We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning apartment with a great view of the sea and the mountains”
Review of Residence Biriola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Biriola
Ranked #3 of 15 Cala Gonone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The apartment we stayed in is situated in a quiet area, with great views of the sea and surrounding mountains within walking distance from the beach. It is very specious, beautifully decorated with fully equipped kitchen which comes very handy if you decide to cook your own meal - We even had an access to the herbs in the garden and there are also two supermarkets nearby. We really enjoyed our breakfasts on the balcony with the exquisite view of the mountains. Our host Matteo was extremely helpful and provided us with lots of great information and helpful tips, recommended great restaurants and how to best explore the area.
The place has excided our expectations, and it was an excellent value for money.
We would love to go back and would highly recommend it to anyone.
Thank you so much Matteo!

Alena and Joanna

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlenaandJoanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Residence Biriola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Out of all the different options we had, we (3 friends) chose an apartment managed by Biriola Holiday - mainly because of the huge number of positive reviews. Communication with the manager, Matteo, was excellent and he was very friendly and helpful with everything - not to mention all the great insider tips he had for us! Also, the apartment we got in the end was one of the best in his collection.
We were glad to be there in the low season, when Cala Gonone is almost empty (i.e. no tourists), but the weather is still very warm and sunny, and the accommodation very affordable.
The house was within walking distance of the beach, at the end of a dead-end road in a really quiet area and we had an amazing view towards the coast and the surrounding mountains. Watching the sun rise while having breakfast on the balcony - gorgeous. Free parking is available right at the gate and there are a number of supermarkets close by.
Contrary to many other apartments on offer in that region, this one was more a luxurious holiday home than a minimalist cheap budget accommodation. The rooms were very big, but still cosy and comfortably furnished. We felt immediately at home and we lacked for nothing. The large kitchen and bathrooms were all well-equipped and there was even a fireplace in the living room.
Even if it had rained every day, we would still have had a fantastic holiday just staying in. It was such a perfect stay! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fantastic place and super friendly at communications people in residence Biriola. Very nice beach, sectors for climbing at trekking in Cala Gonone at region Dorgali. The best holiday for my family. Special thanks for Mateo, Bruno at Giovanna!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We traveled to Cala Gonone as a young couple and found Residence Biriola very easy to find. Upon arriving we were greeted by Bruno, the elder statesman of the residence, who was quite simply charming. He took us around, showed us the garden at the back and told us we could help ourselves to the fresh herbs and chillis. It was a lovely welcome, followed up by an offer of coffee and cake with Giovanna and Bruno. Quite simply the nicest welcome you could get. Our apartment gave us a perfect, elevated view of the sea from the balcony (only 5 mins walk to the sea front) and was fully equipped with everything you could need. It was also kept extremely well and was extremely clean. Matteo was extremely accommodating and very helpful especially in providing us with ideas for day trips and fun things to do in the area. As for the resort itself, there is pretty much everything you could ask for....beautiful beaches (best accessed by boat or canoe) and within a 10min drive, you are in beautiful mountainous regions perfect for hiking and trekking such as Gola su Gorrupu. Overall, a great time was had and we would definitely go back! Thanks Giovanna, Bruno and Matteo and all the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cartoe room..
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our experience at the residence Biriola was wonderful. The apartment was spacious and clean. Amenities are nearby. The beach(es) 5-10 mins by walk. But the hospitality of the hosts: Matteo, Giovanna and Bruno stands out; they were really welcoming. Cala Gonone is very charming, with various options available: from usual beach activities to climbing trips. There are several wonderful beaches nearby, many of which (for a young family at least) are accessible only by boat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice and large aaccomodation, Giovanna, Bruno and Matteo are very communicative and friendly owners, they help with everything. We enjoyed it there, nice place and nice beaches nearby. Recommend!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We highly recommend staying at Residence Biriola if you are going to Cala Gonone and Golfo de Orosei. The location is perfect, the apartment (apartment Cala Luna) very nice and the views from the balcony over the sea and the surrounding mountains spectacular! The hosts, Bruno, Giovanna and Matteo are very nice and helpful, be it advice about which restaurant to go to, which wine to buy or boat rental they are there for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NekkoPekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#8 of 20 in Cala Gonone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Biriola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Biriola

Address: Via Taloro 18, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cala Gonone
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Dorgali, you arrive to one of the most beautiful place in Sardinia : Cala Gonone, little resort in the Orosei Bay. Originally village of fishermen, the resort is now famous for its beautiful sea and beaches surrounded by calcareous cliffs. This is the perfect place for the nature lovers.In a Residence surrounded by a garden with plants and exotic flowers, we propose you flats that can welcome 2-6 persons (each) . From the veranda, you have a beautiful view on the Gulf. From the reception, you can book some boat trips to visit the coast and the beaches. Di Carlo's Family a welcome you. Special reduction for free climbers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Residence Biriola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Biriola Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing