We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Baga Baga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baga Baga
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Castelsardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stumbled across the restaurant. It was advertised as a Pizzeria but we were very pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful hill top restaurant/hotel overlooking Castelsardo, beautiful for a sunset romantic meal.
Bruno, mauro the twin brothers were absolutely lovely. Very welcoming and did everything possible to ensure we had a very good meal. My boyfriend is a vegetarian, which made it difficult (in most of Castelsardo!) but the Chef's were happy to make a custom made meal.

We made sure back before our holiday was over. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and were blown away by the hilltop location and spectacular views of the Mediterranean and Castelsardo's old town. Our large first-floor room (second story, U.S.) was clean and had a balcony with sea view. There was a refrigerator, where we could store drinks, a small TV with one English-language channel and a good-sized bathroom. The free wi-fi worked well in our room.

Alas, the view and the room's pluses did not make up for what we perceived as drawbacks. We shared the closed room with flies, mosquitoes and ants. One of the electrical outlets failed to work. We could get no hot water in the shower. After running water for a very long time, it finally became lukewarm. There is no area to take the luggage from a car that is level with the hotel building. We found it necessary to haul our heavy luggage up many steps in order to check in. Then we faced even more steps to reach our room. Anyone with decreased mobility would likely experience difficulties with these logistics.

Breakfast consisted of an extremely basic buffet. We took our food outside to eat on the terrace and were joined by bees. As I am allergic to bee stings, I sought refuge inside. But I also encountered bees there.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel consists of 10 rooms split over 2 floors with a separate reception area which is a large open plan building where we had breakfast each morning. We were looking forward to our breakfast because the hotel is noted for its food. However our breakfast on both mornings was definitely the worst we had during our week long trip to Sardinia.
Bread Rolls, Salami. cheese and fruit juice.....however to fresh fruit, muesli or eggs!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourCrazyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Wonderful location on a hilltop overlooking the sea and the medieval village of castelsardo.
The rooms are spacious and confortable with a balcony or garden, all perfectly clean with good new sardinian style furniture. The bathroom is also very large, well designed with a good shower.
Best of all was the restaurant, good prices for excellent food.
The staff was kind and the receptionist Luisa did all she could to help us settle in.
All in all I really recommend the hotel but of course you need a car to get around.
Breakfast is on the terrace, with good Italian coffee and lots of different fruit; no great problems about getting to the breakfast table on time, they were always pleased to welcome you with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caterina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We, a midlife couple of Belgium stayed at the Baga Baga for 4 nights. It was a last minute descission, but we didn't regret it at all. The room and the bathroom were looking nice, big and clean. The receptionist was very kind and helpfull (even speaks English). The breakfast is served on a nice open space with a marvelous view on Castelsardo and the sea. There was always fresh fruit at the breakfastbuffet.
The restaurant of the hotel has also a splendid view, jou can see the sunset, and the food is very good. You can eat pizza as well as delicious seafood. The owners of the hotel are very kind, and make you feel at home. We can recommand this hotel for those people who are looking for a quiet stay in a peacefull place, with a nice view at the seaside and the village, a correct breakfast, a delicious restaurant, and a very nice crew!

Room Tip: Rooms on the mainfloor have less view on the seaside, but they have a small garden with furniture. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Me, my wife + toddling son stayed here for three nights in June 2012. Enjoyed the fantastic ambience. Food was delicious but a little bit over our budget. Peaceful and full of natural flowers. You do need a car to explore Castelsardo + surrounding area. Reason it didn't get 5 stars due to air conditioning not working / not being effective. Couldn't open the windows for fear of mosquitoes, had a few sweaty nights as a result. Breakfast + morning coffees were pretty good too. NOTE - bring your own water, mini bar prices are very high.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Bruno, mauro (twin brothers) and all the staff at this familly run hotel made us feel completely at home, we loved the large spacious sea view rooms, immaculately cleaned, but what really made my Italian wife happy was the incredible seafood at their restaurant. Better than a five star!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tellittony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelsardo hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
#2 of 16 in Castelsardo
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bajaloglia Resort
Bajaloglia Resort
#3 of 16 in Castelsardo
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#5 of 16 in Castelsardo
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pedraladda
Hotel Pedraladda
#7 of 16 in Castelsardo
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castelsardo Resort Village
Castelsardo Resort Village
#11 of 16 in Castelsardo
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baga Baga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baga Baga

Address: Localita La Terra Bianca, 07031, Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range: £48 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baga Baga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bagabaga is a beautiful Hotel set on a hill surrounded by Mediterranean vegetation, overlooking the sea. From this hill, located directly in front of the island of Corsica, you can admire the Medieval Village of Castelsardo and the Old Castle. In this wonderful scenery of sun, nature, relax and privacy, you find the Hotel Bagabaga, that has 10 Comfort e Superior rooms, furnished in Sardinian Style, overlooking the sea. All rooms have a balcony or private garden, private entrance and they are equipped with all the comforts: Air conditioning, TV Color LCD, Minibar, Safe, Hairdryer. At your disposal, free of charge, you have Wi-Fi connection, available in public areas, and a big parking outside of the building. The restaurant, open daily, will delight you with the typical dishes, fresh fish and high quality wines. The lovely beach of Cala Ostina is only 600 meters far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baga Baga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baga Baga Castelsardo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing