We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lowell
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, nice clean hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We've normally stayed at hotels in Tewksbury or Andover when visiting family in Lowell but were happy to try out the Comference Center. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the restaurant and bar area looked welcoming. The staff was also very helpful.

Only critique: we paid a bit extra for a room with canal view and while the view was nice, there were just a couple chairs tossed out into the patio area for furniture. An outdoor table to go with the chairs would have made it all the more inviting--and four chairs rather than two would have allowed us to have family over.

Also, there was a fire alarm in the middle of the night. The front desk person said it was set off by the baker and gave us a discount. I hope it's not a regular occurance because we'd like to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
19
25
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My boyfriend and I were in town for a Lowell Summer Music Series concert. Since this was the only hotel in town and we didn't want to have to pack pack up and drive out of town after the show, we reserved a night at this hotel. Our king room had a sweet private patio overlooking the canal which we enjoyed both in the evening and during our morning coffee. The room was clean, quiet and roomy. The bed was immaculate and loaded with high quality pillows. The shower / tub was very clean and had great water pressure. The convenient Keurig coffee machine was nice in the morning -- I went out to the front desk to get more coffee and was happy to see Starbucks all ready for us. Ariel and Evan at the front desk were great. My request to leave one of our cars at the hotel (I was at the tail end of business trip) was agreed upon. This was an excellent choice when staying in Lowell. I would definitely chose this hotel again.

Room Tip: King patio room was great -- room 115 was near lobby but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GrassFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here three nights, only booked for one, left for a night and came back for two. First night stay was a lovely room and very comfortable beds. Lighting was poor,no main light so hard to read at night.
When we returned we were on a different side, which is used for students attending USlowell university, room was not quite as good ripped lamp shade and not as good looking as other side,also some students still there and noisy late at night,noise running up and down corridor.
Ate breakfast first morning and was fine,slow wait for it though.
I would use this hotel again but only if i was able to get a room on the side not used by students, so i would recommend that you request this when booking.

Room Tip: not the student side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portinscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here three night on a business trip. Was intially put on the 4th floor, facing a canal.

The Good:
View- Initial room had an Amazing view, looking down at a canal, waterfall, and some of Lowell's many art exhibits.
Location- Great location, downtown Lowell, by the historic district, great restaurants, and interesting museums.
TVs- All rooms had brand new 32" flat screens, with plenty of channels, including channels in HD, which many elite hotels don't have yet.
A/C- Ice cold A/C
Lobby- Upscale lobby design with business center room that provided free computer and printer usage
Beverages- Free coffee keurig type maker in the room, and free drinks/coffee in the lobby all day.

The Bad:
Noise- There was frequently groups of loud people walking by and standing outside the door, late and night and early in the morning. Also, starting at 7:30 in the morning, I was woken up by this loud sound of what I believe was maids rolling their broken down carts down the hall. Never heard carts so loud before.
Lighting- The lighting in the rooms and bathrooms was lacking, and could use a big upgrade, especially in the bathrooms.

The Ugly:
Spiders- My first room had lots of little spiders, and I left with a few bug bites. Fortunately, staff at the front desk handled it wonderfully, and immediately gave me a new room when I mentioned it. The new room had no bugs.
Stains- The bedsheets had a number of stains.
Lampshade- The inside of the lampshade in my first room was ripped to pieces, and looked terrible.

Overall: The certainly wasn't the Ritz, but for the price, was a decent option. Lowell has come a loooong way as a city, and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at our property. We strive to have an enjoyable and stress free stay. We hope that if you are in the area again you will give uis another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was the second time I had been to this hotel for a conference. The previous time, it was not owned by the same company. I will say that when I entered the room, I was pleasantly surprised. The room appeared clean, and fresh. It definitely looked better than it had 4 years ago..... until I looked a little closer. It seems that they did some work to the room, but forgot about the bathroom. This was to be my biggest sticking point on this hotel, the whole trip. The tile in the shower had some mold/mildew in the grout and the curtain was well worn. The counter top looked like someone had chiseled pieces out of the front of it and the lighting was terrible. There were two lights next to the mirror, and that was it. Also, when you flushed the toilet, water would splash out of it. The worst part for me was the ceiling. I looked up in the bathroom, and saw a moldy ceiling that had obviously been painted to try to cover up the mold. There were also a couple places where the ceiling appeared to have fallen away, and instead of repairing it, they again, just painted over it. On my last day, when I got in the shower, it smelled like sour towels, as though it had been wiped out by a towel the cleaning staff had been using for a week or two. Disgusting!
As far as the rest of the room..... The bed was pretty comfortable, and so were the pillows. The only problem I had was that the other queen bed in the room had a brown/yellowish stain on the comforter/cover. Thank goodness I had another bed. I would have been calling the front desk if that would have been where I had to sleep.
No one treated me poorly here, and the front desk personnel were friendly. I did not eat in the restaurant, so I cannot speak on the quality of the food.
The only way I would stay here again was if I was attending another conference. You cannot beat the convenience and the conference rate on the room was not too bad either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AA7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We strive to make your hotel experience as pleasant as possible and we failed to achieve that with your recent stay. We value all feedback, but especially poignant critiques as your's because it helps us fix the mistakes that we make. I will work with the housekeeping and maintenance teams to solve the issues you have presented. We apologize for not meeting the standards we expect of ourselves or our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lowell hotels

Cape Cod
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference this week. The price was excellent, the location also very good -- near restaurants and shops. The room was clean, well appointed, and quiet. Thanks to the front desk staff for moving me to another room once I realized that the first room was right over an air conditioning unit.

Conference facilities were nice and worked well for our group. I ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice. For was very good and reasonable priced, but the service seemed a bit disjointed-- one server for the whole dining room.

Would definitely come back on business.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rudymaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The service was friendly and all the people were kind. It is a great location close to everything in down town Lowell, MA. The Ball room is very large and spacious. Convenient location to get to off of the Lowell connector. They did a great job since it was a very busy week end in Lowell.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneStonington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowell
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Lowell/Chelmsford
3.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel and Suites Chelmsford / Lowell
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chelmsford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
4.7 mi away
Stonehedge Inn
Stonehedge Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyngsboro
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center

Property: UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
Address: 50 Warren St, Lowell, MA 01852-2224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, located in the heart of downtown Lowell, overlooks the Concord River and city canals. Just minutes from major intersections, the hotel is centrally located near historical landmarks, major event venues, galleries, shops and a bustling downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Lowell Hotel Lowell
Lowell Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing