the 'VIP' area (Borgo) and that we would have to pay €30 per night to upgrade to one of these. As we could not see how we could enjoy the rest of our holiday in the cheaper room we paid to move costing us €270.
After moving all our luggage to this room on the second day we found that our 'VIP' room had a broken air-conditioning system. After the first hot and uncomfortable night in this room my husband went to reception four times to ask for it to be fixed with no response. Eventually they told us that it could not be fixed (at 10.30pm!) so my husband and eldest son spent our third night in a temporary room for comforts sake. I only stayed in the room as our youngest son was fast asleep and I did not want to disturb him. When my husband spoke to the hotel 'Chief' (Rodrigo Checchi) the following day to ask for a refund of at least €30 for a night that we were split up as a family on holiday due to their faulty air-conditioning we were met with an extremely rude and nasty man who simply said. 'No I'm not giving you your money back'. I am sure that you will agree that in England a refund would have been given for the inconvenience and to try to keep us happy for the rest of our stay. We were only offered 'another' room and so moved our luggage for the third time with no offer of help for the effort to move all of our luggage.
The food at the hotel was uninspiring with little choice for our young children. The playground within the hotel lacked safety precautions with the slide being in need of repair or replacement (see photos) as it was a splinter/cut hazard and there was only an inch of sand covering a solid concrete base beneath the equipment.
In general we found the whole stay to be miserable following our awful first few days. I would not recommend that this is a holiday for English people who want to be treated with a little bit of respect and kindness. Not once were we approached to see if we were happy with anything about our stay and the hotel management were not at all understanding or polite and at one point refused to give me their names when requested!
This resort and hotel is aimed at and caters for Italian's only. We were the only English people there at the time and we felt extremely isolated as the Italians were not particularly friendly to us and we were pretty much ignored all holiday by the other guests and hotel staff also. We were not advised of the children's club at the start off our holiday and only noticed that there was one in the middle of our holiday. We were also not informed that we could order packed lunches for days out which many of the other guests were getting.
The beach in the resort was stoney and, therefore, we never used it. On the second day we took a boat trip to Cala Luna beach which although beautiful in its setting had a beach of gravel-like sand which again was uncomfortable to walk on and hence left our youngest son in tears. It was only after several days into our holiday that we heard about Cartoe beach (20 minute drive away) which had sand and so we visited this beach for the rest of our stay. All the best sandy beaches were a long boat ride away with a return time of 6.30pm which would have been too tiring for our sons so we never got the chance to visit them.

Before booking this holiday I thought that Sardinia would be somewhere to visit regularly but unfortunately we are now adamant that we will never visit Sardinia again following our dismal holiday there booked through DLH.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank clairey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    243
    169
    117
    70
See reviews for
390
173
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel resort is well situated near the sea, although the beach is average at best. We were staying at the pool for most of the time, which is filled with salty water and it could be really great for kids that want to leafn to swim. The food was great - mostly italian mixed with international cuisine. Hotel is clean and so was our room but the room itself was average though it had aircondition. Resort is close to town of Cala Gonone, if you want to go for a walk, but there is not much to do. We payed for all inclusive and that beside food includes some drinks at one of three bars, mostly non alcoholic, with adition of beer and some flavored vodka. Things can get pretty loud at night because of nearby disco and everey other day there is some kind of entertainment programe for kids. One more thing, the staff of the hotel doesn't speak english too well so be patient if you need something.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diskopanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 4 nights, I recommend it! The staff was nice to us and their English was pretty good. There was good air conditioning, clean room with a little balcony sitting area. The pool is salt-water which was cool, there is a nice bar on the beach as part of their resort as well they have karaoke night and other activities going on . We walked down the beach there are restaurants and gelaterias next to the resort and rental boats to do excursions on the coast which was amazing. Overall had a really great time and honestly didn't spend that much money for this resort. It was worth it, the manager for the buffet was nice as well ! For the maid service they come at 10 so if you plan on sleeping in let them know because they definitely walked in on us sleeping, we didnt see the thing you hang on your door that says come back later but other than that everything turned out pretty great. Also flew in from Ryanair from Belgium and they only fly into Cagliari so we rented a car to drive to Cala Gonone if you plan to do this leave like 3 hours to do this because it is a long drive! (but you get to see the island)!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KylieMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Due to reparations and a closed down room, the staff at Brancamaria Hotel in Cala Gonone booked us in at the Palmasera Village instead which we found out at our arrival at Brancamaria. We were assured that this was also a four star hotel and would provide us with the same level of service. We soon discovered that this hotel is aimed at Italian tourists only, and seemed more like an impersonal charter machine, than a hotel. The staff speaks little English, if any, and it´s a pain trying to get any information or help. We stayed away from the reception, as it was no point in going there for any assistance or advice. I had a mishap on a mountain bike and came back with a bloody elbow and scraped up hands, and they didn´t even have a first aid kit so I could clean up the wounds. Not even plasters. The place is quite noisy as they have full on entertainment each night (ABBA songs in Italian still toments my mind..). The breakfast is belowe average. Basically, this is a hotel for Italian families who are seeking a charter like vacation where there is entertainment, screaming activity leaders and so on. This was not what we originally had booked, and I never would have booked a hotel like this if I knew. Also when we checked in, they didn´t give us any information of the facilities there, so we had no idea what they were offering and were left to figure out everything on our own. Cleaning ok, and location only a 10 min walk from the town beach (which is an ok one, but not anywhere close to the beautiful ones that you can reach by boat).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala Gonone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Gonone
0.2 mi away
Cala Gonone Beach Village
Cala Gonone Beach Village
#6 of 20 in Cala Gonone
1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
585 reviews
70.2 mi away
Marmorata Village
Marmorata Village
#10 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 mi away
Cala Luas Resort
Cala Luas Resort
#2 of 6 in Cardedu
541 reviews
14.1 mi away
Club Hotel Torre Moresca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmasera Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmasera Village Resort

Property: Palmasera Village Resort
Address: Via del Bue Marino, 08020 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmasera Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the east coast of Sardinia, the gulf of Orosei is one of the natural oasis in Europe still intact. The colours of the sea and the perfume of the mediteranean "macchia" enchant your senses. The lively and pleasant little fishing village "Cala Gonone" offers you a wonderful scenario: from the tourist harbour by boat or rubber boat you can get to the bays, beaches and grottos which appear between the high rocks, reflecting on the emerald sea. Situated in this corner of Sardinia, surrounded by green oak trees and oleander bushes is the "Villaggio Club Palmasera" resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Palmasera Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmasera Village Hotel
Palmasera Village Cala Gonone
Palmasera Village Resort Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing