We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and welcoming service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babylon Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Babylon Restaurant
Description: Opened in July (?) of 2010. Iraqi cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Opened in July (?) of 2010. Iraqi cuisine.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and welcoming service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I heard about this restaurant from a colleague. I didn't find a menu online; however found that their Baylon Chicken is one of the best dish from an online review. So we called them half an hour early and ordered the dish to have it at the restaurant. Since the restaurant is in downtown Lowell its a little hard to get parking. However there is public parking by the town just behind the restaurant and the rates are very reasonable. When we reached the restaurant the staff greated us with great smile and complimentary tea. We got our dish immediately after tea. Babylon chicken was awesome. It's a dish for 2-3 people. We also ordered some dishes to go and they were also awesome. Well kept place but needs improvement on the decor. You could also buy some middle eastern spices here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Authentic Middle Eastern Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I am glad I finally stopped in here! This family run restaurant is exactly what I was looking for when I wanted true Middle Eastern food. The food is very good, fresh and reminded me of the food I could get when I was in the region. They even give you complimentary tea which is very traditional for the Middle East. I tried the hummus first. It really hit the spot! It's hard to find good hummus in the States so I'm glad I can get some locally from here. Next I had the Shish Kabob wrap which was a big delight! The kabob itself is great, but when paired with the salad they put inside of the wrap it's a big flavor winner and really satisfying. If you want great food or just want to experience a little of the Middle East region then this place is a must.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best middle eastern food in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

In a small town like Lowell it is quite amazing to have middle eastern food of such taste. The decor of the restaurant needs improvement. Its not that it is bad or cheap. The owner have put in a lot of effort and money but in the wrong way. For example the red and green walls. The seating (table & chairs) looks expensive but does not go with the theme. Other than that the food, the service everything else is good. Try Babylon chicken and Shish Kabab, they were awesome.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fowbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, quiet atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

A fairly new restaurant in multi cultural Lowell Massachusetts, we stopped in for a quick lunch. The food was great! For appetizers, we had Falafel (a bit overcooked) with salad. For main meal we had Shish Kabob, Schwarma (the pickled vegetables really added a lot to the sandwich) and chicken with a flat bread. They advertise as a Halal restaurant for those who it makes a difference. No liquor license, great service.

We plan to go back for the Chicken Biryani that was advertised (whole chicken, bones removed stuffed with a special rice/raisons, almond mix). Sounds yummy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Freq_traveler_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This a small but excellent middle eastern restaurant and a great addition to Lowell.
The service was freindly and provided us with excellent suggestions.
The Babylon Quiza ( roasted veal shank) was exceptional. The lamb tikka marvelous ( especially the bread that is like Naan but more biscuity and buttery). The chicken was also excellent.
All were spiced ( but not hot) with layers of flavors.
The desserts were very good but not as great as the mains and appertizers.
There is no alcohol, and we didn't ask if we could byob.
Music is also there from 7 Pm on Fridays.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babylon Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing