We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEK HOLIDAY ON SARDINIA”
Review of Hotel Abi d'Oru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Rotondo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

First visit to Sardinia. Chose Hotel Abi d'Oru because of proximity to Olbia Airport (25 min drive )
and location on Costa Smeralda.
Turned out to be a great choice. Hotel is a super location on a beautiful beach and surrounded with with well kept gardens. Large swimming pool with lots of brand new furniture although not heated. The beach also had plenty of brand new sun beds kept clean although lacked food and drink service out of season.
Very impressed with the Hotel management. Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Agustino helped us sort out restaurants,excursions etc. The rest of the staff always with a " bonjourno " or a" bona sera "
Behind the bar Luca and Fabio helped us with places of interest to visit,local history, Language as well as served the drinks. Housekeeping was immaculate throughout and as good as anywhere we have experienced across the world and better than most.
Porto Rotondo ( 10 min by car ) is absolutely lovely.The walk ways around the Marina are well layed out and there are tasteful bars and restaurants interspersed.Plenty of restauarants in the town.We found that a restaurant called " TARTARUGHINO" in the centre of town,great quality food,fresh fish ( turbot) and shellfish plus superb steaks and chateaubriand, was the best. Expertly run by Riccardo who always makes you feel very welcome with a great team of very friendly staff.
Traditional Sadinian food was found at " Locanda Rudalza " What a feast! Fixed menu of around six starters,three pastas,suckling pig and home made wine all for an inclusive price of 30 euro when we visited in last week of April
One thing I did learn about Porto Rotondo. Be careful when choosing your holiday dates.Too early or late in the year lots of places and facilities are closed.
High Season everywhere is very busy.Beaches are packed,roads are busy etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSMITH504164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just came back after spending a week in this hotel.

To keep it short, here is a bit of a summary:

Plus:
Nice setting, wonderful garden, access to the beach (a pretty long one) with the hotels own sun loungers, which is indeed a nice thing. Shower + Toilette also right there at the beach. Pool looked great too, not that we ever used it. Lots of TV channels in the room if you are bored, room is also quite spacious (even if it seems a bit cold for my liking).

Minus:
Service, service, service. Starting with the fact that it is very difficult to find the hotel. The sign on the road is practically covered by leaves, you can only see it, if you are practically standing before it. So if you drive by, you gotta slow down really to not to miss it...
Reception barely provided any info at check-in. Which wouldn't have been a problem, but there is no information at all in the rooms either. For a proper 5* hotel I would expect some guides in the rooms - recommendations what to do, visit, eat out, shops etc... There was not even information about the usage of tennis court, let alone the gym! Which was not even signposted within the hotel. It seemed as if they really wanted to hide it from the guests. If you don't ask about it, you will not even know there is one...
We somehow got over that. But then: WiFi never worked, it looks like they set-up there a system which is just not operational... Slow service at the restaurant at breakfast. Around 10 o'clock they always seemed to be overwhelmed (not sure why, after all this was not even high season...?) - no tables set and waiting to be discovered by waiters so that we could finally order drinks. We were not the only ones complaining about this during this week. I have been to bigger hotels where they managed to do it. It just seemed that the work was not organized well... Also some finger pointing was going on. You asked a waiter something, and he asked somebody else, as it was not his table... This was just a goddamn breakfast?? really strange attitude. When we complained at the 3rd instance when we had again no set table (no fork/knife to start our breakfast with), my husband heard them talking bad about us behind our backs. This should be an absolute no-go in the service industry in my point!!
Pillows, sheets could have been also improved / changed in the room.
So to summarize it all, this is not a 5* hotel, more like 4*. But I guess this is normal in Italy, 5* there is not the same as a 5* in other EU countries. Service-wise I would rate it even worse.
For 1 visit it was worth it, but we will not be returning to this hotel, and probably not to Sardinia either for a while. Undeniable beautiful beaches it has, but it is still over-priced and service quality just makes the price-value even worse.
Just another note: Before booking we have looked at other hotels, but the ones which seemed more like a real 5* were just ridiculously expensive. So I guess this is just normal for Sardinia... It is a pity, as if the high price would mean at least better - good - service, we would even think of returning...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MataHari_OnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just returned from a week with my wife at the Hotel Abi D'Oru. It is a very pretty hotel with splendid views, a nice garden, a beautiful pool and a great beach. The service was in general excellent, though the bar service on the beach was slow. The food was good, but not inspired Mediterranean fare. The open air fitness center has minimal equipment, though was never crowed. Wireless internet was only 1 euro for the entire week.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the music from a beach disco some distance away is surprisingly loud on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It is a wonderfull hotel in the one of the best places of italy. On the seaside, very cosy, charming and quiet, excellent for the family or for the romantic holiday.

Room Tip: suite or junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the hotel was fine but agree with others not quite 5 star. The resort beach is one of the nicest on the emerald coast, water so clear and clean! The dinner sitting at the restaurant can be a little confusing, just one set menu at 50 euros & wine is expensive at about 40-50.... Much better off to drive down the road, plenty of other better restaurants!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Abi Doru claims to be a 5 star hotel. It seems like but, in a 5 star hotel, if they are facing a problem, they should be able to provide viable options…..

I was there with my family 2 days in July. Very hot summer in Italy. At check in they “forgot”…. To tell us that AC was not working for technical problems….. When I called for an explanation and possible options such as to be transferred to another hotel, they advise me that I could use a portable fan!

I spent the night moving my bed next to the open window and attacked by mosquitoes. The day after, I made a long but polite complain and they gave me a portable AC…. Very noisy….

When I checked out not even an apologies.

In conclusion, if everything works fine is a nice place but, if they have a problem expect a one star service

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Morigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I stayed at the hotel Abi D'oru with my family in the summer and would definately go again. We loved the location and the fact that we could walk out from the hotel onto the tended lawns and then onto the beach with the famed Sardinian blue clear waters. The hotel has a lovely pool for adults and also suitable area for younger children but we prefer the sea. There are 3 restaurants, the beach restaurant which was perfect for the family to eat what ever they wanted from the extensive buffet and looks out over onto a part of their beach where we could watch the children who wanted to continue to swim etc., there was also the swimming pool restaurant which we ate at once only preferring to be by the sea and then my wife and I had two evening meals in the main restaurant without the kids. We found the food very good on all occasions and the service was thoughtful and swift from very helpful friendly staff. We went in July and it was hot hot - which I expected but the hotel has aircon. My wife would have liked more shops to go to around the immediate area but we did manage to get up to Porto Cervo only about 15 min drive, where there are quite a few very expensive ones. We hired a car which is easier than a cab when you have children. The hotel itself is 4+ * with large rooms, ours had a lovely balcony, good bathrooms and great views, something that is very important for me when travelling. My wife said that the walk leading you to get outside to the gardens and then the beach can be a bit confusing at first, she would have liked a few more signs but we soon got used to the layout of the hotel which is like a crescent facing the sea.
This is not a hotel if you want a noisy night life although the cocktail bar is fun on the terrace with great views! Try the Abi Fizz cocktail which is their own take on the Bellini.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Exec53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Rotondo
3.3 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Stefania Boutique Hotel by the Beach
123.1 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
143.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
130.3 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,508 reviews
7.4 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abi d'Oru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abi d'Oru

Address: Localita Golfo di Marinella SNC, 07026 Porto Rotondo, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Porto Rotondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Porto Rotondo
Price Range: £139 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Abi d'Oru 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abi d’Oru takes its name from the Sardinian ancient dialect, Abi d’Oru meaning golden bee. This beautiful hotel overlooks the private beach for hotel guests, with fine white sand, at the end of the Golfo di Marinella, just 4 kilometers away from Porto Rotondo, close to the Costa Smeralda. It is the first hotel opened in this area, back in 1963. Almost every room, including suites and junior suites, faces the sea. The beach is just a five minute walk through a Mediterranean garden with a natural pond and a swimming pool with relaxation area and Jacuzzi. There are three bars and four restaurants, two of which are by the sea, with local specialties, international cuisine and an excellent patisserie. The hotel staff is multilingual, to welcome guests from every country in the world. Young guests, from four to ten years, will enjoy the mini club six days a week in a dedicated hotel area. Free WiFi is available in the rooms, common areas and by the swimming pool. Among the many available activities: sports, ancient sailboat rental, golf at the Pevero Golf Club, excursions to Porto Rotondo, Porto Cervo and to the most important archeological areas of the island, wine and food tastings. The new Spa (opening May 2017) features a Finnish sauna, ice cascade, Turkish bath and whirlpool. The hotel is 12 km from Olbia, 15 minutes from the airport. Small-sized pets that do not exceed 7 kg in weight are admitted. Pets might pass through but not stay in common areas and are not allowed in restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abi d'Oru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abi d Oru Hotel
Hotel Abi D'Oru Sardinia/Porto Rotondo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing