We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel by a stunning beach”
Review of Aquadulci Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquadulci Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel by a stunning beach”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just come back from a wedding whose reception was held in this hotel. We had booked a room with a sea view but when we had got there we found that we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite was lovely, big by European standards and we had a lovely view of the pool and the sea. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant closed at 9.15pm but we arrived at 9.30 and they accommodated us which was great. Food wasn't bad but the food at the wedding reception was really good. We had a really great time and only wished that we could have stayed a bit longer because it was stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 283Tanga283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    97
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
68
198
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent 10 days in the hotel Aquadulci in Chia in September 2012. The location is beautiful for everyone who prefers to be near the beach. We wanted to have a room as quiet as possible. Therefore we used the booking options on the website of the hotel and chose an upstairs suite in the opposite direction from the pool, which was marked as available during the booking process. At our arrival we were offered a suite at the ground floor and to the pool side. As we mentioned that we thought to have booked another category of rooms we were offered another suite on the ground floor, but no rooms on the upper level. Although our suite was near the pool (with a very nice little garden) we did not feel disturbed from noise from the pool. But the building itself was extremely noisy. The toilet and the sanitary installation in general on the upper floor was extremely loud and also every step from people above us. We had one especially terrible night, when the suite on the upper floor was rented to four girls, who did not stop to run around until midnight and started again at about half past four. We were informed that they would check out the next afternoon at five, so we assume that they had a trip to a local disco that night. We then tried to finally change rooms and spent two nights in a suite at the upper floor, where it was definitely a lot quieter. As the room was not exactly cheap, we consider the standard not adequate.
The gardens around the pool area are nicely kept. They offer a breakfast buffet which was perfectly ok. We tried the hotel restaurant twice at lunchtime, which was “nothing to write home about” and preferred then to eat in restaurants in Chia most of the time. There is no dining “a la carte” possible in the hotel, at least at that time of the year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carla66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days. After spending 3 horrible days in Kolbe Hotel, in Rome, we badly needed a quiet and relaxing hotel. And that's what we got! We took the suite, with a superb view on the beach and the swimming pool. The room was big, quiet and clean with nice furniture. The bed was spacious and comfortable. We had clean beach towels everyday. The swimming pool was really nice, quiet and clean. The beautiful beach was only 5 min walk from the hotel. The restaurant was delicious! The bar was perfect for little aperitif before dinner. The only negative feedback would be the car park. It was difficult to park and find a proper parking space.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples that are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Our experience over several years indicates that most hotels on Sardegna are of excellent quality and quite expensive compared to similar hotels in peninsular Italy, Spain, France and Greece. We knew that as a fact when we arrived in Chia, and it therefore surprised us that hotels in the general Chia area are up to twice as expensive as similar hotels in other parts af the island.
Staying one week at the Aquadulci Hotel was pleasant enough as we had a very nice room with seaview, but certainly not any better than we have had in the rest of Sardegna. The service was mostly very kind and helpful, similar to what we have experienced all over the island. Pool maintenance was not professional with debris, turbid water and slimy surfaces making just one swim more than enough.
The restaurant was a sad affair with uninspired dishes made from raw materials of mediocre quality, with so-called fresh fruit being the low point, and only desserts being a good surprise. The red house wine is barely drinkable at €18 per bottle, and other choices are very expensive. The female waiters were attentive and smiling, whereas their older male colleague still has a lot to learn about service.
So even if we left the natural beauty of Sardegna's south-west corner with a good general impression, we could not help feeling that we paid way too much for that privilege. For €260 per night B&B in a double room with sea view in October, we usually expect a good deal more than The Aquadulci Hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: The five "junior suites" (which are really just large rooms with a balcony and sea view) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmark46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Went for a few days for rest and relaxation with a friend. Hotel was quiet and peaceful. The pool area was lovely and we liked the comfy seating area with sofas and chairs outside the bar area.

The beach was beautiful, a short walk away. The only issue was that the hotel does not have loungers or umbrellas so if you want those you have to hire them for a very steep 20 Euros a day. We just used towels on the beach. You can snorkel out to the little rocky island just off shore, the bar there will lend out snorkel equipment for free.

We had a junior suite which was a reasonable size with a large terrace overlooking the pool.

We were happy with the staff, helpful and polite. The breakfast buffet was fine altho fresh coffee and tea would have been better than self service. The evening buffet was again fine but the a la carte options were good.

We went to Pula for the afternoon which was lovely, nice shops and a nice atmosphere around the main piazza.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was a decent size but not huge. The terrace tho was lovely, overlooking the pool area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willowgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Our experience of this 4-star hotel was first class. We had prebooked one nights stay here, but soon wanted to make it two, and managed to upgrage to a junior suite, overlooking the pool area, restaurant and then on to the sea. The hotel is less than 10 minutes easy walk to the beach across the boardwalk, the beaches lovely and sandy. We explored the quiet (at least in late september) coves northwards, snorkels in hand, and onwards to the lookout tower - watch out for treading on the odd dried thistle at the shoreline! The hotel seemed full even at this late stage of the season and is clearly a popular one for the right reasons. The staff on reception we found extremely helpful and friendly, the restaurant staff a bit less so. The breakfast was a well stocked continental buffet, with cappuccinos on order. We dined at the restaurant for one evening, EUR40 a head was a bit pricey for us but the food was lovely. Cleanliness of the room was faultless. This was the type of hotel you know you would like to return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danandhan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We arrived at the hotel last friday for a 5 day stay. We were forced to take a suite as we were travelling with our 5 year old daughter and baby so our total price per night was over EUR550. I found the staff very un kind and un friendly.

During our stay one woman fell and broke her arm as she slipped on the pathway. That same afternoon, i slipped very badly while walking down the external stairs. I was carrying my baby at the time. Fortunately i was fine but shockingly, the next day when i approached reception, i was told by the terribly rude and un pleasant woman that "next time i should be more careful when walking down the stairs". Her arrogance was beyond me particualalry as she could see i was coveredin cuts and bruises from the fall.

With regards to the hotel facilities, i would consider them to be less than acceptable for what we paid. Breakfast was absolutely disgusting. Filter coffee left in a jug, concentrated juices. When i asked for a freshly squeezed juice for the baby i was charged a ridiculous sum.

But the biggest let down of all has to be the total unfriendliness towards children. The restaurent opening hours were srtichtly from 1 to 2.30 pm. On our last day i approched the restaurant at exactly 2.25 and the manager of the restaurant told me to leave as the kitchen was closed (even though it wasnt yet 2.30). I explained that my one year old child was starving as he had been asleep till then and if they could just boil a simple plate of spaghetti. He refused which led me to get very upset. Some kind guests who saw this go on shared their bread basket with the baby.

As for my elder child, all she wanted on her entire holiday to ITALY was an ice cream. Every morning we were asked ot pre order our dinner. We ticked all the options we wanted which included chocolate ice cream for a 5 year old. every night it didnt arrive. The staff were un apologetic and simply told us each time to go to the bar the next day andpurchase a pre packeted one ourselves.

In short, this hotel is over priced, bad value, poor customer service and disgusting quality of food. Stay away!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chia
9.4 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spartivento
Hotel Spartivento
#5 of 7 in Chia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valtur Parco Torre Chia
5.1 mi away
Hotel Il Castello
Hotel Il Castello
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquadulci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquadulci Hotel

Property: Aquadulci Hotel
Address: Loc Capo Spartivento | Domus de Maria, 09010 Chia, Domus de Maria, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Domus de Maria > Chia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chia
#3 Family Hotel in Chia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquadulci Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Aquadulci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquadulci Hotel Chia, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing