We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in friendly hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Our stay here was for 6 nights in October. The hotel is beautifully presented with very friendly and helpful staff who made our stay so comfortable. The design of the hotel is excellent with most rooms overlooking a central courtyard with pool. We also had a patio area outside our room with chairs and a table, very pleasant with a view over the mountains. Excellent bathroom which was cleaned with fresh towels daily while we ate a buffet breakfast. The village of San Pantaleo is very pretty and the setting is beautiful, in the mountains but 10 minutes from the coast. We will definitely be back! Be aware that most restaurants close after September so the choice is limited. We found the Lanterne Restaurant in Olbia to serve great Sardinian specialities and was very reasonable. Nico's in San Pantaleo was good for pizza, very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinquecentofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    30
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Just back from Borgo Antico in San Panatelo. We took a chance on this hotel after searching every hotel in the mediterranean on tripadvisor for the best recommendatiions - this didn't disappoint. The staff are all fantastic, rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished and, by Italian standards, spacious and very clean. The hotel is located close to the centre of san pantaleo, i'd recommend going a bit earlier in the year as we went at the end of the season and it was clear many places were closed, and photographs don't do it justice. San Pantaelo itself is very expensive but we got a late deal on this hotel and thought it grea value. highly recommended and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The hotel was lovely & quaint & the town of San Pantaleo was charming but what truly made our stay here was the friendliness, attentiveness & warmth from Barbara & her staff, who would often go out of their way to accommodate us. Barbara in particular was extremely helpful & knowledgeable & always made us laugh! Honestly I cannot praise them enough! The rooms themselves were nicely decorated & reasonably sized. Luckily for us our room was away from the crazed & incessant barking dogs, which disturbed the sleep of some of the guests on the opposite side of the hotel! Breakfast is served daily from 8 to 10 AM & consists of cereal, bread, freshly baked croissants, fruit etc. San Pantaleo itself is a charming little town with some nice restaurants & shops selling local crafts...there is a local supermarket which is perfect if like us you are trying to explore Sardinia on a budget! Often we would buy freshly made up rolls filled with salami & cheese for lunch which only cost us about £1.50. The hotel provides a 10% discount at Nico’s local restaurant, which is reasonably priced considering the friendly staff & delicious food (the crab spaghetti, pizza & tiramisu come highly recommended)! For an inexpensive meal (if you are trying to recoup some money after the ridiculously expensive Porto Cervo!) try Ichnos! The Balbacana restaurant at Hotel Arathena is fancy but expensive...whatever you do do not order pomme frites! The local market selling crafts, jewellery, clothes, food, wine, cheese etc. is held every Thursday in the piazza & is definitely worth nosing around! Stay away from the wine bar in the piazza... the service was terrible & we ended up waiting 20 minutes before the waiter even acknowledged us! It is extremely overpriced...we were told that they had no menu so we just ordered a small glass of wine & a fruit cocktail which had no alcohol in it...they gave us a selection of local bread & cheeses which we did not ask for & charged us £25...we were not alone...one couple staying at our hotel were told that they were not serving any food however 5 minutes later the same waiter was seen bringing food out to the table next to them! They do not seem very welcoming to tourists so be warned! You will definitely need a car as you would quickly become bored if stuck in San Pantaleo for more than two days...as lovely as it is! San Pantaleo is however the perfect base for exploring Costa Smeralda as it is conveniently located close to places such as Porto Cervo (15 mins), Baia Sardinia (15 mins), Arzachena (15 mins), Porto Rotondo (20 mins), Palau (30 mins), Olbia (30 mins), Tempio Pausania (30 mins) & Santa Teresa (1 hr). Free parking is located everywhere if you are willing to walk an extra 2 mins! It is undoubtedly lovely spending the evening people-watching in Porto Cervo, admiring the expensive yachts in the harbour & feeling slightly faint after seeing some of the price tags in the designer shops located in piazza but I would not recommend dining here if like me you are not ridiculously rich! I much preferred the livelier & more affordable town of Baia Sardinia! The restaurant on the beach here served good food with a friendly atmosphere...for dessert try one of the gelaterias lining the piazza. I would definitely recommend the climb up Mount Limbara in Tempio Pausania which offered amazing views of the region & visiting Orgosolo famous for their murals is definitely worth the 2-hour drive. If you decide to make the trip to Orgosolo you could take some time out to take a boat ride from Cala Gonone to the Bue Marino Grotto & some beautiful beaches along Golfo Di Orosei but do not expect your boat to collect you on time! Boats only operate depending on the sea & weather conditions so be prepared for this. The La Maddalena islands are nice & can be reached by regular boats leaving from Palau, however it is much more worth visiting Corsica. Ferries to Corsica take 1 hour each way & leave from Santa Teresa for approximately £40 return. Bonifacio is an amazing city set high up on a cliff, which has some lovely little shops & restaurants...there are some beautiful beaches here...& you will not need your car as it is easy to explore by foot!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k0pite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The earlier reviews on this hotel did not disappoint. The welcome from the staff was warm (the receptionist even ran after us as we left so she could say goodbye!) and the whole place had an air of calm tranquility about it. The rooms were simple, but spacious and very clean, with a genrerous size balcony. The pool was warm and just lareg enough and the whole place had welcome written all over it. It is in an odd place for a hotel, being in a back street just off the main road, but this helps add to the calm as it means being away from the traffic. The staff were attentive and very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The surrounding area has a few restaurants and bars - there is one overlooking the village square and church which is particularly good. Previous reviews refer to the nearby restaurant that gives 10% off for the hotel guests. This is ok, but in the first week in September there were a few times when we had to wait for 15/20 minutes to get a table. Overall, we would use this hotel again - and we would definately recommend staying away from the coast - its very expensive and much more impersonal in the coastal resorts.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missTraveler26
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I do not know where to start. I arrived without luggage, and it didn't even arrive until 1 day before I departed.( I extended my trip additional two nights to get some benefit out of having my clothes finally). This hotel is amazing. First, the room is impeccably clean. The sheets are new and clean, as well as towels. The decor is quaint and reminds you of a beach house. Everything is antique white painted and with a very simple and clean decor it is very refreshing. There are many little characteristics of the doors and 1 in the shower wall that make this room feel like a little ancient bungalow instead of a box with a bed. The bathroom is spotless and not only that but in new condition and beautiful. The room is charming, romantic, and perfect for couples. It had a nice terrace with patio furniture for breakfast in the morning! This hotel reminds me of a top bed and breakfast because of its size and character. Breakfast is served downstairs, and is so close that you can take it to your room. The room faced the pool, and the town and surrounding area is filled with mountains and little local stores. The hotel staff was the friendliest I have ever encountered at any hotel. They are genuine and local individuals who believe in running a warm and welcoming place that is tailored to fit your needs. It is a true community feeling here. Also, I was told the owner has had the same cleaning staff for the last five years so they are very reliable as to not steal anything- a safe was also provided in the room. There is also an amazing local traditional style restaurant one minute walk that is delicious and packed at night with crowds of friends. The parking situation is ideal as well because you just park on the sides of the roads, and usually around that block in the am and pm there was always something available. You do however I think need a car, we had one, I do not know if there is a bus that runs through? But it is not within walking distance to the beaches. Such a small drawback though when you realize what a great place this actually is. I think for the price this is a diamond hidden in Olbia. I left deeply touched by the honesty and kindness I encountered here when I ran into a small problem at the hotel. Stay here and I doubt you will be disappointed. Simply incredible. I will surely be returning and recommending this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here and were not disappointed! You need a car to visit places around but it's an extremely quiet and relaxing spot. The hotel staff were so friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was gorgeous! We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rf_123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed for a perfect relaxing week. It is great for a retreat in the beautiful hill town of San Pantaleo, with day trips down to the numerous clear water beaches. A few relaxing pool days around the hotel waited on by the lovely staff. We had a room with a balcony opening onto the pool - very relaxing. Good restaurants in the town (range of prices) - highly suggest Oleander where the hotel staff can book you a table.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PheeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
3.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arathena
Hotel Arathena
#2 of 5 in San Pantaleo
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pantaleo
Hotel San Pantaleo
#5 of 5 in San Pantaleo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#3 of 5 in San Pantaleo
102 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Li Graniti
Hotel Li Graniti
#5 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
437 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico

Property: Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico
Address: Via La Petra Sarda, 07020 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico Olbia
Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico Sardinia/San Pantaleo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing