We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Castelsardo
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, clean, reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in August, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was clean, the room was a good size and the staff were helpful. The bathroom was fine but was let down by the poor lighting and shower. Also the toilet dripped all night so we had to be sure to close the door, otherwise the dripping would drive us mad.
The pool area is nice and well kept, it makes a change if you don't want to be on the beach all day.
Breakfast was a little limited, but fine, however there was no fruit at all, mainly breads and pastries and hams/salamis, which makes it difficult to have a healthy breakfast.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night, and our meal was good, although we did have better meals elsewhere in Castelsardo.
The location of the hotel close to the beach is fantastic. The beach is great if you have children as it is very sheltered, and good for swimming, but it is small, gets quite crowded and is not the most beautiful in Sardinia.
I think if you visit Castelsardo it is best to hire a car well in advance, or at least book in all your excursions right at the beginning of your stay. We did not hire a car, and it was very difficult to get to other more picturesque beaches. We went to Asinara by public transport which turned out to be a very long trip, as the buses were always late and missed their connections. The trip to the Achipelago Maddelenina is well worth it, but try to get upstairs on the boat or you won't see anything!
All in all the hotel is good value, quiet, with friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicketdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    125
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
158
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on pre payed cycling tour. What a nice hotel with a very pleasant restaurant looking out over the bay and castle. Helpful staff and a fabulous swimming pool. A really super place. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed one night at the Riviera hotel, the room was nicely decorated but the bathroom was old fashioned and as another reviewer has said, a really horrible fluorescant light! The shower door didn't open and close properly but it was serviceable.
The bed was comfortable, we had a sea view with a little balcony.
Breakfast was good - a whole pot of coffee between two and some really good croissants - best we had during our whole Sardinian trip. Lovely view from breakfast room over the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grouville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights and the hotel upgraded us to a seaside room because it was our honeymoon. The hotel staff were so kind, patient and helpful that it really made our stay here.

Castelsardo is a really pretty place and the hotel overlooks the small shingle beach which has beautiful clear water. The rooms are a little dated, but really clean.

We chose to eat in the restaurant on one of the nights which we regretted - expensive and really average food - so we ate at a local restaurant the next night which was better.

If you're in this end of Sardinia, it's worth visiting Castelsardo and the area which has some lovely beaches and this hotel would be a recommended place to stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrouvilleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The location of the hotel was good, but for the quality of the hotel it was overpriced. The room was a good size and bed comfortable, but the bathroom had no extractor fan and had a horrible flourescent light. The restaurant was very expensive, & portions tiny compared to other places we ate in. We were charged that riduculous ´cover charge´ characteristic of other Sardinian restaurants even though we were staying at the hotel, which is unnecessary and unfair, we feel. Breakfast was miserable too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Passing trough Castelsardo we stopped at Riviera hotels restaurant for a quick lunch. The staff was friendly, the view nice. The menu was similar to most other restaurants we visited at Sardinia.

One of our kids took a plate of calamaris, the other a grilled steak with fries. My wife and I wanted to taste the Sardinian lobster. A living medium sized lobster was shown to us. He had no claws, probably already taken of, at that time we thought it could be varietal. We had a nice lunch, good preparations, although no tastes I remembered next day... the biggest impression was made by the check. We were charged 153 euro's for the lobster without claws. With the calamaris, steak, fries, cola's and simple wine we were charged 250 euro for a quick lunch.

When we asked how come the lobster was so expensive this time of year, our waitress didn't understand our question. Not being prepared to waste the last day of our trip on something we probably didn't notice on the menu (like lobster:18 euro/ 100g or something), we payed and left. It felt like fairly overpriced, to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymousRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed here for a week. Very reasonably priced but wish we'd had a room with a seaview (got a peek, and much nicer than our room which looked out over a neighbouring apartment). Hotel was in a good loaction. We got the coach from the airport to Castelsardo and it stopped right outside the hotel. It was within easy reach of shops and restaurants (2 really good restaurants we went to - one on the road to St Theresa, at the top of a hill, can't remember the name but begins with R and is next to club Vogue, it's a really lovely pizzeria with fab views. The other 'something Paris' on the right hand side at the bottom of stairs going towards the castle - sorry, really bad remembering names). The hotel was clean and the staff were really helpful and very tolerant of our lack of Italian. Our room was spacious and cleaned daily. It had a TV, AC and bar fridge. I would definitely return to this hotel and really enjoyed my stay in Castelsardo.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelsardo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pedraladda
Hotel Pedraladda
#7 of 16 in Castelsardo
601 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
#3 of 16 in Castelsardo
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castelsardo Resort Village
Castelsardo Resort Village
#8 of 16 in Castelsardo
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Janus Hotel
Janus Hotel
#10 of 16 in Castelsardo
65 reviews
33.7 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Lungomare Anglona 1, 07031, Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castelsardo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FIRST HOTEL IN CASTELSARDO. The Riviera SPA - nestled at the foot of the rocky hill is the medieval village of Castelsardo - it is an integral part of the history, tradition and gastronomic culture of Sardinia. A sensory journey that embraces all the senses : the care of sleep, the choice of10 different types of pillows, the Spa and the traditional Mediterranean cuisine at Fofo restaurant. BUSINESS, LEISURE AND MORE. The rooms are characterized by a minimal style, warm colors, spacious and bright, with all the comforts, and seaview balconies overlooking the Gulf of Asinara. There is also a business multipurpose area, private parking, wi-fi, spa. The hotel Riviera is ideal for business travelers, for holiday, for well-being and relaxation. RIVIERA SPA, COCCOLE BODY AND MIND. A wellness program of a new generation: the outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water blade and the unique sanitizing system MagnaPool,chlorine free,that respects not only your skin but also the envirnment. Finnish sauna, emotional showers, the float room, the Kneipp path, the sauna,the steam room and the wide range of massagges and beauty treatments. it's time to think about you. RESTAURANT Fofo Title A5. The typical cuisine of Sardinia. A must for lovers of taste, authentic flavors and tradition. The history of seafood in Castelsardo and the panoramic view overlooking the sea intertwine and consolidate Sardinian tradition. Specialties based on fresh fish and meat are the main stay of the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Castelsardo
Hotel Riviera Castelsardo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing