We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Conchiglia
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Great little hotel right on the waterfront. We stayed for 7 night and had a lovely room with a balcony and sea view. The room was clean and confomfortable and just what we needed. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and has a homely feel to it. There are lots of restaurants close by and the beach is only minutes walk away. There is usually public parking to be found close by as the hotel does not have a car park.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

I think we got the best room in the hotel. On the top floor, incredibly spacious(it was orriginally ment for four people) and the view was simply fantastic. The staff was a bit uncertain about their English but fotrunately everything went well. There are even a few chairs right at the sea in front of the hotel. Best place to enjou the breakfast. The breakfast was quite good unlike the pizza and gelato. But that's another story and will be mentioned in a rewiew concerning the restaurant itself. The town Cala Gonone is nevertheless a bit of a tourist trap and if it wasn't for the lovely beach of Cala Mariolu(the others are nice as well) there would be no reason to stay. The cost of a boat to Cala Mariolu was 37 Euro return ticket p.p. so it's quite an a expense.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanAndAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

After staying in San Teodoro we headed down the coast. Cala Gonone got good reviews, so we aimed for this town. We tried the beachfront street, and Conchiglia looked like a good choice. The room at the hotel was located at the back, but when they took us to a building with flats 50 meters down the road...we decided quickly. The apartment was on the top floor with a private terrace facing the sea. Just fantastic to sit there and enjoy the view and the street life. Street is closed during night.

Breakfast (included) was served in the the main building. Nothing to write home about, but decent for Italian standard. No fresh fruit, juice or proper coffee, but apart from that ok food.

The attractiveness is the location, the simple but clean rooms and the terrace facing the sea. Not luxurious like Sheraton or Mandarin...but perfect for a small Sardinian town like Cala Gonone.

Room Tip: Ask for room 158 (family room for 4) and you will have a great time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at the smaller hotel along the seafront that is linked to the beach club further up the road. We decided not to pay extra for the swimming pool/sun loungers etc because they advised us that it was more for families and children and we are glad we didn't as there were so many beautiful beaches to visit anyway!

The service at the hotel was brilliant, they speak very little English though so you'll need to brush up on your Italian before you go! They advised us which boat trips to go on and who to arrange them with and were interested to hear where we'd been each day - it was like having our own Sardinian family! They also came with us to show us where to park and generally were very eager to please.

Our room was brilliant, with a huge balcony looking out to the sea (you could actually see the sea lying down on the bed) a very spacious bathroom, safe, fridge etc and it was cleaned very well every morning. Having a fridge was really useful for keeping water chilled. The bed was made up of two single mattresses but you couldn't tell that much and it meant that it was larger than a normal double.

The breakfast was nice, very Italian. There was bread, toast, honey, jams and cereals and local ricotta! Don't expect any hot food and there wasn't any fresh juice or fruit. We took our own fruit down to breakfast that we bought at the supermarket and they didn't seem to mind. Maybe in the busier months there will be more choice... There was coffee from a machine but we paid extra at the bar for proper 'espressi' and 'cappucini'. You can sit outside by the sea for breakfast which was great and it was served from 8-10am which was good.

We ate dinner at the hotel one night which was very nice. It wasn't the best in town but it certainly wasn't the worst and they had nice pizza and salad. Again, you can sit on tables along the seafront that look down onto the beach/sea below.

There was wifi but no computers available to use.

Overall this hotel provided just what we needed at a very reasonable price and we would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Make a good impression when you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octopus038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a few days with friends. They had everything you would want in a hotel stay. Service was fantastic. People were warm and accommodating. The breakfast had a little bit of everything, even some typical Sardinian dishes. The beach view is fantastic and sooo close! The restaurant was a great place also to have a coffee or a cocktail or to try some of their home made gelato ( i tried a bunch and i think it's the best in the village). The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. They had a mini fridge in the room. I always find this a nice touch. I recommend this place for any type of traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

It was my weekend trip with a friend, i felt like laconchiglia (shell), enjoying everything around - sea, food, nice people around and atmosphere of coziness!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ane4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We didn't book, just drove down to Cala Gonone and after trying one hotel which offered B&B at 140 euros a night, went here and were shown to a block of rooms 20 metres from the hotel / restaurant. The 'room' was on the second floor with a private terrace back and front and 2 double bedrooms. The view at the front was right onto the sea, boats, moonlight and in October, quiet and wonderful to sit on the terrace with such a view. The back terrace we used for drying swimming gear, the view back through the small town took in the mountains behind.
Breakfast was served in the La Conchiglia cafe / bar. Simple buffet but tables right by the beach to watch the boats in and out of the harbour. No fresh fruit but apart from that it was reasonable, the coffee was either from a flask [not great] or ask at the bar for an espresso.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank UponATime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.2 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 20 in Cala Gonone
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Playa
Hotel la Playa
#13 of 20 in Cala Gonone
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Conchiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Conchiglia

Address: Viale Palmasera 16, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range: £47 - £699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Conchiglia 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Conchiglia, located in the heart of Cala Gonone in Sardinia, is a 4 star hotel recently renovated and it offers an atmosphere of elegance and freedom, characterized by the fusion of architectural lines and typical Mediterranean style . The Hotel is situated in a panoramic position in the "Gulf of Orosei" and near "Dorgali", seafront of Cala Gonone, a few steps from the beach ("Palmasera ") on the east coast of Sardinia and from point of embarkation for the beaches of the Gulf Coast. It is designed to offer maximum comfort and services in a spectacular natural setting, between beautiful sea and charming mountain that surrounds and protects Cala Gonone. Rooms The rooms, all elegantly furnished in Mediterranean style, are equipped with air conditioning, satellite television with SKY, mini bar, telephone, hair dryer, safe, bathroom and veranda with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Conchiglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Conchiglia Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing