We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely time at Chia Village Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chia Laguna - Hotel Village
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Chia Village Resort”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

For us this was just perfect. We have a 17 months old boy and we found here a very welcoming, friendly and safe environment for our Luca. He had a great time jumping into the pool, running around with the other kids, at the nursery with Veronica and on the beach. He loved the little train taking him down to the sea and the food both at his special Bimbi restaurant and at the main bouffet. We loved it too. The wines are lovely and reasonably priced (try the Buio Buio) and the staff always have a smile on their faces (99% of them anyway!). We used the babysitting service few times and managed to have some times to ourselves so we came back relaxed and happy. Miles away from a MW holiday though! The clientele is on another level all together!
It's not cheap but with small kids you can't really go wrong here.
We'll like to come back, for sure.

Room Tip: We had booked a balcony room at the Village but got upgraded to a garden one! Much better with a chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitalianinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    312
    122
    67
    41
See reviews for
450
157
6
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Fabulous place either for families, couples or friends; caters for everyone.
Recently stayed at the Chia Laguna Resort in the village in 2 x interconnecting rooms with balconies and we were very impressed overall.

The 'village' resort has undergone a major refurbishment this year and the rooms were very clean, large and spacious with nice shower rooms including bidets. We had asked for a cot bed but even though this was not in the room when we arrived; after asking it took less than 30 minutes for them to bring it along,

There's a main swimming pool which is large and where there are sun beds; despite it being busy, we never had difficulties finding a place, but tended to go down in the late afternoon after the our little one had a nap. There's also a smaller pool at the top of the resort by the kids club which was never crowded.

We ate at the Bouganville restaurant where the food was excellent, plentiful and varied every evening.
There's a wonderful Bimbi restaurant which the kids loved and which opened earlier so you can feed the kids there if you prefer,

There are free activities that you can partake in such as golf and tennis but with two small children and it being very very hot when we went, we didn't get the opportunity to try this.
Also there's a kids club where children from 3+ can be left - and the entertainers (all very nice and friendly) keep them amused with varying activities each day, from making pizza and biscuits to painting etc....

On the week we were there, there was live music or entertainment every night (Marco Porta and Naomi were 'headlining this year') as well as the baby dance to precede the main event every evening.

The little train (there are two) departs every 15 minutes to the beach which is a 5 minutes ride.The beach itself is reserved for the hotel and village guests and free beach towels are provided. The sea is a mixture of wonderful blue; clear; turquoise and green. It's worth taking a walk over the dunes to the adjacent public beach (San Giudei) where it seemed breezier and where there is an area where you can see flamingoes.

One thing to note is there's a supermarket opposite the village where you can buy water at under a euro per bottle; the equivalent costing almost 4 times as much in the restaurant!

Positives:-
Wonderful site;
Child friendly location with lots to do to keep the kids busy;
Lots of activities
Nice swimming pool(s)
Great beach.
Varied and tasty food.
Polite and helpful staff especially Gianfranco who seemed to be everywhere and was very friendly.

Negatives/Improvements..
There's nowhere to change small kids - couldn't believe they didn't have nappy changing facilities in the restaurant. Certainly isn't for lack of space.
Order wine at the restaurant by the bottle. It costs 6 euros for a small glass (you can get a bottle for 12 euros). Water is also expensive as is coffee,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefnlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned form a wonderful holiday in sunny Sardinia.
I've been to Sardinia many times over the years but I have to say the south has lovely long sandy beaches.
We stayed at the gorgeous Chia Laguna near Pula.Its about 5 minutes to your own private beach on a fab little train which the kids love.
As I love swimming I adore the beach and with miles and miles on sandy beach with clear blue/green seas this was heaven for me.
We stayed in the village with its own town square where there is entertainment every night.
Its has a huge pool set in lush gardens where towels and loungers are readily available.
Our room was a classic balcony on the 1st floor, very comfortable and the layout is very cleverly laid out amongst trees and plants and with distant views of the sea and the laguna.
The food was delicious,typically Italian and the Vermentino wine went down very well and was reasonably priced for a 4 -5 star establishment! .All the staff were friendly and helpful; we will definately go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lord62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed in a privately owned villa across the street from the Chia Laguna Resort from 30th June to July 12th 2012 and had access to most of the facilities of the resort. Our villa was closer to the sea than the resort and had three bedrooms, two bathrooms and a private garden with beautiful views. The area of Chia is very beautiful with hills gently sloping down to a number of wonderful beaches. Due to the protected nature of the area very little accommodation is close to the beaches. You will need to walk, drive or take hotel/resort transport to get down to the beaches. This is no real hardship as the area is lovely. There is very little in Chia except accommodation and a couple of restaurants and grocery stores. If you have a car you can easily get around to all the beaches locally.

Chia village had a beautiful pool and the children's kids club was excellent. There were always a large group of adults with the children and they were very friendly and attentive. If you have football mad kids make sure they bring their kit as they have football for an hour every morning and afternoon for those who are interested. There is a second smaller kids pool right next to the kids club which they take the kids in every afternoon, and every morning they go down to the beach. The train from the village always goes down to the same beach where there are beach loungers and umbrellas for the use of resort customers, however you have to book and I believe pay to be in the first two or three rows closest to the sea. There is another beautiful beach in front of the Baia Hotel which is part of the resort and you can also use their loungers etc. and here there was no reservations and it was generally quieter and calmer. You can walk through the Baia area (up and down a hill to the beach) but they also have a shuttle to the beach from the Baia reception every 15 minutes. All these beaches are public beaches and you can explore many beaches locally if you have the energy (it was very hot when we were there!).
The resort is on an Italian schedule and that means that the entertainment at night doesn't start until 10pm (mini-disco is at 9:15pm) the resort still has the kids club going until 12pm!!! The kids club people would come by and ask our (under 10 year olds) if they wanted to go to an activity that started at 11pm! The nightshows are also very loud - we could hear them across the street at our villa but it didn't stop us crashing out after a day of sea, sun and swimming. All in all we had a great time, with loved our villa and the beaches are perfect - white sand and gently leading into the sea.

I would recommend a day trip to the Roman ruins at Nora where they have the remains of an entire town - fascinating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smilestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Fabulous holiday! We stayed with 2 children (4, 15) and loved our garden villa with private garden. Room was very clean and air-conditioned. They serve high quality italian food so take the half-board for sure! The staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. The cute little “train” takes you to the main beach every 15 minutes and is for free. there is even a nice beach bar serving cold drinks. The beach is lovely with these white sandy dunes! IT IS DEFINITELY WORTH TO STAY!

Room Tip: if family ask for the garden villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikaerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

What a fabulous holiday we spent at Chia Village. We were so tired with a 2-year demanding daughter and this place super-charged our batteries!!
Wonderful sea, amazing food especially at the Bounganville (a lot of options, all very fresh, good cuisine, plenty of food, typical local food etc), fantastic nursery and baby-club (thank you Laura, simply lovely with children), super-funny baby-dance every night, very good restaurant for kids, all the staff is absolutely nice, kind and available to help.
One day we called the maintenance as one door handle was creaky and they fixed it in few minutes. At our arrival we were given a pushchair; a cot, a baby changing table, a baby-bathtub and new bath toys were waiting for us in the room (they need to be reserved).
We utterly loved the place and I just can't believe some of the reviews, especially the ones stating the place is not new (our room up the hill was refurbished, colourful and nice, well conditioned, close to the nursery) or food is not good...it was fabulous.
Something that can be improved is the lack of nappy changing facilities in the restaurants toilets and the receptiion staff training, because there is a high turnover of people and not all of them know everything they should. But they are really kind. I left my handbag on the little lovely train from the beach (wonderful driver Gianfranco!) and they found it and returned it in 20 minutes...
Thanks Chia, all our money was well spent :-)

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank FioreGaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed recently in Sept which was the end of season, great time to go. Quiet, attentive and well serviced. Room was clean, tidy, well air-conditioned and big enough for the wife and I and two kids (7 and 5). Kids stayed on the mezzanine upstairs (superior garden villa) which was fine. They had own TV although we took our own content as most channels in Italian. Kids were kept busy in the pool or beach and had some great times with the girls at the kids club who were very attentive. Beach was beautiful, safe and uncrowded. Best thing for me was the food - if you love Italian food this is the place for you. We went half board and were treated to a fabulous buffet every night. Now this was no normal buffet, it was of the highest quality. Seafood, pasta, meat, desert, wine, beer - all beautiful. Breakfast was the same. Things to improve - wifi from the room, greater choice of English tv channels, pool area could do with a refresh but was more than adequate. I normally stay in good resorts and this one was up there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrGarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chia
0.1 mi away
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
0.8 mi away
Aquadulci Hotel
Aquadulci Hotel
#2 of 7 in Chia
322 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,214 reviews
4.3 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Castello
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Cas...
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valtur Parco Torre Chia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chia Laguna - Hotel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chia Laguna - Hotel Village

Property: Chia Laguna - Hotel Village
Address: Localita' Chia, 09010 Chia, Domus de Maria, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Domus de Maria > Chia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chia
#2 Family Hotel in Chia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chia Laguna - Hotel Village 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The vivid colours of the Mediterranean invite you to experience an adventure beyond anything you've imagined. Enjoy the comfort and luxury of our 4-star Hotel Village in Chia, a true gem in heart of Sardinia. The recently renovated cottage rooms are the resort's most popular attraction, and offer exclusive amenities that have been designed for families with children in mind, such as a mini club, a variety of restaurants, a shuttle train to the beach, a central pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chia Laguna - Hotel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chia Village Hotel Chia
Meridien Domus De Maria
Sardinia Chia Laguna
Domus De Maria Meridien
Le Meridien Domus De Maria
Domus De Maria Le Meridien
Chia Laguna - Hotel Village Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing