We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
317
123
37
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
123
37
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep walk sea view italian hotels beach towels and umbrellas wonderful hotel town centre nice pool fantastic views stunning location early evening late september surrounding mountains rooms are comfortable local beaches yogurt paola hill
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in Cala Gonone...in my opinion the best in the area. We stayed in the Cala Goloritze room and the view was stunning. The hotel pretty much offers this stunning view from all it's communal areas. It's located on top of a hill a minutes drive and a few minutes walk to the town centre. We used a car so can't comment on the uphill climb back to the hotel but it is steep.
Rooms are very clean and the bathrooms spotless with good toiletries provided. The breakfast is varied and we really loved it. There are no hot choices available. This really wasnt a problem for us though.
The best part about this hotel are the staff. Paola, her husband and Christina are so friendly and nice. As soon as we arrived Paola gave us a map of the area and the beaches nearby. She also gave us directions on how to get to the beaches. We hassled her with the silliest of problems (Some not even hotel related) and she took care of them always with a smile. The reception can also organise tours if u want them to.
We ate dinner once at the hotel and the food though good was nothing extra ordinary. It was however the most expensive meal we had in Cala Gonone. I would suggest trying the various other eating places in the town centre.
We would definitely be recommending this hotel...wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Beautiful small, family-run hotel with unmatched location and views over Gulf of Orosei. Worth staying for the view alone. Rooms are simple but comfortable - but I highly recommend one of the deluxe Goloritze rooms with sea-view. Worth every penny! Staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Signora Paola. Breakfast is the usual "continental" with plenty of variety and fresh food. Dinner is good although there are plenty of alternatives in Cala Gonone and further afield. The short walk downhill to the marina is easy - coming back is harder but so useful to get rid of the extra calories you are bound to put on. Even for us (at 70) it is about 20 mins uphil, but hard work! Driving is simple but parking in the town not always easy during high season. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a full sea view - well worth the extra cost and you will not regret it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgiantaffSWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this wonderful property last spring, and I can't say enough good about Paola, Christina and the Villa Gustui Maris. The setting is perfect, with breathtaking views over the Gulf of Orosei. The rooms are comfortable and of above average size for hotels across Italy. I recommend one of the Deluxe Goloritze rooms for the fantastic views and wide balcony. Although we spent most evenings in other parts of the island, we did have a multi-course seafood dinner on property, and it was fantastic. As others have mentioned, there is a longer, steep walk into town- but just jump in the car for a minute or two and you're there. That certainly isn't a reason to stay anywhere else.

The staff recommended a number of restaurants and activities during our stay, and everything they pointed us towards was worth the time and money. A day spent on our own, piloting a small boat between the secluded cliff-side beaches on the gulf of Orosei is one of the most enjoyable memories we've ever had.

Sardinia is a stunning island, and when we return we will certainly pay another visit to Villa Gustui Maris.

Room Tip: Reserve one of the Deluxe Cala Goloritze rooms for extra space and an amazing blacony view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castellammare85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great views. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and well maintained. Food in restaurant was delicious. Beautiful village-would highly recommend doing a boat tour (we used box no9) the tour was amazing and worth every penny, visiting stunning beaches only accessible by boat going via various caves. Great day out.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dberger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed in the hotel for our honeymoon on the last week of the season. We had a view and balcony looking over the sea - I'm not sure if we paid extra for this (my memory is hazy) but it definitely made the stay. We saw that some rooms overlooked the road at the back of the hotel, so I'd try to avoid those.

The "downside" of the wonderful view is the walk up a steep hill from the town and much has been made of this in the other reviews. We didn't find the walk to be too taxing, and charged up the hill in 5 mins on our first night. Our walk home did slow down as our stay went on...

The hotel staff were friendly, the breakfast was a standard continental breakfast, and the room had everything in it that we needed. All in all, it was an excellent place to base our stay in the region.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews