We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chia Laguna - Hotel Village
Nearby Hotels
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$676
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Abamar(Santa Margherita di Pula)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Su Giudeu(Domus de Maria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Faro Capo Spartivento(Domus de Maria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Barcavela Hotel(Santa Margherita di Pula)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
478
371
149
87
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
371
149
87
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubchia lagunaevening entertainmentmini clubevery nightgreat holidaybouganville restaurantpastaacross the roadpool barhalf boardsmall childrenfresh fishfootball academyinterconnecting roomsfamily holidaymain pool
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just returned fom 10 days at Chia Village. My seven year old describes it as "the best holiday EVER!" We stayed in the larger garden cottage with patio and found it quite spacious. The air conditioning was a god send as it was very very hot outside. The room was cleaned daily and the lady would organise my child's teddies into different positions each day. Sitting in a circle or in a line holding paws or sitting in each others knee. My child became quite excited each day to see what teddies would be 'doing' when she got back to the room. This was such a lovely touch and is a perfect example of the care and attention the staff pay to their guests. The mini club was amazing! The girls who work there are truly dedicated to their job. They start at 9am and are still going after the show finishes in the evening. Very long hours! They make every child feel special. There was always loads of staff about with some of them able to communicate in 3 - 4 languages. The activities are good with lots of water activities when it's hot along with some competitions and pizza or biscuit making. The children are always given a snack in the afternoon and water is provided at anytime. The beach is beautiful. The water is warm and the sand is red hot. There are lots of sunbeds and you can buy drinks at the kiosk. I thought the food and drink was expensive compared to the 'locals' beach where everything was half the price. The shows in the evening are incredible with no expense spared on the costumes. The 4 female professional dancers and the 4 male professional dancers were on stage every night along with the male and female professional singers which meant the quality was consistent each night. The pools are great. We even managed to have the mini club pool all to ourselves on several occasions was is amazing considering how many people are in the village. One of the negatives are the cost of drinks. We spent about €60 a day on drinks and ice cream. We did buy lots of drinks from the Luna supermarket across the main road but as our fridge didn't seem to work very well so we couldn't keep them as cold as we would like. Lunch also cost more than expected. The panini shops average price was €7:00 and with a drink lunch was easily costing £30 - £35 a day. The pool restaurant was just as expensive with €18 for a club sandwich with chips. This dish is huge and could be shared between two. The children's pasta dish was €7 here so again was quite expensive for lunch. The location is beautiful but quite remote so we wanted to leave the resort. We went scuba diving one day and the boat trip was great. The "Bad Boy" divers are very professional and nothing was too much trouble. The fish and coral are not to be missed! A second negative is the lack of any rules for the seating at the shows in the evening. We always arrived early to get a front row table but found that the Italians would take chairs and just plonk themselves in front of us in any space they could find. They don't seem to have any consideration for others and don't care that they block your view. On our Last evening my husband was so fed up with this that he almost came to blows with an Italian man who refused to move out of the way after placing himself directly in front of my seven year old who then couldn't see a thing. He was very aggressive and rude shouting abuse at us in Italian. In the end my husband got up and lifted him IN his chair to the side. We didn't stay as we didn't want any trouble especially on our last night and it was a very disappointing end to what was a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catheinegourlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Chia Laguna Resort. With two children, aged 11 and 9, we opted for the connecting cottage rooms, which were nicely furnished, very clean and air conditioned. The resort is large but landscaped in such a way it never feels crowded. The accommodation is situated along crazy paved lanes but cleverly hidden by bougainvillea. Everything is in fact very close, whether you are walking to the pool, restaurant, piazza or the five-a-side football pitch!

The restaurant we used as part of our package was the Bouganville. This was buffet style and breakfast and evening meal were both to a very high standard. The starter selection at dinner was quite incredible and we would look forward to the huge array of mouth-watering delights each night. My youngest isn’t as adventurous with her food, but there was always something that tempted her. The waiters and waitresses were all very friendly as was the resort manager who was always present in the evening and there to greet you. Drinks, however, were on the pricey side.

All the staff were incredibly energetic, happy and helpful and although our children didn’t attend the kid’s club, opting for some of the sporting sessions (football, table tennis and tennis), we did get to know a few and feel we have to mention Illaria, Virginia, Nicolo and Davide who were great as was Wallace who took the Aqua Fit classes at the pool.

The towel tokens worked well and it was great to have fresh clean towels whether at the beach or pool but on a slight negative there weren’t always enough beds by the pools. We visited the beach at various times of day and this was never a problem there.

After our meal we looked forward to the evening entertainment at the Piazza. The resident dancers and singers were fantastic and extremely professional as was the whole show with the costumes, lighting and music.

The general manager (who we had seen at various times during the week) as well as the resort manager were there to say goodbye, which I thought was a nice touch.

Sardatur had recommended this resort to match our needs, made the booking process very easy and it was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALYW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Staff helpful and attentive from the start,delivering bags, charming the children serving and leading exercise classes. Great location for pool and beach, we stayed a week, probably two weeks would start to feel constrained by the remote location. Drinks and lunches are extra but sandwiches delivered to the beach are a cheap alternative. Once you acclimatize to the heat,walk along to other local beaches in the early evening. Food was good , a great selection.

Room Tip: Garden rooms better as room to sit outside. Few classic rooms had a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Chia Laguna Village resort. 9 of us went to celebrate my Mothers 70th birthday and it was faultless. The setting of the hotel is beautiful and has views of the mountains which are covered in pine trees and olive trees. The beach is spectacular, turquoise crystal clear sea, you could easily think you are somewhere in the Caribbean. It is reached by travelling on a regular mini train which takes about 5 minutes but it is extremely enjoyable and certainly enhances the whole experience of going to the beach. We had a Family Garden cottage which consists of two bedrooms with interconnecting doors. They were very tastefully decorated and comfortable. There was a good selection of restaurants and we chose to eat in the Bourganville restaurant every evening which had a huge selection of very good quality italian food on offer. There is also a supermarket within easy reach where most groceries can be purchased if you want to buy an easy lunch and eat it on the terrace of your bedroom.The nightly entertainment was excellent as were the Animation Team and very friendly and helpful staff; nothing is too much trouble. The General Manager, and Village Resort Manager are always visible and very friendly and approachable with the Guests. There is also a fantastic selection of recreation activities; yoga, water aerobics etc some of which were run by Wallace ( Ricardo) who made you want to get up and join in as he made the activities so much fun. We were only sad that we did not stay for longer and will definitely return. Thank you

Room Tip: For families the garden cottages are great as they consist of two good size rooms with two bathrooms and a terrace for each bedroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969debbieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just returned from a fortnight at Chia Village staying with our seven year old daughter in a ground floor garden cottage room which although fairly basic, was perfectly ok.
We ate in the Bouganville Restaurant on a half-board basis.The standard of food was pretty good but fell way short in terms of choice and quality to what we experienced at one of the Delphina Resorts in the NW on our only other visit to Sardinia two years ago on a similar budget. However the pasta dishes were varied and very enjoyable.
Although our daughter only went to the mini-club a couple of times the staff were great with her. English speaking. Very enthusiastic. They put on a show with all the children from mini-club every Thursday on the resort stage (great costumes) and it is a real highlight of the week.
All reception staff in my experience were extremely helpful and attentive. Anna on the excursion desk took a lot of trouble making sure guests received accurate details regarding bus timetables and information on the surrounding area/trips.
If like me you get a bit bored of the hotel pool/beach routine (however nice) after a couple of days, there are plenty of opportunities to breakout and enjoy the surrounding area. A small selection of bikes are supplied at the resort by probikeinresort.com. I rented an excellent mountain bike for 30 Euro a day but if the resort hasn't got what you want if you give probikeinresort enough notice they will get you whatever you want set up to your own specifications in terms of pedals, seat, road bikes. I would imagine this would cost a little bit more though.

If you are cycling the Costa del Sud, (road running along coastline west of Capo Spartivento) I would recommend a road bike as if you started early enough you would probably be able to get around to Sant' Antioco/Carloforte and be back for dinner if you were an experienced cyclist with good fitness levels.

I cycled the Costa del Sud on a mountain bike a couple of times which suited me as I was stopping off at various beaches/coves along the route for a swim. Stunning scenery, some decent climbs and great descents. The road was very quiet. Even in July. I found the Italian drivers extremely courteous. A lot different to back home. Beaches to check out are Tuerredda, Malfatano and Tramatzu. You will see a few other coves/scraps of beach from the road that are less accessible and these are worth getting down to. If you stop at less places en route you would have more time to get around to Porto Pino.

Another ride worth doing is up into the Is Cannoneris region home of Europes largest Holm-Oak forest. Within the forest, heights vary between 225m-979m above sea level at Mt Punta Serba. There are loads of secondary tracks ideal for mountain biking up here away from the principal road. Don't be put off by the blistering heat. The higher you climb the cooler it gets which is a bonus if you're near the top and running low on water! Saw several Golden Eagles hunting close by which was worth the effort of the brutal climb. Great to see them in their natural environment as I'd only ever seen them on a falconers glove before! Sardinian Deer and wild boar are reported to be up here too but didn't manage to glimpse any unfortunately. Descent took forever but was fantastic. Hitting the warm air halfway down took my breath away. Take care though. Road is treacherous.

If you want a less arduous cycle ride/walk take the mountain bike trail/footpath the other side of the Spanish tower and follow it to Pinus Beach just up the coast. To reach by bike turn left out of the resort onto the main road, head past the lagoon and take the first right after the supermarket. Go down that road past the Hotel Parco Torre and you'll pick up the trail at the beach entrance. If you want to do it on foot walk along the beach dunes to the other side of the tower and pick up the trail from the beach.

Best local beaches we found were Su Giudeu, Cipolla,del Morto and Su Cardolinu(last two not really suitable for small children). Best snorkelling was around Capo Spartivento and Capo Malfatano. Mountain bike trails around Spartinvento but very technical and only suitable for expert mountain bikers. I got off and pushed a fair bit when it looked too difficult
.
Towards the end of the holiday we hired a boat with an outboard motor from the resort rentals on Campana Beach.120 Euros for 4 hours + fuel (worked out about 40 Euros) which we thought was very good value. It was a great way of exploring the coastline and a lot easier than cycling it!!David(very helpful guy told us how to work the boat before launching us) recommended taking it around to Zafferano Beach which can only be accessed by boat. Absolutely stunning beach and bay. We also enjoyed the wind surfing and diving, the diving centre team are wonderful and we would recommend them. Lessons/teaching in the various watersports is available if required.

Another day we took the bus to Nora (3 Euro one way) to the archaeological site and tower. There is a shuttle bus from near where you get off in Pula to the site but we decided to walk rather than hang around (walk takes about 35 mins).Tour was very interesting and takes about 90 mins. We also signed up to do snorkelling and a tour of the turtle sanctuary at the lagoon at Nora (10am start for snorkelling and preferable to prebook).Two injured turtles while we were there in two separate tanks. Guide told us the one keeps getting caught in nets and coming back to them. They'd had him back 5 or 6 times!

In summary I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the South of Sardinia and this resort is a great base, with friendly, helpful staff and plenty of options of things to do including different choices of restaurants (although we kept to the Bouganville) and evening entertainment. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wato6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews