We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, very helpful staff and great views.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Beatiful views over Cala Gonone and out onto the bay. Very clean comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast included in the price. Although the hotel is not on the sea front, they will take you down there and bring you back whenever you want free of charge.
Nearby beaches are fabulous with crystal clear turquoise water. Lovely spot to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2009

We visited this hotel with friends wanting a quiet & relaxing break. We used the hotel airport shuttle & were met promptly & our journey to the hotel was smooth & comfortable. Due to our flight time we arrived before lunch & were pleasantly surprised that our rooms were ready. The room (we had basic rooms at the back of the hotel) was spotlessly clean, a good size & comfortable. The air conditioning was very effective. Each day our room & bathroom were cleaned to the same standard. All public areas of the hotel were equally clean & well kept. The staff were unfailingly polite & helpful. We managed to communicate with a mixture of English, almost non existent Italian & with the help of a phrasebook! We were told about the shuttle to the village centre & offered a lift. Mostly we walked to the beach & sometimes phoned for a lift back up the hill. Breakfast was fine - Italian bread - chewy but not dry. Lots of different fruit - prunes & tinned pears but also during our stay plums, peaches, fresh apricots, cherries, figs, apples, bananas, oranges......................... Also cheese, ham, yogurt, pastries,jam, honey............................ Tea, coffee, juice.............................
We ate in the hotel quite a few evenings & found the food to be of a good standard. Typical Italian menu of starter, pasta or risotto, main course with salad or veg. Good fresh ingredients & well cooked.
After dinner we sat on the terrace & chatted.

The hotel is on the edge of town on the road into town from Dorgali. It is set back from the road & has great views out to sea. Being high up is an advantage when it is very hot as there was often more breeze than in the town. The (huge) swimming pool was finished while we were there & we did have a swim one afternoon. There are sunbeds & umbrellas. There is no footpath for the first part of the road into the village but we took care & walked in single file until we reached the pavement.

Best things about our stay -
Eating dinner on the pretty terrace & enjoying a good meal with friends. Friendliness of all staff. Being in Cala Gonone for the festa & watching the procession from the church taking the statue of the Madonna to the harbour. Excellent beaches in the village. Good restaurants in Cala Gonone. Friendly & helpful staff

Liked least-
Swimming pool not open when we arrived (technical hitch with the filter system), nowhere to sit in the room apart from one chair or the bed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I think this hotel lacks a true review so here goes. I am going to start first with the pro's then the con's, I will finish with some tips if my review has not put you off or if you have already booked this hotel.

PRO'S
Very Clean hotel, spotless in fact.
Great Coffee at breakfast (sadly it ends there)

CON'S
This hotel is at the top of a very busy road, I have no quarms about a stroll into town in the evenings before a nice meal and drink but I do not wish to dodge fast traffic on an unpaved walkway full of glass and stinging nettles.

The hotel staff are miserable and make you feel like you are an unwelcome guests in their home not paying customers.

The hotel do not seem to like you knowing what you are paying for drinks i.e no menus except a small peice of tatty printed paper behind the bar. One day I asked to view it, i was was huffed and puffed at. I'm sorry but not only do I want to know what price I am paying for a drink, i'd like to know what they had to offer?!

The restaurant food is overpriced. I had a peppered steak which was a ball of fat and the sauce tasted like stale peppercorns. I asked for a wine list.....NO WINE LIST.

All week we were told the pool would be ready 'tomorrow'. I was sold the hotel stating it had a pool and quite looked forward to chilling by the pool after a day at the beach or sightseeing. On our last afternoon when we went down to dodge the traffic one last time, the receptionist said to us 'pool is ready, you must wear a swimming hat' Well not only were we dolled up for a night out so obviously not in the position to swim I felt it an insult that she bring it up at the end of our holiday after we had been asking about it everyday of our week holiday. We were abruptly told we must wear swimming hats....what a bunch of job worths.

We were allocated a room which overlooked a massive cement lorry, when we went down to reception to ask for a different room the miserable witch behind reception said 'no more rooms, only 20euros extra per night for a sea view'. Not wanting to start our holiday on the wrong foot we reluctedly paid the extra for seaview. As the week went on we got chatting to other couples who had booked and paid the same as us and were given their seaview room free of charge. Have I got mug written over my face?

The breakfast was the poorest i've ever experienced at a so called 4 star hotel. Dry bread, one type of cheese and ham, boiled eggs that were black inside and coffee (which was glorious!)

I am really struggleing to see how this hotel got it's 4 star status.

TIPS

After having a chat with another English couple who had the same views as us on the battle axe on reception, we found out afew things that the hotel like to keep from you because quite honestly they cant be bothered.

The hotel offer a shuttle to the port (so all that traffic dodging was unnessesary)

The hotel will give you an umberella for the beach if you ask, we spent 10euros on one.

A small beer is 3euros, a large beer is 4 euros? Bottles only, no draft. Absolutley no atmosphere in the bar area. It also resembled something from Faulty Towers.

Finally, Cala Gonone is a gorgeous place, with plenty of gorgeous beaches, bars, restaurants and ice cream parlours. Take my advice and book a hotel in the port or surrounding areas. I wish I had booked The Bue Marino hotel, it was gorgeous and had a beautiful outside bar with swinging chairs, MENUS, and a beautiful view.

Hotel Brancamaria is in the middle of nowhere, on a very busy road with views of a petrol station (which caught fire whilst we were there....but thats another story)

The hotel ruined our trip to Sardinia but it did not put us off a beautiful Island. We will return but not to Hotel Brancamaria! The website is misleading and the hotel is absolutley nothing like whats stated.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
10  Thank bea360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I have just returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel, I would firstly like to say that cala gonone is a beautiful place but i would not stay in this hotel if you paid me. The lady who owns the hotel is most unfriendly and sometimes quite rude, after all I am a paying guest on holiday, am I not?! The breakfast in the morning was very bland and boring, had a couple of meals in the restaurant in the evening which were over priced and tasted terrible.
If you want to order a drink, you have to guess what is available as there is no menu and they do not want to tell you the price of the drinks. I am definately glad to be home and it is a shame that the hotel really made the holiday not as enjoyable as it should be.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We have just returned from a 7 night, very pleasant stay.
The family who run this hotel are welcoming, smiling and helpful. We arrived very tired at around 7pm and were shown to our room which had a great sea view, which we weren't expecting as it was booked last minute.
A wedding reception was in full swing out on the restaurant/bar terrace below our room and the noise could be heard throughout the hotel. We were informed that the event would be over by around 11pm.
If you opt for a room at the front of the hotel with sea view, be prepared to listen to people chatting/drinking/smoking below till late.

After 3 nights we moved to a room at the rear with lovely views of the mountains which was more peaceful.

The rooms are all immaculately clean, spacious and well equipped with mini bar, hairdryer,TV and chair.
The bathrooms are also spacious and have shower cubicle and bidet and little extras such as shoe cleaning sponge, emery boards, shower cap and toiletries.

We chose to have breakfast outside on the terrace each morning.
This was a buffet and consisted of fresh and tinned fruits, prunes, a selection of yogurts and cereals, bread rolls, croissants, little cakes, biscuits and packet toasts, cheese, ham, jams and honey. Very leisurely, available from 0730 - 1000.

The swimming pool will be great when it is finished for next summer.

It took us around 15 minutes to walk down the hill to the town where even for mid October a good selection of typically Italian restaurants were still open, some by the side of the sea/beach.

We would definately go back to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We stayed in this hotel in early September 2008- we were slightly misled by its website offering swimming lessons and assumed it had a pool. As of September it does not but shortly it will have a huge pool (still being built) with great views of Cala Gonone, a busy little town reached only by a new tunnel through a mountain in a beautiful part of Sardinia

Otherwise, its a great hotel, lovely decor throughout, beautiful terrace outside overlooking town and sea and a very helpful staff. Rooms are modern with A/C and plumbing that works - tastefully decorated plus Sky TV (albeit mostly Italian). NB its NOT a walk to the sea - a good 3/4 mile but you can park close to the pebble beach.

Breakfast typically Italian and restaurant good - check out the Homarium ( or not if you dont like lobsters) plus wood burning pizza oven. 7 or 8 pretty good resturants in town if you get bored - Il Pescatore by harbour very good for fresh fish.

Lots to do around - especially good value is hiring a boat (RIB for the mariners) - you can drive yourself for €100 per day.

If you want to lie on the beach, you'll need an umbrella, beach towels and a cool box - the hotel will give you ice.

We loved it - go if you can. About 1,5hrs by car from Olbia

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank castiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Brancamaria in August 2008 and can't speak highly enough of the people or facility. It is a recently built hotel - family run and all involved know how to deliver good service and make you feel warmly welcomed.

It was our first adventure to Sardinia, we found the hotel on Lastminute.com and it didn't disappoint. Admittedley the hotel doesn't have a pool (who needs one with those beaches!) and slightly set back from the sea front but it made up for those small points with the calibre of room, it's cleanliness and friendliness.

The staff provided useful tips and hints on the local ammenities...in our opinion, cala mariolu was the pick - you must visit. If you like tennis there is Dorgali TC 50m from the back of the hotel.

You must also eat in the hotel - the food was first class and such value for money compared to the ones down on the sea front.

I recommend that you have a car if stopping in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank richallen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Gonone
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
Hotel Villa Gustui Maris
#3 of 20 in Cala Gonone
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
Parco Blu Club Hotel Resort
#1 of 20 in Cala Gonone
636 reviews
7.7 mi away
Albergo Diffuso Mannois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#2 of 20 in Cala Gonone
289 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel L'Oasi
Hotel L'Oasi
#6 of 20 in Cala Gonone
168 reviews
57 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria

Address: Viale Colombo, 08022 Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala Gonone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cala Gonone
Price Range: £76 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Brancamaria Hotel
Ristorante Brancamaria Dorgali
Hotel Ristorante Brancamaria Sardinia/Cala Gonone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing