We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castelsardo Resort Village
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Castelsardo
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arrived early season to find hotel very unprepared for guests. Staff tried to be helpful but often were not effective. Pool remained empty for 4 days, then two days to fill and on the final day was out of bounds for chemical treatment. (But did look nice) No chairs, bar ran out of mixers.
The hotel is on the cliff side in quite a spectacular area, but be prepared for many steps and steep walks even when going to meals. The rooms were clean but a glass for drinks and, bearing in mind the trek up to the hotel, tea and coffee making facilities would have been appreciated.
Food was average, but on the last night the hotel filled up, extra staff were put on and a very good buffet that left us wishing every night had been like that.
Beach is small and average but again a steep road down although there was a shuttle....... Well there was a car saying it was the beach shuttle.
I expect things would pick up as the season builds but we were a little disappointed.
I would say hiring a car is essential as this is a good spot from which to explore the island. One star for spa and fitness as there aren't any unless you count the step climbing

Room Tip: Just below the pool and as close to hotel as possible, otherwise take climbing gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the start of our trip to Sardinia. The idea of the bungalows is good as you do not have to walk trough the hotel every evening. The rooms are small but clean. The breakfast is average with no hot food available, if you wish to sit outside on the balcony of the dining room there is a charge of €2 per person. There is also a charge of €6 per person per day for the club? We never stayed around the hotel during the day, and we ate out every evening so I really don't know what we were being charged €12 per couple per day for. Every night for the 3 nights we were there, there was entertainment in the bar - lots of family around with children so I suppose it suited them but we were out every night and never availed of it. Overall nice hotel that would suit family. Need a car to get into town

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antoinettefreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

One of the reasons we choose this hotel was that they say they have a diving centre on site. This turns up to be local diver that might show up as written on the note. we waited three times and when we finally got an appointment he called and cancelled with some bad excuse. We found the one proper diving centre in Castelsardo and they worked very fine. Apart from that the hotel has a very high standard for cleaning both the rooms and exterior. The rooms are quite small and they all have an extra bed for 2 children, after a bit of discussion we got it moved out because it took a lot of space and we had not booked a family room but a double room. We took some chairs from the pool bar to put on our terrace and in the room and then it was OK. The staff is very polite and the waiters very helpful suggesting places to see and where to go. Reception is also very polite but most questions are answered by "come back tomorrow" or "you have to talk to management, they arrive at 10 o'clock". The entertainment programme is to us non-Italians like listening to RAI UNO without understanding - very loud - but we came in August in Italian high season, ask for a room further away from the pool area than we had (numbers starting with 1) if you are not into Italian entertainment. I think 4 stars is too much according to international standards, 3 is more correct in my opinion. The food is average but there are some very good restaurants in the town only 2 km away. You must have a car to stay here.

Room Tip: First floor and away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Resort consists of apartments of different types. The Standard room is a good quality / price compromise. The room is plain but clean, and it is equipped with air-conditioning, minibar, hairdryer, safe, telephone and television. The panoramic view is enchanting and the private beach is nice and well-kept. The swimming pool is clean and equipped with many sun loungers and deck-chairs. The food service is great and the buffet is different every day. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The entertainment staff is excellent, skilled, and always available but never too invasive. A beautiful place for a relaxing and pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nice experience there. I recmmend this adress you will not be desappointerd for sure. I was with my wife and she was rnjoyed too. We will go back next year for sure. Service of high quality. The sardaigne is a crazy destination, it was my 3 time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOGOPEREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We always work out the planning of our travels by ourselves, except for some trips to countries where it is easier or sometimes required to make arrangements through “official” agencies. In April of this year we were attracted by a trip to Sardinia offered by Groupon. This island was on our “must see” list, the offer was attractive, in terms of price, location and formula (air transfer and half board) and reviews gave an average score of 8+. The day before we took off, we checked the reviews again, could no longer find the average score of 8, but were faced by some terrifying pictures of rooms in a terrible state. One can imagine that we were not at ease at all when we drove the next day to Castelsardo, after having landed in Alghero.

We had made up our mind to leave the resort if the rooms would be in such bad state as displayed in the pictures. At the reception we explained our experience of the previous day. The friendly receptionist told us not to worry as he would locate us in a superior room. He showed us the room and we were relieved about its quality, simple but perfect, clean, air-co, balcony with the sea on the left side and the tennis court in front.

We stayed in the hotel from June 11-19 2013 and have thoroughly enjoyed every day of our vacation. We had the good fortune on our side, the weather was beautiful all week and there were not many people in the hotel. We had rented a car at the airport and used it everyday. We made trips to the North, tot the Maddalena archipelago and to the Costa Esmeralda and returned in the late afternoon to enjoy a swim and a good (Italian) dinner. Unless one only wants to enjoy the sun and the not too exciting city Castelsardo (the old town is worth a visit though), a car is highly recommended, enabling to see more of the beautiful island.

We can understand that in the high season, it can be crowded and that the recreation offered by the hotel is then mainly in Italian. We encountered, however, no difficulties at all with the hotel staff, in fact most of them managed to speak English fairly well (with an Italian flavour), some also German.

Some reviews compared the dining room with a school refectory. The first time we thought this also but as soon as more people stayed in the hotel (especially during the weekend) we found the dining room becoming reasonably attractive.

We never paid for an umbrella or for a club pass except once for sitting on the terrace outside the dining room. The rationale for doing so was explained by one receptionist but his arguments made no sense to us. They should change this strange policy.

Walking around the resort we found several rooms in a state of decline. Asked about the reason for this, the staff explained us that the resort was taken over by a new owner some years ago and that the restoration was ongoing for the next years. The superior and other restored rooms were the first promising results of this operation.

It is also true that it takes some stamina to climb on the stairs from some lower located rooms to the main hall but what else is to be expected of a hotel that is build on a rock?

We only went to the small beach once. There is a shuttle service if one does not want to walk on the dusty and steep path. There are no umbrellas enough for each chair on that beach. The area around is nice for a (steep!) walk.

The entire scenery is worth a five star. The hotel is in its current state not really a four star but it has potential to become one. The new legislation in Italy will make it impossible to build hotels so near the sea as the Castelsardo resort. They do their best and we believe that they will succeed, slow but sure.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room. These rooms are located above other rooms the entrance of which is through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We went there with my wife and 2 years old child for family vacation. In general this hotel is not prepared for very small visitors - no playground area, pool with separated part for children but too deep for 1-3 children. The hotel has extremaly beautyful location (views are amazing) and the beach well separated and used almost only by hotel guests (no rush typical for many beaches reachable for all tourists. The food is very good and various (except breakfast - but thats typical almost everywere:)
This prefect location has also one disadvantage - lot of stairs you need to walk everyday from room to dinner, for me was a challenge and sport activity but for weakest people - women with children, older people this could be a nightmare.
The hotel is clean, rooms are nice and people are frendly but only few communicate in English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bartłomiej W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelsardo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pedraladda
Hotel Pedraladda
#7 of 16 in Castelsardo
619 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bajaloglia Resort
Bajaloglia Resort
#2 of 16 in Castelsardo
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Janus Hotel
Janus Hotel
#8 of 16 in Castelsardo
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#5 of 16 in Castelsardo
259 reviews
32.8 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelsardo Resort Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelsardo Resort Village

Address: loc. Baia Ostina, 07031, Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Castelsardo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range: £46 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castelsardo Resort Village 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 100 rooms overlooking the sea, The Castelsardo Resort Village is the perfect place to spend an unforgettable holiday. The property is located just 100 meters from the beach of "Cala Ostina", equipped for our guests with lounge chairs and umbrellas (till exhaustion), with special prices for our guests. The beach can be reached on foot or by our complimentary shuttle service. The Resort enjoys a spectacular 360 degree views over the sea. In front of it you can see the “Corsica” Island, on the left a magnificent view of the village “Castelsardo” and of the “Asinara” Island, and on the right a view of “Isola Rossa”. The Resort consists of a main building where are located the Reception, the Lobby Bar, the Restaurant and the Terrace with the Pool Bar, and the Pool fed by sea water, the Theatre, the Bazaar, the Mini Club, the Games Room, and in the garden there are 6 smaller buildings, where are located the rooms that are built as bungalows. Each room has a private entrance and has a veranda or a balcony.All the rooms are located on a hill, overlooking the beautiful bay, face the ocean and have a wonderful sea view. Before the summer season 2011, all 100 Rooms have been equipped with every comforts: Independent Air Conditioning, Hair Dryer, Refrigerator, Flat screen color TV, Safe, and the verandahs and balconies have been equipped with Chairs, little Table and Drying Rack for Laundry . The Comfort (located on the ground floor with veranda) and the Superior Rooms (located on the first floor with balcony) have been completely rebuilt: the bathroom, all the furniture and doors are new finish. The Classic and the Standard Rooms have been renovated and made more comfortable by precious details in Sardinian style. The panoramic restaurant offers an excellent buffet service, with a continental breakfast, and a wide selection of appetizers, pasta dishes, meat and fish dishes, cold dishes, vegetables, and a wide assortment of pastries and fruit at lunch and at dinner. In the Resort there are many possibilities for fun: In high season we have all day Entertainments, Baby, Mini and Junior Club for children, Games and evening Shows, Dances and Music.Just 2 km. from us is the village of "Castelsardo" with the Medieval Castle and the old town, very famous for its natural beauty, local products, crafts and cultural traditions that are handed down over the years and make “Castelsardo” one of the most charming villages of Sardinia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castelsardo Resort Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelsardo Resort Village Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing