We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We decided to visit CLR in Sardinia after the school holidays in UK. We were in the "Village" part of the large sprawling resort surrounded by lovely gardens of olive trees, hibiscus etc. Resort was a bit isolated from rest of island but we only wanted a quiet place to relax - so we were not too concern.
We were a bit astounded by the large number of children & parents at the resort; Italian children don't go back to school till mid Sept. Meal times were particularly noisy. We managed to locate a pool near our room, but were informed that it was reserved for hotel (5 star guests). The pool was not suitable for children and throughout our staff we saw only 6 bathers max (there were at least 14 deck loungers) at one time. We later managed to obtain "permission" from management to use this particular pool!
The beach was very busy and windy (which caused the sand to blow up in your face) so we use the pool most of the time.
The room was adequate but there were no tea/coffee making facilties - a common feature missing from almost all Italian hotels etc. - so bring a travel kettle if you want a cuppa in the morning.
We were on half board; there was a range of choices at the buffet dinners - with seafood the main fare - which we enjoyed throughly. Staff throughout the resort were quiet friendly.
We were not pleased when we had to pay a local tax, when we checked out. This was never mentioned by the tour guide or the travel company.
The resort is best suitable for parents with children & not for people who want a quiet environment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe8168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    194
    62
    42
    27
See reviews for
306
117
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

the room we stayed in was very clean although the shower seemed to have a mind of it;s own when it came to hot water. The resort had a little train to the local beach which was a great novelty and stopped at the beach restaurant. The beach was fantastic well looked after. The restaurants did serve a lot of different fish dishes and there was a large selection in the buffet restaurant.The Island itself was very beautiful and we did visit some caves and roman ruins as well as taking a schooner around the south of the Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1980mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I'll try and keep it brief. We stayed there for two weeks in a villa, but with use of all the hotel facilities. We have three children ages 7,4,& 3 so entertainment for them was vital. The main square of the evening provided a mini disco followed by a musical production and dancing, which the kids loved. The kids club staff were amazing and a special mention must go to Camilla, Flavio, Tatiana, Greta, Bibi, Oxana and Christian. The food was pretty good and they even had a sushimand cocktal bar which we loved. We will definitely return next year, as the kids were so happy there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120Justin120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Beautifull surroundings, excellent dinners, perfect beach with good services and good apartments with perfect airco.
More interest should be given to environmental energy (sun, wind) ,combating insects (wasp and mosquito) and control over the shuttle service.

Room Tip: Room not too far from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uva174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews for places I didn't stay, but if the 'service' we got in our efforts to stay in this resort is any reflection of what you get when staying here, I would say, avoid it.
We called the reservation line to ask if they had a room anywhere in the resort available for the following night. We called 3 times, no answer (this was at 11 in the morning). Finally I got through to someone, who said she didn't know if they had rooms, but would check and call me back. 2 hours later, after no phone call, I called again. Yes, they had rooms in the Village and Baia.
When we arrived, we went first to Bahia to see the room. You have to park at the bottom of a very steep hill and a shuttle takes you up to the room. Given that they wanted to charge just over 300Euros a night, I expected something nice, not what looked like huts in a scout camp, with scrubby patches of mud and plastic chairs outside, very basic furniture inside, and not even a view on the sea. As we were going back down the hill, the (very nice) driver tried to tell us how close we were to the sea - yes, but down a very steep hill, and the people coming back up didn't look like they were enjoying their hike at all.
We then went to the Village. The receptionist spent about 10 minutes to print out the rates from their website. Then when I asked if I could see a room with a balcony, she didn't know if any were available or clean (this was at 5 pm.). Then she said someone might come to show us a room. 15 minutes later we decided to leave as no one had come to show us the room, and they still didn't seem to know what would really be available.
All in all, not what I would expect from a place charging those kinds of prices.
We ended up staying in Aquadulci, just down the road, which was much smaller, more personal service, and for the same price as the Baia, a stylish, elegant room with a sea view.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank FreidaBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was in Chia for 1 month and I was living in villa. I liked this place because of local food, activities which you can do in hotel, beach and sea.
Staff was great, but most of them weren't speaking English.
It's great that they got staff from different countries to help people with low level of English.
Special thanks for Lina ( Lithuania/Литва)
and Julia (Russo/Russia/Россия)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan_Polovinkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Resort and all services (beach, facilities...) are great; staff is very kind. However, too many rooms and too many people in the beach. Considering the price paid it should be more exclusive in terms of number of people and quality of the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergio t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chia
0.2 mi away
Chia Laguna - Hotel Laguna
0.8 mi away
Aquadulci Hotel
Aquadulci Hotel
#2 of 7 in Chia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valtur Parco Torre Chia
38.1 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Spartivento
Hotel Spartivento
#5 of 7 in Chia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia

Property: Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia
Address: Loc. Chia, 09010 Chia, Domus de Maria, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Domus de Maria > Chia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baia Chia stands out proudly amongst the landscape, complementing the golden dunes and the clear waters of the sea in Sardinia. The dominating old Tower of Chia watches over each of our 80 splendid rooms, embedded in the promontory, from a distance. Indulge in this paradise of relaxation and tranquillity when you stay at Hotel Baia, and discover an exciting holiday where anything is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Baia Chia
Chia Laguna - Hotel Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing