We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - recommended!”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel - recommended!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Sardinia, where we stayed for 5 days in Hotel Miramare -Cala Gonone.

Firsty, the location of this hotel is excellent - 2 minutes walk from the beach, close to the main streets in the town (not a huge town but very charming indeed!) - minutes away from all the restaurants and a couple of beaches.

We had a room with a sea view and balcony on the second floor - we paid a little extra for this when booking online, which I'm really glad we did!
The room was very spacious and clean (cleaned daily) and was furnished in a traditional Sardinian style - which we loved.
I though the bed was very comfy - slightly hard, but perfect for me.
The room had air conditioning which worked well, although was a little loud on cold settings, which is to be expected I suppose.
The shower was powerful and decent... No complaints!

The balcony was great - I had never really considered that a hotel would be a nice place to hang out on holiday, but on a couple of occasions we enjoyed a (lovely) bottle of local wine and (excellent!) takeaway pizza on our balcony overlooking the town and harbour.
It really is beautiful at night and I personally think it's a nice alternative to eating out, since a lot of the restaurants can be a little stuffy.

The staff here are all very friendly and helpful. Everyone speaks good English if needed and German it seems.

Breakfast was tasty, and continental style with breads, cheese, ham, fried eggs, cereals and fruit etc. On the sunny days (3 out of 5 for us in Sept) breakfast was served outside on the patio for the hotel's restaurant. That was very nice, as you're so close to the sea.

We didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant, but it seemed decent - lots of fish!

There is only a couple minor downsides to this hotel, which has prevented it from being a full 5 star rating from me..

There's no WiFi in the rooms (although this might be a blessing in disguise as you can get away from the emails etc, since Cala Gonone isn't really a business stop off!). There was WiFi in the lobby and the hotel's restaurant which worked well though.

The TV has a blue light that stays on all the time - I ended up unplugging it from the wall as it got very annoying at night!
The balcony isn't particularly private, but this wasn't really an issue for us until the last day of our stay.
The plug sockets in the room are not a standard European size. I should have remembered this from visiting Italy so much in the past, but the size in the room is smaller than the type you would buy to convert your UK plugs. Make sure to get a 3 pin adaptor otherwise it won't fit!
I must stress that the staff were very helpful about this though, and gave us an adaptor to use.

There's no free parking (due to the central location of the hotel), however there is loads of paid parking within a minute's walk from the hotel - on street and in dedicated car parks.
It costs €6 per day to park from 8am-8pm. This is all fine, but you can't buy an advance ticket unless it's from a parking officer (they can print out advance tickets) - but we only saw an officer once in 5 days, so ended up getting up early every morning to buy a fresh ticket..

The above points are seriously minor issues, and shouldn't count too badly against this charming hotel. I thoroughly recommend this place based on price, quality and location.
Having looked at every hotel in the area, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Cala Gonone! Will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a sea view. Higher up the better (top floor would be ideal) Get some b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdotpasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    63
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
76
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo/Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Overall a nice hotell to recomend. The hotell had a very nice patio, overlooking the harbor and The sea, where they served the breakfast. We enjoyed the large breakfast buffet. The rooms were a bit old in the interior and small, but very clean and we had a balcony with seaview without any extra charge. The rooms were poorly isolated which resulted in nightly awakenings. The staff was very friendly and spoke excellent english.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiDiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stay 5 days there. It was all what has a 3 star hotel. The best was a restaurant, excellent food, good price. We ate only there. Very nice resepcions, they tray always to help. breakfast was poor, but for me it wasnt important.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good for a three star hotel. The hotel is situated in the village centre and a 1 minute walk to a beach. Other beaches, lots of restaurants within a few minutes walking distance. The rooms are basic but clean and functional. We had a balcony overlooking the sea. They are furnished with sun beds. tables and chairs. A small fridge in the room.

Front desk extremely friendly and helpful. Especially the lady named Gaia. She organised beach umbrellas, horse rides, boat rides etc. for us.
Breakfast OK: Fried eggs, bacon, fruit, white bread, cheese and salami.

The drawdown is that the area is noisy at night: People having a good time, cars, motorcycles and early morning garbage trucks.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the sea. The rooms on the first floor have a tree in front of the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinDelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagga
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Great location between harbour and restaurants. Decent room with great view. No privacy between balconys. Horrid chemical smell in room after cleaning. This is a simple but important issue that could easily be rectified. Room and bathroom clean and functional but decor needs an upgrade/update. Staff good, but gave bad restaurant recommendations. Parking fine for us but would be a problem in high season. Breakfast not bad. Some fresh fruit would be welcome.

Do hire a boat from the harbour

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel is placed in a great location, just steps away from the beach. It's also very close to all restaurants and the harbour. The receptionists speak good English, are very welcoming and helpful. We also enjoyed the hotel's breakfast as there was always lots to choose from and even had some eggs & bacon now and again. But the room on its own was quite average. It was kept clean (the cleaning was done on a daily basis) but was slightly worn down. The shower was not that great, it was not very warm and the pressure was pretty poor. Parking was free in May - may be a bit tricky during the season though.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with the beach view. They have balconies and look nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice location of hotel. Beautiful view over harbour. Good breakfast, with proper bread with fiber. Good ham and cheese. Eggs and bacon. Fruits. Parking could be cumbesome we suspect in high season. Fairly worn down room. Bad shower with no extension tube. This makes showering inconvenient. Good service by staff. Pretty expensive given quality and time of year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pappatilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cala Gonone hotels
0.1 mi away
Bue Marino Hotel
Bue Marino Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cala Gonone
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 20 in Cala Gonone
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
Hotel Nuraghe Arvu
#9 of 20 in Cala Gonone
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
#4 of 20 in Cala Gonone
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Conchiglia
Hotel La Conchiglia
#18 of 20 in Cala Gonone
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Piazza Giardini 12, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Cala Gonone
Hotel Miramare Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing