We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with no view...”
Review of Hotel Pop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pop
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2007

A friend had recommended this hotel, so we didn't think twice. We got there late (past midnight), and were welcomed with a very nice plate of ham and cheese and some red wine. Great! The room was very basic, but ok. We were very disappointed with the view, though: we were so close to the sea, and all we could see was... a big wall! Major bummer. The hotel was full, so no possibility to change. Breakfast wasn't great (some cheap pastries and bread, some yoghurts and cereals. A small selection, nothing good). We took half board, and dinner was alright (pasta to start, very good, and then fish or meat, with overcooked veggies), but nothing extraordinary. The big up was the people working there, very nice and helpful, but otherwise, I wouldn't recommend this hotel, there are plenty others in the same town.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2005

I had a single room in Oct 05. The bed had ripped sheets on it and when removed the top cover there was dry blood stains on the sheet underneath, also sheets never changed once while I was there, yuk!!!!!!!

A rag was used for a curtain, the phone did not work, nothing in the mini bar, the furniture and decor was in a bad state. The towels, well, were really just washing up cloths.

There was tremendous noise from the kitchen till 3am one morning, crash bang, crash bang, could not sleep.

Overall Cala Ganone itself looked tatty, lots of kids spray painting everywhere, generally for what is a beautiful area (the beaches, the mountains) its all a pretty porr show.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2005

Hotel Pop was the most accommodating hotel I have stayed in for a long long while. They really can't do enough to help.

The room was large with adequate bathroom and big balcony.

Restaurant was delish with very fresh fish, wide choice and large portions.

Breakfast buffet was always available even though we we're the only people in the hotel at one point due to off season!

I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeMLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2005

Pop Hotel has nice open layout inside and great location by harbour and beach, a few seconds you're on the sand or in a boat to hire. Get the half-board deal because the restaurant is great, often full, inside or terrace. Sardinian specalities but also regular fare. Clean, large rooms all with terraces. It's an expensive island so we needed to look for deals. Service was a bit slow sometimes but, hey, it's a resort and hotel/restaurant was nice and busy including locals, always a good sign.

2  Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Surrey, UK
16
Reviewed 6 October 2005

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and it was fantastic. Seems to have started looking a little tired since although (or perhaps because!) it has been in the Telegraph and Time Out as a great hideaway. Small details had been overlooked like the satellite tv not working and the mini-bar not filled up. It is along a beautiful coast and does very reasonable half - board with good food though fairly basic choices. It also has an excellent (and much more expensive) a la carte menu.

One major disappointment; I booked in March 05 for 2 couples to stay in Sept 05. When we arrived 1 of the rooms had been given to someone who had asked to stay an extra night. 1 of the couples had to spend a night in a vastly inferior hotel. We made a fuss and eventually got that night free.

There is not much to do in Cala Gonone, unless you like boating/snorkelling/lying on secluded beaches, but the area is very beautiful. Hotel Pop has a nice atmosphere and is generally ok but my great experience the first time was not quite matched the second time

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank gian62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.1 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#7 of 20 in Cala Gonone
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cala Luna
Hotel Cala Luna
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Favorita
Hotel La Favorita
#8 of 20 in Cala Gonone
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pop

Address: Via Marco Polo 2 | Piazza Porto 2, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cala Gonone
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pop 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pop Hotel Cala Gonone
Hotel Pop Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing