We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to decent, but not quite there”
Review of Hotel La Favorita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Favorita
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Location is excellent, nice view from the terrace/restaurant. Shower drain had a clog and air conditioning was very noisy, though. If you'd open the window for ventilation, however, your room will get invaded by the strong smell of deep fried squid from the kitchen downstairs. Some of the staff was extremely friendly, some where the opposite. Decor is decadent 70s, needs an urgent revamp.

Room Tip: Avoid the back rooms at all costs: you'll get little privacy and smell from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrazilianMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here with 8 friends for 3 days in june and picked this hotel by chance. But what a welcome. Beach in front of the hotel. Excellent staff. Delicious food at a reasonable price at the restaurant. Breakfast was more than decent and last but not least : the manager was also the disc-jockey and played the finest jazz and blues music. I will definitely go back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wouter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here for a week in July. Very reasonable price for a clean, spacious room with a sea view. A decent breakfast was provided in the morning. There is a good selection of beach gear (umbrellas, snorkelling fins, etc) to borrow and you are only a 30 second walk to closest beach. The restaurant was pretty good as well and served a wide variety of food.

On the downside the air conditioning unit was somewhat temperamental and a bit noisy – not ideal for the light sleeper.

Overall the hotel is great value for money and I would definitely choose it again if I went back to Cala Gonone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a clean but basic hotel. The staff are welcoming. and it only cost us €60 a night in early June for a double room with a sea view. The room was equipped with a safe and fridge. The beds were not the most comfortable , but if you want a good cheap place to sleep with a very good location and lovely views to the sea, this will suit you well for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swoolf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Though somewhat spartan, this hotel is a good one. Very clean and bright, it is across the street from the beach. It has a restaurant downstairs - try the lasagna - one of the best meals I had in Sardinia. It's worth paying a few more Euros for the sea-view rooms, and #11 has a small porch as well with table and chairs. Cala Gonone is the best place we visited in Sardinia, and this hotel will not disappoint!

Room Tip: #11 - sea view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluestraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here last summer whilst travelling around Sardinia. I'm so glad I chose this hotel - on the surface it does not look as nice as some of the other hotels in the town, but let me tell you - this place is so nice. It has a bohemian, unique style - both the decor and staff.
I had a front facing room with balcony overlooking the sea. The room had a lovely balcony too which was a nice treat. The room was a good size with high ceilings and the bathroom was nice as well.
The staff in the restaurant were really nice, helpful and chatty - in fact the manager even gave us a lift to the bus stop on the day we checked out (we had really heavy bags and it was a really hot day!)
Really good value hotel - I would definitely stay here again!
Cala Gonone is a charming sea-side town.... you should visit!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed for two nights and we had a pleasant time there. The room was big enough as the bathroom, but a bit oldish. The negative point was some sewer odor.
The staff was really friendly and the restaurant a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvapalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Playa
Hotel la Playa
#13 of 20 in Cala Gonone
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Favorita

Address: Viale Palmasera 30, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
#7 Family Hotel in Cala Gonone
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range: £854 - £883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Favorita 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Favorita hotel is an original two-star hotel that overlooks the beach of Cala Gonone. The extraordinary panoramic position and the high quality services guarantee the best value for money,details that give an ambience of great care for guests.In the restaurant terrace with a sea view you can taste the flavours of a kitchen that really cares for the choice and the preparation of fish and traditional dishes. The pizzeria with wood fired oven offers delicious pizzas made with selected flour and the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Favorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Favorita Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing