We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinatown quality family style dinners”
Review of China Star

China Star
Ranked #18 of 263 Restaurants in Lowell
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston
Level Contributor
227 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Chinatown quality family style dinners”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dinner started off with a round of drinks, a mai tai for myself and virgin frozen Pina Colodas for the expecting. The drink prices here are pretty reasonable, less than $7.00 for a Mai Tai and $ 6.00 for a Dewars on the rock. During some of the sport seasons, they have game specials with half off appetizers, which is pretty cool.

The first course of our banquet meal started with Chinese Fish Maw Soup or "Swim Bladder/Gas Bladder" soup. The traditional soup was thick and gooey, just like Chinatown.

Next, we had to get our favorite fried salt and pepper calamari and soft shell crab. They do offer combos with spare ribs and shrimp but being the overzealous eaters that we are, the table ordered 2 calamari and one soft shell crab.

Almost everyone that I know wants pea pod stems with garlic sauce as their side vegetable dish. It was very good.

Another symbolic Chinese staple is fish. It is believed to bring prosperity. You probably won't catch any of my white friends sitting at a table with a whole fish on the menu. The fish was tasty and cooked well.

One of our friends was in the mood for tofu so we got a spicy tofu and pork dish.

No meal is complete without a noodle dish. We got a pan fried crispy noodle topped with beef and Chinese broccoli. It was delicious!

Typically, we do not order "Americanized" Chinese food but our friends raved about their General Gau chicken stating it is the "Best General Gau Chicken!". We got an order and it was really good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Howland, Maine
Level Contributor
697 reviews
551 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“dimsum in lowell”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

have taken my family several times never disappointed . try the steamed chicken feet .or the duren balls .service fast and price very good . saves me a trip into Boston .when I come home this is on my list

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Classic Dim Sum”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very large dining room, roving carts, barking cart-pushers, steaming baskets of stuff that tastes great. Easy to find, lots of parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lobster sauce very watery”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Overall the food is very good. However, on my last recent visit the lobster sauce was extremely watery. The chicken wings I had worth very salty. The atmosphere overall is nice. They have a stage that you would think they would utilize for some sort of entertainment but as far as I know they do not. Hopefully that will change.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Five stars for Chinese out of Chinatown”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

China Star gives you excellent Chinatown cuisine without having to go all the way in to Boston, thus five stars because they easily exceed expectations for a suburban Chinese restaurant. They have live seafood tanks and an extensive seafood menu. While most people rave about their Dim Sum (available daily), we recently had dinner there and it was excellent as well. The Ma Po Tofu is not to be missed, creamy smooth in texture and smoky in flavor. The restaurant itself is also much nicer and cleaner than your typical Chinatown restaurant, and the bar is very inviting. The service was excellent, and the food came very quickly after we ordered. There was also a large group having a birthday party at one of the large round tables, it looked like they were having a great time! Portions can be large, so take it easy ordering unless you plan to bring home leftovers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Star also viewed

 

Been to China Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing