We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel - we will return one day..”
Review of Hotel Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely little hotel - we will return one day..”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 1 week mid-July and we had a great time. Mario and his wife are the loveliest couple, so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff were great. The room was comfortable, nice breakfast served on a charming little terrace, free car parking is also provided. We were given an umbrella and beach towels each day. We ate in the hotel most evenings and the food was fantastic, lots of fish and traditional Sardinian dishes, we thoroughly enjoyed everything we had and also enjoyed the local wine. Sardinian beer is also good.

San Pantaleo itself is a tiny village, nothing much there but we liked it. There is a great little bar in the square called Nina’s Bar where we sat most evenings before dinner.

The surrounding area is stunning, beautiful beaches. Capriccioli is close by, a short drive and absolutely stunning but very busy at the time of year we visited. Baia Sardinia is lovely, a little more space although slightly more commercial, Rena Bianca on the north coast (Santa Teressa) is a large beach, lovely water and the sand is soft and clean.

Overall we really enjoyed our trip to Sardinia and will definitely return one day but would be tempted to visit earlier or later in the summer before the crowds arrive (July on the beaches was very very busy.)

We stayed for 1 week mid-July and we had a great time. Mario and his wife are the loveliest couple, so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. All of the staff were great. The room was comfortable, nice breakfast served on a charming little terrace, free car parking is also provided. We were given an umbrella and beach towels each day. We ate in the hotel most evenings and the food was fantastic, lots of fish and traditional Sardinian dishes, we thoroughly enjoyed everything we had and also enjoyed the local wine. Sardinian beer is also good.

San Pantaleo itself is a tiny village, nothing much there but we liked it. There is a great little bar in the square called Nina’s Bar where we sat most evenings before dinner.

The surrounding area is stunning, beautiful beaches. Capriccioli is close by, a short drive and absolutely stunning but very busy at the time of year we visited. Baia Sardinia is lovely, a little more space although slightly more commercial, Rena Bianca on the north coast (Santa Teressa) is a large beach, lovely water and the sand is soft and clean.

Overall we really enjoyed our trip to Sardinia and will definitely return one day but would be tempted to visit earlier or later in the summer before the crowds arrive (July on the beaches was very very busy.)

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollylollypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    20
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were delighted with our choice of the Hotel Sant'Andrea in the picturesque mountain village of San Pantaleo. The manager and his wife are quite lovely and they run this little three-star hotel with great efficiency. There is a picturesque patio area with mountain views, pool and paddling pool, which is surrounded by bougainvillea and overlooked by an al fresco dining area. A buffet breakfast is taken on the patio and is well-prepared. But the restaurant is sensational! Local produce is presented with great aplomb and complemented by fine, inexpensive local wines. The front-of-house staff are just as delightful as the management.
The air-conditioned accommodation is basic, with hardish beds, but perfectly fine. The bathrooms are modern without being state-of-the-art.
I know this sounds like a promotional piece, but, I can assure you, it isn't! This place really is that good! Thoroughly recommended by this seasoned traveller!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this gorgeous little Village in the first week of July. We had holidayed in the south of Sardinia previously but friends had recommended we try San Pantaleo, as they had been going there since childhood and had married a few years before in the stunning little church, in the centre of the village. We were so thrilled that when we arrived everything totally surpassed our expectations. The village itself is tiny and quaint but perfectly formed, full of little nooks and corners to investigate and enjoy. The hotel is steps away from the Gellateria and the little mini supermarket, cafes and shops. But it is serenely quiet and peaceful place, an oasis of calm from the Costa Smerelda just 10 minutes drive away. The drive from the airport is easy and not too far, around 30-40 minutes. When you arrive at Olbia airport, if you are hiring a car, as we did, you go out of the main terminal, turn right and walk a hundred metres and there is a little building that houses all the car hire companies. make sure you have a one euro coin for the trolly if you have lots of bags to carry. you can park easily next to the hotel. We were staying in room 6, which is on the ground floor. it's small but clean and pretty, the air con is fine and we were perfectly satisfied with it. if you fancy a bit more space, then there is a family room, with a double and a twin connected next to the pool, although this is obviously more expensive. Be aware that there is no information at all in the rooms. For example, the mini bar is stocked daily but there is no price list and if you take something it will be replaced and charged at the end of your stay, without you knowing how much you will be charged. Ask about the price of the waters, Cokes, etc before you take them.
The pool area is lovely and serene and usually quiet, when we were there. The staff will provide you with towels not just for the pool area but if you are off to one of the many lovely beaches in the area. they will also provide you with an Umbrella. We loved the beaches around Canigionne, it's also a rather sweet little port, where you can pick up a boat trip or have a quiet lunch. We actually hired a lovely boat for the whole day with some friends and toured the islands. This was a major highlight of our trip and I cannot recommend it enough. We hired a 12 person boat, although there was only 7 of us, plus a ten month old baby, who loved it as much as we did! The boat was called the Quattrogioie [the four jewels] and is crewed by a local mother and son and they couldn't have given us a more wonderful day. The waters off the islands are beyond your dreams, such is the colour and clarity. We swam and snorkelled and just cruised around and marvelled in the utter beauty of it all. Lunch and drinks were included.
Places we enjoyed eating included Nico's pizzeria, just down to the left of the hotel Sant'Andrea. If you have a car then you must go to Vecchia costa restaurant. Its a large indoor/outdoor restaurant, massively popular with locals, so get there early. Really good value and the best Tiramisu I have EVER tasted. There is a wonderful Agriturismo called Sasima, just outside the village. We had a delicious and authentic meal there, with friends. They all ate meat but I, as a vegetarian was incredibly well catered for too, and I thank them for making such an effort for me when most people go there to sample the pork and lamb.
The village square is incredibly pretty and a fine place to take a coffee in the morning. The breakfast at the hotel is perfectly adequate but its also nice to have a croissant overlooking the beautiful village church, too.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, although we did take a drink there with our friends one night, as they had decided to eat there. There was a peculiar mix up with the orders and the portions of the food [which did look delicious] were so enormous that we a were too scared to eat there subsequently, although I wouldn't want to discourage you.
It is such a beautiful, gentle place, we can't wait to return someday.
A special word for the Thursday market, which is fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hadley-Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights on an amazing b&b deal and had a great time. Mario and his team are friendly and helpful. bringing us drinks round the pool when we arrived, tips on places to visit, lending an umbrella for the beach....
Whilst our room and bathroom were very small it was all spotless with nice touches of a posy of flowers and cookies on arrival.
The highlight was the restaurant where we had the most amazing food and we ate there 2 out of 3 nights ....Lots of seafood dishes which we love plus unusual types of pasta, rabbit, pork etc ... Everything had so much flavour... Plus some very well priced and delicious sardinian wines....
We enjoyed staying a little bit away from the coast and the village had a nice character. A great start to our trip ... We will return to sardinia.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
583 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a 7 night stay in late May / early June with Mario, Simona and their colleagues, we were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed their excellent hospitality. Service is always efficient but still friendly, relaxed and very helpful. Our ground floor room (6) was nicely decorated, very comfortable with a big double bed and had quiet aircon, (which we only used a couple of times). Small continental hotels can be rather austere but the tasteful artwork and decor at Sant'Andrea gives it much more character than the norm.
Breakfast was available on the terrace from 8 to 11am, which was very civilised, this comprised a cold table of cereral, breads, cake, cold meats, cheese, juices and yoghurts plus coffee or teas. We had dinner in the restaurant 4 times and have reviewed that separately, I'll just say that everything we ate and drank was excellent although our waistlines did expand a little.
There are two small interconnected pools in the courtyard, a shallow one for paddling and a 1.5m deep kidney shaped main pool which is big enough for a proper swim. The deep pool was quite chilly when we arrived but seemed warmer by the last day, maybe I just got used to it. There is a variety of seating around the pool and we often had this area to ourselves. Blue towels for the pool are available at reception along with advice regarding places to see.
Parking is on a back area between the hotel and the building next door, opposite the post office. San Pantaleo has more to do than you might expect for such a small place, including a very extensive market of crafts, clothes and food on Thursday mornings until 2pm. It also has a gelateria, several bars, restaurants and other hotels so you can vary where you drink and eat within a very small area.
Olbia airport is less than 30 mins drive away and their are plenty of unspoilt Costa Smeralda beaches within 10-15 mins drive of San Pantaleo, as well as the complete contrast of the granite peaks, cork trees, vineyards and olive trees in the inland parts of North East Sardinia.
We are expecting to go back to Sant'Andrea later in the year and that's not something we've ever seriously considered before - please don't book the place out so that we can't get in!

Room Tip: Very few rooms have french doors or balconies so be sure to ask specifically for a room with either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel and town of San Pantaleo are located about 3 miles in land from the Costa Smeralda and 15 minutes drive from Olbia airport making it a great location for exploring the coast and the Gullara region. The hotel has great views over the nearby granite hills, particularly the rooms with a balcony. Mario and his family provide a very warm welcome where nothing is too much trouble, Mario even suggest a tour of the region on a day when the weather was not so great. The breakfast each day was substantial (even including a selection of cakes!) which, depending on the weather, was served on the terrace over looking the pool. I would definitely recommend the hotel, I'm sure we will be returning!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a young double for a balcony overlooking the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from 5 days of cosseting by Mario and his charming and helpful team and already planning to return with friends. Perfect location in charming village for touring through the fabulous scenery and islands with stunning beaches. Easy access to Corsica for a day.
We took a 1/2 board option and had delicious meals each night. Hotel very tastefully decorated & furnished with lots of comfortable areas to relax in plus pretty pool area. Always spotlessly clean. First visit for us to Sardinia & everyone (except the border guard on entry!) was incredibly friendly and helpful.
Exceptionally good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arathena
Hotel Arathena
#2 of 5 in San Pantaleo
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Pantaleo
Hotel San Pantaleo
#5 of 5 in San Pantaleo
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
461 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Li Graniti
Hotel Li Graniti
#5 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Andrea

Property: Hotel Sant'Andrea
Address: Via Zara 36, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Andrea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sant'Andrea Sardinia/San Pantaleo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing