We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in a lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in a lovely town”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We use tripadvisor.com a lot and every single decision we have made using it has panned out in spades. It was through tripadvisor that we happened upon Borgo Antico.
First the town: San Pantaleo is mountain town about 4 km from the coast, nestled between beautiful rugged peaks that have stood guard for 10s of thousands of years. It's a beautiful town of lovely people and a photograph around every corner. The piazza is clean, welcoming and a perfect spot to end an evening walk after a day of enjoying the coast below. We spend every evening at Caffe Nina who offer a fab selection of wines, grappas and the best in every category of your favorite imbibe.
The pizzeria in town is really good as well - but the other local restaurants were disappointing (not matter - there are so many choices within 20 minutes).
They aren't kidding when they reco you have a car for Sardegna. It's an essential. Driving the Costa Smeralda is actually a lot of fun and there's plenty to discover.
Finally, the hotel: what a find!
Clean, picturesque, comfortably situated, well-appointed, VERY helpful, professional and courteous staff at every turn (we loved the two ladies that handled breakfast every morning - and the admin staff is top drawer - and what you'd expect from a Papillo Hotel).
The Borgo is nestled in a quiet neighbourhood just off the beaten path so that it's close to everything in town, yet quiet enough to deliver peace and tranquility when you want it.
The hacienda style layout surrounds a lovely refreshing pool. Olive trees and mirto adorn the wonderfully kept pathways and pool courtyard while the sundeck is wide open to, well, the sun - and the magnificent mountains that protect the village.
This is a great little find and we will return the next time we yearn for a taste of Sardegna.
The ONLY thing that we would have appreciated that Borgo Antico couldn't officially offer was internet access. But, the night manager was kind enough to let us send an important email on his own personal laptop - refusing to take a tip for his kind gesture.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    30
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

A beautiful hotel, perfect for couples, a little gem. We'll definitely return, despite the slightly scary roads from the airport (not that scary when you get used to them!). Book a room leading onto the terrace if you can, having said that the ones with mountain views are probably just as nice! This was possibly the cleanest hotel either of us had stayed in, with lovely friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet. A slight shame there's no restaurant but only a 3 minute walk to a very reasonable place with a discount if you book a table via the hotel.
One tip; don't let the heat of the terrace put you off; it's scorching from morning until late afternoon but the pool isn't heated so perfect for a cooling dip! And because the hotel is so small this area is really quiet, if you're lucky with a room leading onto the terrace you can pop back in if you overheat, as the air-con was super efficient!
We highly and sincerely recommend this very reasonable (and beautifully decorated!) hotel, I would certainly consider it as a honeymoon destination.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Borgo Antico is a great place to stay and ideally located in San Pantaleo. The hotel is quiet, clean and a short drive to some of the nicest beaches in Costa Smeralda. All of the hotel staff was very nice & accomodating, especially IGNAZIA who answered our endless questions graciously :).
The rooms are simple, but very clean and spacious with a nice sized balcony. San Pantaleo itself is a charming and authentic Italian village. There is a supermarket, pharmacy, cafes, shops and a church well within walking distance. Parking was pretty simple too. For those of you who are in doubt, renting a car in Sardinia is an absolute MUST!
I would definetely stay in this hotel again and I highly recommend San Pantaleo too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvangeliaK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Reading the reviews there seemed to be only one option. 200 Euros a night seemed OK for what was undoubtably going to be a great hotel... except it really isn't.

It is a really fairly average "pensione". The room was a good size for 2 adults and 1 child, clean and cool. The bathroom was very poor - a cheap shower from the Itailan verion of B&Q - very flimsy and uninviting. The swimming pool is freezing and unheated. Very small and claustrophobic round the pool. The hotel is located up a residential back alley where you have to park and then lug your luggage up to the hotel.

All this for 200 euros - I really think this hotel is surviving on hot air generated by Tripadvisor. I would go elsewhere.

PS The recommened restaurant in the hotel virtually opposite was very good (approx 60 euros a head but we ate very well).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CamdenNW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

If you are looking for a good base to explore Sardinia, close (but not too close) to Olbia airport then this is your place! San Pantaleo itself is pretty and authentic and the hotel lives up to all the reviews you will find on this site. No restaurant but a very good (michelin starred) restaurant literally over the road and lots of other options a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camdentownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
254 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This hotel fully deserves the previous positive comments. It is a small hotel with no restaurant so you have to eat out in the day - not a problem in Italy. The staff are great, especially Simone who was very patient with my limited Italian but really wanted to help. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and modern. We had a balcony looking away from the pool. The view of the mountain was somewhat obscured by olive trees but it made it very private. The village is small but very friendly. There are a few restaurants - we would recommend Ichnos and Nico. For a true Italian experience eat at the Agrituristico Murualtavata (something like that) just outside the village. They serve evening meals from 20.30. Make sure you go starving if you want to do it justice. Go to the bars in the evening - the one at the petrol station is very friendly and the measures are generous. We were there for the World Cup - how we all laughed at the French - not so funny now.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeridianManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

The staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is attractive and clean. We probably didn't see it at it's best as we stayed in early April and the weather was not great. It was very cold in the dining room and several guests were eating breakfast in coats. The other problem was that there was only one restaurant within walking distance which was open. However there are a few other restaurants in the town and am sure that in warmer months these would be open and I could imagine sitting by the pool after a day out. We played golf at nearby Il Pevero which was a great course with excellent facilities.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
3.5 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arathena
Hotel Arathena
#2 of 5 in San Pantaleo
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pantaleo
Hotel San Pantaleo
#5 of 5 in San Pantaleo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#3 of 5 in San Pantaleo
99 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Citti
Hotel Citti
#50 of 75 in Arzachena
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petra Segreta Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico

Property: Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico
Address: Via La Petra Sarda, 07020 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico Olbia
Papillo Hotels & Resorts Borgo Antico Sardinia/San Pantaleo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing