We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Domu'e Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domu'e Luna
Ranked #1 of 5 Lunamatrona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We came upon this B&B by chance as we were driving through Sardinia. It was recommended by a local when we asked for a nearby place to stay. It was clean, comfortable, the room we stayed in had character and well-priced, and the staff spoke English and was very friendly. There was free wi-fi and a great breakfast. There was no pressure to check out early. We had planned to eat dinner in Siddi, but the owners also run a pizzeria, and if we did not have dinner plans made beforehand, we would have eaten here. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

very nice B&B, very friendly hostess, nice room, excellent breakfast (!) and a excellent pizzeria by the same owners (best pizze we ate during our trip!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seppe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Run by a hard-working young couple who live on-site and are making a great effort to offer well-above average rooms and breakfast at this B&B. (Also just opened a pizza shop so a meal in the evening is easy.) Ester laid out a terrific breakfast each morning with more than enough options to please any palate from vegetarian to carnivore with fresh bread, croissants, cheese, prosciutto, yogurt, eggs, cereal, biscuits (cookies), coffee/tea/juice. Our room was clean, large and comfortable with new, modern bath facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjm752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Rocked up at 8pm at night, found it by chance while driving through Sardinia

If we had known how good this place was w would have planned our trip around staying here.

Free internet, free parking, great breakfast (the best we have had on our trip) deadly quiet, clean rooms, very friendly staff. We did stay in October but the whole thing cost 60euro quiet simply excellent.

About 10 mins drive from Su Nuraxi, prefect stop over for a a few nights to explore the local area

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rynin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed only one night at Domu'e Luna. If we had known about their breakfast before, we would have stayed more nights: it's just perfect.

Domu'e Luna is just 100 metres outside the village and therefore somewhat difficult to find. The room was large enough for us and our two kids. The hotel is a great starting point for exploring Sardinia, because it's an easy drive from the airport and very close to some of Sardinia's cultural highlights (Su Nuraxi in Barumini).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank active_family_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night on route from Cagliari to Alghero. It was a little difficult to locate even during the daytime but once we were there even though it was only 3 pm, we were warmy welcomed by Esther. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable. After a quick wash and change we took s stroll to the local ( and only ) bar/resturant for a refreshing small beer, it is across the road from the B&B. Breakfast the next morning was laid out and more than sufficient for our needs. It consisted of cereal, fruit, cheese, parma ham, toast, a huge selection of cakes and biscuits. We did not meet anyone else except for Esther who was very friendly and helpfull. Domu'e Luna is run as a business rather than a homely family B&B. If you are looking for clean, comfortable accomodation as a base to explore the area than you should definitly consider it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We arrived in mid August - hot and frazzled after a tough flight to Cagliari - and were given the warmest welcome by Ester. She made us comfortable straight away with a welcoming coffee. The house is large, authentic Sardinian, and clean. The breakfasts included fresh local fruit, cheeses, breads and meats and a hot pot of coffee or tea.

The jewel in the crown was the adjoining Pizzaria run by Ester and her partner - you could tell it was popular by the steady stream of locals turning up for delicous pizza each evening.
Lunamatrona is a little off the beaten track but we found that it handy striking distance to Oristano and its beaches, Costa Verde and some of the small local towns. You get a sense of the real Sardinia here though - the people are friendly and welcoming but (apart from Ester) speak very little English!

We went to an outdoor fashion show in Vilamar one night and were reall taken by the great sense of family and community pride - really Italian.

We could not praise Domu'e Luna highly enough - you will not be disappointed if you go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazsummerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Domu'e Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domu'e Luna

Address: Via Gioberti 4, 09022 Lunamatrona, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Medio Campidano > Lunamatrona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lunamatrona
Price Range: £54 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Domu'e Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domu e Luna is a lovely and comfortable B&B, that is set in the hilly village of Lunamatrona. It offers bright, spacious and nice rooms, all with private bathroom, air-conditioning, heating and free Wi-Fi. Domu e Luna is quiet and central located in order to discover Parco del Monte Linas and its beautiful scenery and landscape and the most important archeological sites of Sardinia, such as “Su Nuraxi” (Unesco Heritage), the Giara di Gesturi plateau and the Archaeological Museum of Sardara. Domu e Luna features a small garden, a relaxing lounge area and a cool Pizzeria, where in a casual atmosphere you can enjoy its tasty pizza, made only with original Sardinian ingredients. The abundant continental buffet breakfast offers every morning local and unique food and includes fresh fruit grown on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Domu'e Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing