We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price we paid”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
2 reviews
“OK for the price we paid”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We just came back from 1 week in this hotel. The room was big and the price quite attractive (we had a combined package flight + hotel). The air conditionning and mini fridge were working fine. The pool area is very nice and there was always enough seats for everybody. People at the reception were always very friendly and happy to help. The hotel offers a shuttle to access to the beach ( 1€ per person) another option is to walk downstairs (many steps) 10 - 15 minutes.

However the rooms are noisy and the strategy of the hotel is to clearly show low prices and charge all the extras at high rates :
- 30 € for a simple home made menu per person which is worth 15 € and does not include drinks (for that price you can really have high value food in the center)
- 70 € extra for a baby folding bed

So you need a car to drive to the center which is to far to go by foot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile reception at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mr Guest,

Thank your for your review. Yes rooms are big and spacious and we have different services for our guests. The hotel has a structural problem with insonorisation and it is impossible to fix it.
The 30,00 euro menu it is a that price because of the peak season, in fact, in August, all the prices go up, in June that menu can cost 15,00 euro, it depends from the season.
We will adjust the cost of the cot for next year, and it will change for longer stay.
Thanks and Regards. The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    58
    28
    18
    5
See reviews for
51
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me and my fiancée had an outstanding time in Cala Gonone thank to the Hotel Smeraldo; everybody has been so friendly and professional to us, from the lads at the Reception desk to the waiters/waitresses at the restaurant/bar. The swimming pool is tiny but clean and pretty, surrounded by a number of stunning trees; the closest beach is 10 mins walk away, so is the center of the village. It is possible to buy the tickets for the minicruises by boat or dinghy straight at the reception's till, so that there's no need to queue under the heat at the port down town. Food at Hotel Smeraldo is quality as well as the continental breakfast included. We recommend everybody to go there once to see it in person, it is definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Nice and reasonable hotel. Friendly staff, good wifi and nice pool area. The only drawbacks were the breakfast and the 20 minute walk to get downtown. Would still stay there again.

Cala Gonone was also a very nice location. Rent a boat and check out the caves and cliffs along the coast!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Razzy_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. the hotel itself is a bit 80's decorated but well maintained. We booked for 1 night and decided to stay for another night specially because of the help of the receptionists who helped us with the local attractions. The rooms are big but not fancy. the breakfast was good, although it seemed that the food was running out fast in the morning and they didn't rush to refill it. location is 5 minute walk from the center which was really ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel was good clean and tidy the staff were helpful and friendly the food was Italian which is what we wanted ( not mcdonalds ;-) ) to speak a small amount Italian in sardinia would be an advantage and the hotel staff were helpful with that. good all round

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
viborg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Rooms were clean and big with a nice balcony, the minibar was empty.We could hear almost everything from the neighboors. We did not Like the breakfast - but of course its a matter of taste.
Service at the reception was very good, but very poor at the restaurant were we felt very bad treated - especially the first day, were the vaitors and the Italians guest clearly talk about us and laughed at us several times, we waited for a menucard for a long time and had to ask several times if we could get a table (there were plenty free).
The room wasn't ready when we arrived, and wasnt ready 3 a clock either (as it should have been).

The pool is nice but a bit overcrowded and with lots of noise from very loud music, I wouldn't recommend going here for relaxation.

Location was fine and cala gonone was were nice, tid a short Walk to a Nice Beach.
Overall a okay 3 star hotel, but we had some bad experiences regarding the service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you did not enjoy some parts of your stay at Hotel Smeraldo. Unfortunately last year, one of the manager of the restaurant left us early on the season and we did not manage to find a suitable alternative, therefore the restaurant was without a manager, but this year we have managed to find a solution. Most of the time (98%) the rooms are ready by check in time (15pm) but must have been busy day and we failed to prepare the room on time and we are sorry about it. August is the busiest time for holiday, especially with Italian guests, and it might be overcrowded everywhere in Sardinia.

We thanks again for your visit and comment and we hope you come and visit us again.

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cala Gonone hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vilnius
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I enjoyed staying at H.S.
Location: not the heart of Cala Gonone, but it's o.k: just ~10 min of walking to downtown.
Room: clean; I didn't ordered room with a see view, but I got it.
Breakfast: really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrius J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.2 mi away
Cala Gonone Beach Village
Cala Gonone Beach Village
#5 of 20 in Cala Gonone
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Property: Hotel Smeraldo
Address: Viale del Bue Marino 9, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Gonone
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smeraldo Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing