We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its good news and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rosa dei Venti
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Castelsardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Most the reviews of this hotel I saw before I booked it were glowing, but there are issues with this hotel that potential customers need to be aware of.

The Hotel is about 3km from Castelsardo in the area known as Lu Bagnu. The Hotel is in quite a busy area and I found that the bedrooms could be affected by noise from surrounding properties. On the dates we stopped there we were disturbed by noise until the early hours despite the bedroom window being fitted with metal shutters. After midnight the reception closes and entrance into the hotel is via a flight of metal stairs at the back of the hotel. If you have a room at the back you can be disturbed by people going up and down these stairs in the early hours.

Note that as reception shuts at midnight there could be a problem with check-in if you arrive after then. Expedia advises you call the hotel if a late arrival is envisaged but as staff only speak Italian this could be a problem if you don't (I tried and only got a “no, parlare Italiano” response!). Luckily I managed to arrive before midnight so didn’t get locked out.

Reception staff only speak very rudimentary English and I struggled to make myself understood with more than the standard check-in and check-out questions. Their web site suggests staff speak English and the Expedia web site I booked via, states the hotel has “Multilingual staff”. I expect this may be a common problem in this area as there are very few English tourists around Casteldardo.

The breakfast selection was somewhat limited (Cereal, Yogurt, bread rolls with Cheese and Jam and Croissants) although the ingredients were fresh and plentiful, the service was good and the breakfast area was clean, light and airy.

Rooms are advertised with Balcony or Terrace although some rooms have neither (My first floor room just had a window out onto a patio area).

It’s not all bad news with this hotel. The Hotel is kept very clean throughout and the maid service is exemplary. Staff do try to be friendly and attentive despite the language barriers. The bedroom we were allocated was quite large and had a double bed and two chairs that converted into pull out single beds. I think our room was in fact an apartment room rather than the standard hotel room as it was equipped with a sink and a fridge.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worslesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2007

We stayed at the hotel August 2007. The hotel was OK but we think it is a bit over-rated.

Summary:

Location:
Lu Bagnu: It is not located in "Castelsardo", it is situated in Lu Bagnu (3 KM.) which is 70 km. from Alghero's Airport where public transport is not good. We flew with Ryanair and at that time at night we could only get there by Taxi which is € 90.- The town is not that nice, needs more care and some developing for tourism.
The Hotel: Over the main street, near the beach, shops and restaurants. It has a Pub next to it so it gets noisy at night.

Staff: No one speaks other language rather than Italian. As our flight got delayed, they did not want to wait for us after midnight! In the end we got there at 1 a.m. and we did not get a welcoming arrival.

Cleanness: Excellent.

Breakfast: Good, but needs improving. If something runs out, it does not get quickly replaced.

Price: we felt that it was a bit excesive.

Conclusion: we were not happy with the town, and did not feel really confortable with the hotel or staff. Therefore we moved to the next town "Castelsardo".

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Luchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed at the Rosa dei venti from 18th - 22nd July and loved it. The hotel is small ( I think just 34 rooms) and quiet and about 5 mins walk from the fantastic beach at Lu Bagnu. The Rooms were cleaned every morning to a high standard, the towels were changed every day. The hotel in general was very clean and well decorated and the staff were super friendly. We stayed in the only room that didn't have a balcony but that meant we pretty much had the terrace at the back of the hotel to ourselves each evening where we sat eating the delicious proscuitto and olives we had bought from the deli in the supermarket (6/7 mins walk towards Castelsardo and super cheap). The car park at the hotel only accommodates 5 cars but when it's full there's a public (free) car park across the road where we parked with no problems. Overall it was a great place and I throroughly recommend staying there if you're going to Sardinia.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This hotel was very clean with modern and comfortable rooms. Service was also polite. You will however need a car to get into Castelsardo.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Adam251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank françois m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: E' bello addormentarsi con ancora negli occhi il mare che si vede dalla camera in terrazza ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pibo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Soba 207 zbog prostranosti i lepog pogleda na more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelsardo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nantis
Hotel Nantis
#6 of 16 in Castelsardo
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bajaloglia Resort
Bajaloglia Resort
#2 of 16 in Castelsardo
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#5 of 16 in Castelsardo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Castelsardo Resort Village
Castelsardo Resort Village
#10 of 16 in Castelsardo
475 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pedraladda
Hotel Pedraladda
#7 of 16 in Castelsardo
619 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Baga Baga
Hotel Baga Baga
#4 of 16 in Castelsardo
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa dei Venti

Address: Corso Italia 47 | Lu Bagnu, 07031, Castelsardo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Castelsardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castelsardo
#1 Best Value Hotel in Castelsardo
Price Range: £38 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa dei Venti 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rosa dei Venti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Dei Venti Castelsardo
Rosa Dei Venti Hotel
Hotel Rosa Dei Venti Castelsardo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing