We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and in needed of a good cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lowell
Loveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noisy and in needed of a good cleaning”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel Oct 2 - Oct 6. Problem checking in - they cancelled my reservation. Put us in room 230 - a handicap room that was noisy due to the studends dorms above. Was moved to first floor (rm 131) with a lot of complaining to manager. This room's bathroom has mold in the bathroom above the shower. Friday and Saturday nights at the hotel was very noisy, coming from the hallway and adjorning room. Complained to front desk but little was done,
When checking out they wanted to charge us an additional $115 dollars, saying room 131 was an upgraged room costing more. On the positive side, I told them no way and they backed down.

This hotel is not run like chain hotels were service is a priority.

Resturant was good but pricey and few other guest. We liked the fact it was empty and private.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryZ_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    50
    39
    15
    8
See reviews for
20
26
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The UMass Lowell Inn is not bad. The rooms are quite, clean and the beds are comfortable. The overall look at feel of the hotel has been updated and the food is great.

Although, I'm not sure why they went through the expense of the upgrades but yet didn't upgrade the shower tile as it is old and the grout is missing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebarnmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here for the baystate marathon. This was the host hotel and would recommend it. Convenient location to the area. The rooms were nice. The girl at the counter was super nice and very helpful in pointing us where to eat as we were from put of state. Only recommendation would be to have some simple bagels/fruit for runners an hour before start. Restaurant in the hotel was fine.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We've normally stayed at hotels in Tewksbury or Andover when visiting family in Lowell but were happy to try out the Comference Center. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the restaurant and bar area looked welcoming. The staff was also very helpful.

Only critique: we paid a bit extra for a room with canal view and while the view was nice, there were just a couple chairs tossed out into the patio area for furniture. An outdoor table to go with the chairs would have made it all the more inviting--and four chairs rather than two would have allowed us to have family over.

Also, there was a fire alarm in the middle of the night. The front desk person said it was set off by the baker and gave us a discount. I hope it's not a regular occurance because we'd like to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My boyfriend and I were in town for a Lowell Summer Music Series concert. Since this was the only hotel in town and we didn't want to have to pack pack up and drive out of town after the show, we reserved a night at this hotel. Our king room had a sweet private patio overlooking the canal which we enjoyed both in the evening and during our morning coffee. The room was clean, quiet and roomy. The bed was immaculate and loaded with high quality pillows. The shower / tub was very clean and had great water pressure. The convenient Keurig coffee machine was nice in the morning -- I went out to the front desk to get more coffee and was happy to see Starbucks all ready for us. Ariel and Evan at the front desk were great. My request to leave one of our cars at the hotel (I was at the tail end of business trip) was agreed upon. This was an excellent choice when staying in Lowell. I would definitely chose this hotel again.

Room Tip: King patio room was great -- room 115 was near lobby but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GrassFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here three nights, only booked for one, left for a night and came back for two. First night stay was a lovely room and very comfortable beds. Lighting was poor,no main light so hard to read at night.
When we returned we were on a different side, which is used for students attending USlowell university, room was not quite as good ripped lamp shade and not as good looking as other side,also some students still there and noisy late at night,noise running up and down corridor.
Ate breakfast first morning and was fine,slow wait for it though.
I would use this hotel again but only if i was able to get a room on the side not used by students, so i would recommend that you request this when booking.

Room Tip: not the student side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portinscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here three night on a business trip. Was intially put on the 4th floor, facing a canal.

The Good:
View- Initial room had an Amazing view, looking down at a canal, waterfall, and some of Lowell's many art exhibits.
Location- Great location, downtown Lowell, by the historic district, great restaurants, and interesting museums.
TVs- All rooms had brand new 32" flat screens, with plenty of channels, including channels in HD, which many elite hotels don't have yet.
A/C- Ice cold A/C
Lobby- Upscale lobby design with business center room that provided free computer and printer usage
Beverages- Free coffee keurig type maker in the room, and free drinks/coffee in the lobby all day.

The Bad:
Noise- There was frequently groups of loud people walking by and standing outside the door, late and night and early in the morning. Also, starting at 7:30 in the morning, I was woken up by this loud sound of what I believe was maids rolling their broken down carts down the hall. Never heard carts so loud before.
Lighting- The lighting in the rooms and bathrooms was lacking, and could use a big upgrade, especially in the bathrooms.

The Ugly:
Spiders- My first room had lots of little spiders, and I left with a few bug bites. Fortunately, staff at the front desk handled it wonderfully, and immediately gave me a new room when I mentioned it. The new room had no bugs.
Stains- The bedsheets had a number of stains.
Lampshade- The inside of the lampshade in my first room was ripped to pieces, and looked terrible.

Overall: The certainly wasn't the Ritz, but for the price, was a decent option. Lowell has come a loooong way as a city, and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICC-Hotel_Rep, Manager at UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at our property. We strive to have an enjoyable and stress free stay. We hope that if you are in the area again you will give uis another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowell
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Lowell/Chelmsford
3.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel and Suites Chelmsford / Lowell
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chelmsford Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Tewksbury/Andover
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Tewksbury Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center

Property: UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center
Address: 50 Warren St, Lowell, MA 01852-2224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Lowell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center, located in the heart of downtown Lowell, overlooks the Concord River and city canals. Just minutes from major intersections, the hotel is centrally located near historical landmarks, major event venues, galleries, shops and a bustling downtown ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your UMass Lowell Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Lowell Hotel Lowell
Lowell Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing