We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy experience once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Nuovo Gabbiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Nuovo Gabbiano
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy experience once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Calagonone is amazing, and Il Nuovo Gabbiano complement it, the location is perfect, the view amazing.

The people who work in the place are the same as 2 years ago in my first visit.

Everybody made you feel so welcome and very comfortable, excellent service

A good positive point, the free Wi-Fi, wish is very helpful if you cant wait to post the photos in Facebook, or just need to be communicate =)

The restaurants are lovely, as they have Terrance, inside, and al fresco, all 3 in from of the sea

The food wow!, delicious, love the tuna pasta with a Asian twist, and the nero tagliatelle yummy, all the menu is delicious, and the dessert !!!! You can see the chef really love what she do, the menu is lovely interesting, and everything is so fresh!!!
and of course dont forget the MIrto!!! =)

Will back in September with my other half, and of course with out any discussion we are happy to back to our second home Il Nuovo Gabbiano =)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoncatangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Addetta al Ricevimento at Il Nuovo Gabbiano, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Goodmorning Angela,
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday. See you in September!
Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    64
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
93
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Cala Gonone was our favorite place in Italy.. It's simply amazing! Il Nuovo Gabbiano not only has the perfect location but the people who work and run the place are so friendly and helpful. The food in there restaurant was so delicious. If it were possible we'd return every year...unfortunately it's a long way from Minnesota.
I'm sure people reading this would also like to know that our room was Very nice and Very clean. YOU SHOULD STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUttRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Reception at Il Nuovo Gabbiano, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Il Nuovo Gabbiano Hotel. All clients’ comments are important to improve the quality of our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Best wishes, Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The best asset of this hotel is its location, right on the harbour of Cala Gonone and is best enjoyed in a room with seaview and balcony. In off-season, free parking next to the hotel is easily available.

Roberta, the receptionist is multi-lingual and eager to help out with tips on surrounding activities and to make your stay enjoyable. At check-out she also waived a couple of extras from the invoice.

Rooms are clean but not very big or fancy. Bed will seem a bit too firm to some. Also it is not well sound-proofed, among other things expect to hear the door of every guest room slam as guest come in and out.

The hotel has a restaurant where you can enjoy the view over the harbor. You also get 10% off and a free glass of proseco to welcome you. But that would be the only real positives, we took each a fish and none tasted fresh.

The breakfast offers multiple choice and if you favor quantity over quality you will enjoy it. If you enjoy fresh juicy, tasty bread and croissant, you won't.

If you can get over those shortcomings you should greatly enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view rooms will give you the best view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavupapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights as part of our trip around Sardinia and Corsica, and this was one of our favourite places we stayed... The hotel location is great as it's in the centre and overlooking the sea, boat trips leave from just outside (We took a boat trip and it was amazing, not to be missed). The hotel itself is really nice and the staff are very friendly and helpful... Our room was a good size with fantastic air con, we paid a little extra for a sea view room which was worth it. We had dinner at the hotel one evening which was good, as was breakfast... The hotel has free wi-fi, which was very welcome.

Cala Ganone is a small place but it was our favourite town we stayed in... in the evening check out the outside bar at the hotel up the road (Blue hotel?) and have cocktails overlooking the magnificent views. If you're staying in Cala Ganone I'd recommend staying at Il Nuovo Gabbiano...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HA_SWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

very nice hotel, very clean, friendly and professional staff. Great location. Right on the harbour. Strongly recommend paying the extra for sea view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My Experience in the Il Nuovo Gabbiano have been excellent, everything since you come in till you leave is a pleasure, the waitress marvelous, everybody care about you, always with a very warm smile, the food, my god, the food is absolutely stunning,everything is make at home, also the chef can speak no just her Italian but English and Spanish, so she can explain to you about the dishes ( in case you need it) and have worked in a very reputable Restaurants and Hotel in London, so you got an exquisite traditional Italian food with a lot of Class and experience.
I need to say that my couple and i we visit different place to eat but we always return to the Il nuovo gabbiano, just perfect, and they home made dessert exquisite, and after dont forget to ask for the traditional liquor after eat, yummiii.

We are looking to repeat this experience again, we feel in love of Calagonone , they people, they food, and special this Beautiful Hotel in from of the sea.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoncatangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Roberta. We couldn't fault the rooms even the back rooms have a great view. Included was a terrific breakfast on the sunny terracem the only critisism was that the port can get a little noisy early mornings but you have double glazed doors and air con if that worries you. Definitley will return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.1 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#17 of 20 in Cala Gonone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Conchiglia
Hotel La Conchiglia
#18 of 20 in Cala Gonone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Nuovo Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Nuovo Gabbiano

Property: Il Nuovo Gabbiano
Address: Piazza del Porto s/n, 08020 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Nuovo Gabbiano 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel.Il Nuovo Gabbiano*** is a very comfortable three stars hotel built in front of the tourist harbor in Cala Gonone. Designed by one of the most important Sardinian architects, the hotel offers breathtaking views on the amazing Gulf of Orosei. The hotel has 16 guest rooms, a restaurant and a wide terrace overlooking the tiny harbor and the sea, the perfect place to chill out and relax enjoying the stunning views on the Gulf. The hotel offers its guests free parking for bikes and motorbikes in a private garage.The rooms.The Hotel has 16 bright and cosy guest rooms, all provided with balcony, air conditioning, TV, minibar, safe deposit box, independent bathroom with hairdryer, telephone, TV and stereo system.The stylish rooms are decorated with handmade furniture and all of them have a nice balcony overlooking the sea and the harbour.Free WI FI is available at the reception.The services. The RestaurantThe Restaurant of Il Nuovo Gabbiano Hotel*** is the ideal place for those who want to taste the specialties of Sardinian and National gastronomic tradition. Some of the recipes are often reinvented by our Chef with a slightly modernised touch, in order to surprise and suite all tastes.The meals will be served in the beautiful terrace overlooking the sea, with its warm and cosy atmosphere, as well as in the elegant interior dining room, provided with air conditioned. There will be the opportunity to taste the delicious dishes of local fresh fish and meat and to choose among a large variety of traditional handmade pasta, all of this served with a glass of good wine. The CafeteriaThe Cafeteria has a rich buffet offering a variety of choices among intercontinental, continental or Italian breakfast. Wine Bar and Snack BarThe Wine Bar offers a long list of all the well-known local and national wines, from the classical productions to the new ones. A wide range of aperitifs to be served with your starters and main courses is available too. Location.Il Nuovo Gabbiano Hotel is located in front of the marina in Cala Gonone, along the eastern coast of Sardinia, in the amazing Gulf of Orosei. It is possible to reach the small town driving through one of the wildest and most suggestive parts of the Island, which is called Barbagia. Cala Gonone is situated at the base of a stunning valley, where the ground slopes gently down to the sparkling sea.SurroundingsBesides boasting a wonderful coast, with amazing beaches and breathtaking cliffs, Cala Gonone has also a rich inland, with spectacular archeological and naturalistic sites. Just few kilometers far from the town there is a number of fascinating archeological sites, among them the well-kown Nuraghe Mannu, the Nuragic villages of Serra Orrios and Tiscali and the Tomb of the Giants of Thomes. Thanks to the agencies and co-operatives that organise guided tours to these sites is very easy to reach them, enjoying interesting excursions in touch with a still unspoilt nature and an ancient past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Il Nuovo Gabbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nuovo Gabbiano Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing