We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good, but not worth the money in height of season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, but not worth the money in height of season”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went to Sardinia for a week with my girlfriend end of April, we booked this as a spa type relax part of the week, so we booked 3 nights and paid about 150 per night or something, and planned to do other stuff for the other 4 nights.

The place is located a 5 min drive from San Pantaleo, up a half tarmac, half dirt track road, no probs with that, but probably a wee bit far to walk it, so you need a car (we are young and fit) The hotel has stunning views, a nice pool, and it's a pretty cool place. Its a bit weird though, we are very down to earth and rarely moan about anything, but I felt compelled to write this as it's very, very expensive in height of season, like 500 or 600 a night or something crazy.

The hotel is nice enough, we had dinner first night to try it, had 2 courses and 1 bottle of wine = 100 euros. Won't be doing that again, was good but not worth that. Breakfast is a decent buffet, but silly little things, like me having to go find/ask a waiter for coffee, every morning, got annoying. Not complaining, but its supposed to be 5 star, and you shouldn't need to go find a waiter every morning to ask for coffee. It also lacks atmosphere, the restaurant is too quiet, and pretentious, it does have amazing views though.

It's got a small spa, but you need to reserve it, as it's private and they rent it to public in afternoons, so you reserve 2 hours in the morning (free) but you would have to pay if you wanted it in the afternoon. The spa is private to you and has a lock..... tick that list ha!

Tips - we went to supermarket and stocked up on superb wine, Barolo etc.. and beers which is soo cheap it's brilliant. I'm a Peroni man and was looking forward to drinking that but my GF persuaded me to try the Local beer, it's called Ichnusa, and it's beautiful, fresh, light and crisp beer, totally converted to that. We also stocked up on other stuff like cheeses, meats, breads, olive oil etc.. The buffalo mozzarella here is totally different to what you normally get outside Italy, and so are tomatoes and salamis. We just piled it all in the fridge in the room (minibar fridge) and every morning we would empty it so the cleaners never noticed, this way, we eat and drank like kings in a posh place saving an absolute fortune.

It is a good place for couples, but 2 nights would be enough in my opinion, and there is no way on earth I would pay 500 or 600 a night, absolutely no way, 150 euros a night in April/May ok, but no more than that. Also, it has a 'gym' - which in reality is about 4 old/tired cardio machines and a few old free weights, just saying.

On this note, down in San Pantaleo, which is quiet, but small and charming, there is a restaurant simply called the Pizzeria. OMG - The best Italian food we have every, ever tasted - Basic, but totally fresh dishes like mozzarella/basil/ prawn cocktails etc..makes soo much difference when fresh/quality produce. The Pizzas and Pasta is simply amazing, the Pizza oven is wood fired and the pizzas rotate in and out of it. It's full of locals, families, kids etc.. and there is 2 waiting staff, running around like mad, sweating their nuts off, could not be more efficient or helpful. This is proper Italy, this is why we came, the best espresso = 1 euro - The wine is really, really good, the most expensive bottle on the list was about 11 euros or something, and it was fantastic. We had 2 courses each, coffees, 2 small beers and a bottle of wine = 50 euros in total or something, twice as cheap as the hotel for twice as much, totally buzzing, atmospheric place, full of noise and charm, loved it and went again the next night.

Sardinia is incredible, you need a car as it's not like they really have 'resorts' as much, its a bit more spread out, and you sort of get used to this after a few day's. It's pretty 'Italian' obviously, but if you are looking for a real experience of culture, no egg and chips or Sun newspapers, very good quality food and wine, then go, but this hotel, although nice, is way, way, way over priced!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    70
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
179
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. First the good: the staff was super friendly, contrary to the reviews, especially Claudia, Michaela & Soon. The location and setting were magnificent. I had the best massage I've ever had in my life by Omar (and I've had massages all over the world).

The less good: do NOT get Room 505. It's in the main hotel, near the pool, but noisy as it backs out onto the back of the kitchen. No view. The shower takes 10 minutes to get warm, leaks then takes 10 minutes to drip off. To their credit, the staff did offer to put us in a junior suite with sea view for our last night, but we were too lazy to pack up our stuff.

Also, we ate there the first night and the food is ok but way over-priced compared to what you can eat in San Pantaleo. Breakfast is amazing, though.

We had left our 3 boys at home and I'm glad we did as it was more of a couples place. I'd love to come back with the kids, but then I'd choose a more low-key place in the village of San Pantaleo.

We had no problems with the road, but we travelled by ferry with our giant SUV.

Overall, a fabulous stay, even if we were glad to not have taken full board.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sg_pixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Sardinia is a bit tricky for hotels, they tend to be either very (and I mean VERY) expensive or fairly ordinary. We were recommended Petra Segreta, and it was a lovely place in a stunning location up in the hills. If you travel with kids who want to go to the beach every day the drive can get a bit dull but if you want peace and quiet time it is perfect. Probably more for couples than families even though they were very friendly to our kids. Breakfast is good, but we found the restaurant a bit pretentious and expensive and opted most nights to go down to the charming village San Pantaleo for pizza etc. Excellent food and great value with the bonus of mingling with the locals. The rooms are quite small but the views and location make up for it.
Overall a good experience but it just seemed to lack that little extra that you might expect at a 'boutique design' hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank April1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Luxurious hotel set on hill top overlooking sea (in the distance) in own grounds. Good restaurant. When we visited an unseasonal cool wind prevented full use of pool (though it looked lovely). The rooms all have terraces but are generally north facing. This might represent welcome shade in the heat but at cooler times are quite dark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandPDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at Petra Segreta for our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint. Having read recent reviews before we set off we were slightly nervous about a number of points, the treacherous car ride to the resort, the supposedly rude staff etc, but we have to say that our experience was excellent.

We visited the resort right at the end of the season (the hotel shut down for winter the weekend we checked out) so were practically the only guests bar one other family and a number of couples. Despite this, the service was excellent, we had full use of all the facilities and the restaurant offered a full and exquisite menu including a different tasting menu every night! As the resort was quiet, we were given a free upgrade to the junior suite which had its own private plunge pool and a sea view - beautiful.

The setting and ambience of the resort is breathtaking. Being nestled up in the hills the views over the harbour are beautiful. The car journey from Olbia airport was interesting, we got lost coming through Olbia, but once we were on track it was absolutely fine, even the dirt track on the run up to the resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just returned this morning from a stay in this hotel. We spent there a week with our two daughters (15 and 13) and had a Suite (rooms 202 and 203) with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a private terrace with a perfect view and a private plunge pool. All very nice, beds, furniture, space, perfect housekeeping.

We arrived early in the morning, around 9.00, and, after having breakfast (good for an italian hotel, but after a week we would have been happy with some variations) we could get into the room.

We slept perfectly during the nights, no complaints at all. It was extremely quiet.

We had dinner in the restaurant on three evening, the food is OK, quite expensive but acceptable for a Relais & Chateaux Hotel.

The general pool area is nice, the pool should be big enough for all guests of the hotel (we used more our private pool) and the water has a very good temperature, it is heated (as the water of the private pool, which, be the way, had by far too much free chlorine).

We didn't use the Spa, but it looked nice! The garden, more the park is perfectly kept and the surrounding with all the very specially shaped rocks is unique!

There were mainly couples in the hotel but also several families with children of "all" ages. As written before, it is more a place for families with older children as the quietness is part of the concept.

So: why only 3 points in total out of 5? Because I was never that disappointed and in the end even sad about the lack of lack of cordiality in a family run luxury hotel of this class. The owners, a couple of middle age, were present all the time. But they didn't even look at you! I am sure that they take care of the hotel in a sufficient way but it feels so strange to cross the owners of the hotel and they look the other way! Not once. All the time! If they don't like their guests or even people at all they should have chosen a different profession. It was honestly the first time in my life that I have seen this in such an extreme way. Especially in Italy. I have to include the male receptionist in this criticism. My daughters were always laughing about the way he answered on questions or requests: Mhm..mhm. I want to exclude absolutely the personnel of the restaurant and the room maids. They are kind and did a very good job.

In the end we didn't regret to have chosen this hotel. It was worth the money and the good weather (in the end of october every day between 25 and 30°C) helped us to laugh about the insufficiencies. But it could be so easy to make this hotel a perfect place! We probably wouldn't go there again, but especially at the end of october it is a hotel to consider!

Room Tip: The Suites with private pool are worth the money if you can afford. We had 202 and 203 and were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kslawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

As with some other reviews on this hotel we did not have a 5* experience and although the hotel location and ambience is very nice, overall it did not live up to expectations. We also did not have the usual arrival welcome....

We visited at the end of September and had booked the holiday some months in advance. We had also had an email from the hotel 3 days before arrival confirming our dates and asking if we required dinner - all very nice. However, when we arrived we were told by the receptionist they had our booking for the following day and even worse they were full and there were no rooms at all! The receptionist booked us another hotel in San Panteleo for the one night but given we had reserved a Junior Suite this was a Standard room and by no means comparable to the accomodation we had booked and paid for. The male receptionist then proceeded to give us instructions to find the hotel and did not seem to appreciate that driving back into the village and trying to find somewhere else was a huge inconvenience and that they should perhaps have taken us and our cases. After asking for help someone was found for us to follow to the alternate hotel in our car and we were told the room at Petra Segreta would be available at 11 the following morning. On arriving back the following morning the male receptionist did not ask how our evening had been or inform us on what was happening with the room, we were told to wait and offered coffee. After 15 mins I enquired and was told the room was still occupied and we would have to wait at least another hour, at this point the manager did appear and apologise profusely. We were offered a free dinner and 60 mins massage and told to think of anything else he could do, we later asked for transport to another restaurant one evening and they did provide a very good car service.

Therefore we were compensated in kind but agree with other reviews that in general this hotel lacks the little extras you would normally get with a 5* resort. One of the lights in the bathroom didn't work - we didn't report this as we heard another couple reporting a similar fault in another room for the second time and did not want to spend the whole holiday complaining.

The spa massage was excellent along with the South African head waiter who did look after us. Other breakfast waiters did not return with the odd item requested more than a couple of times. The rooms are nice but no milk for coffee/tea, very limited TV channels (no movies), no full length mirror and limited toiletries (no shower cap, make up pads etc which you would normally get in 4* Plus). This may sound petty but this hotel does charge 5* prices so you would expect some of these things as standard.

The food was very nice and the tasting menu was good value but lunch is over-priced for what it is. Some who may not want to eat in the restaurant every evening will have to tackle the single road to the village so a car is essential.

In summary this feels like a 4* hotel which is in a fantastic peaceful location, great for couples. However, we would naturally not go back nor recommend it based on value/service and the unacceptable booking error.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QualityHolSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
4.5 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
Hotel Cala Cuncheddi
#8 of 40 in Olbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
Relais Villa del Golfo & Spa
#3 of 12 in Cannigione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
52.8 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Strada Buddeu, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais & Chateaux Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa - 23 rooms, 4-star Superior - is a Boutique Hotel located on the hills above San Pantaleo Village and facing the amazing La Maddalena Archipelago. Petra Segreta lies just behind the Costa Smeralda coastline, a world-renowned destination with its wonderful beaches and enchanting landscapes. In this Luxury Resort in Sardinia unspoiled nature and a unique view over the La Maddalena Archipelago create a perfect mix. A peaceful oasis just minutes away from the sparkling lifestyle of fashionable Porto Cervo and Porto Rotondo Villages. The rooms at Petra Segreta recall the ancient architecture of the traditional local small houses, perfectly blending into the natural landscape. A traditional Balinese hut hosts Wellness Treatments and Massages, in a charming and unique atmosphere. Petra Segreta is a preferred location for Italian Gourmet Cuisine created by Executive Chef Luigi Bergeretto, with its Restaurant featuring an amazing panoramic view from the nearby coastline to Corsica Island. Seasonal Opening: April to November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Segreta Resort And Spa
Petra Segreta Hotel San Pantaleo
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa Sardinia/San Pantaleo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing