We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed”
Review of Hotel Arathena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arathena
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just go!

On a two week tour of Italy and Sardinia, Hotel Arathena and San Pantaleo were the absolute highlight. Set in an absolutely beautiful village in the mountains, this hotel is an absolute gem. Everything from service to looks and food was top quality.

I'd encourage anyone to hire a car in Sardinia as there are some great places to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FamousTartanArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    47
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in Arathena Hotel for 2 nights with my boyfriend. Staff very friendly, girl receptionist made a small show round for us and explained everything. But, nobody helped us with baggage, but for us it was not so big problem because our room was very close to parking.
In the facilities of hotel mentioned about room service. We didn't see it. When we asked about this at the reception - girl said that it's not possible unfortunately.
Also one of minuses is wi fi.. It's not in room.
Restaurant is nice, big choose of dishes, good service and friendly staff. The same at breakfast. We were satisfied :) just would be better if there was music, like this atmosphere could be more relaxed.
To sum up: the great hotel, despite some minuses which I mentioned. Especially it's good for couples. We would like to come back here next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poliez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have just come back from a week staying at the Hotel Arathena. A fantastic hotel in a fantastic location. The staff were were brilliant and were happy to help at all times.

The best thing about the hotel is the location and the fact that you can just wander into San Pantaleo of an evening and go to one of the many bars or restaurants, some of which still serve food at midnight. San Pantaleo is an authentic little gem in the otherwise man-made atmosphere of the main towns in the Costa Smerelda. And the hotel fits perfectly into this atmosphere. Thank you everyone for making this holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

On first impressions the hotel looked nothing like the picture on the internet! The hotel could do with a little tidy up on the out side but saying that every thing inside was clean tidy & well presented. We asked to be moved after the first night away from the road as the local dogs were barking all night! Lady on reception thought i was joking but could see i was a tired & in no mood to be laughed at. So she quickly arranged for us to be moved up higher & away from road. Which was brilliant.
Food in the hotel restaurant was 1st class & set menu was well worth the money. Staff very polite. Could not do enough for you. I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road. Lots of steps no lift so make sure you are fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Hotel Arenthena is situated on the outskirts of small artists village San Pantaleo with wonderful mountain views and 5 minutes stole to square which comes alive in evenings with gallery's, antiquity shops and activities in square. San Pantaleo is 10 minutes drive from beach or marina- so car hire is essential - although hotel offer twice daily trip to local beach.
The Hotel is not luxurious but has a wonderful warm feel, amazing food in Restaurant - worth booking half board and rooms are spotless (witnessed cleaner scrubbing steps to our room).
The superior rooms have a balcony or terrace mostly and are worth booking. Most rooms have
large stepin/walk in showers. The rooms are more basic but have everything you need air-con,
fridge, coffee/tea facilities.
The pool area has wonderful views of valley and although small does not seem to get over crowded (at least in early July). Could do with some new lounger cushions and maybe a few
permanent sun brolleys for shade - although can sometimes be windy.
The breakfast is served on the outside terrace in summer and has an excellent selection of
cereal, fruit, yoghurts, bread, croissant's, ham, cheese, eggs. Only down is fruit juice machine
which is not good (but seen elsewhere on island)
If you book half-board (which I beleive you can add as an extra on arrival) you are asked
to choose your menu at breakfast - there is a good choose 3 starters, 3/4 pasta/soup, 3 main
and 1 sweet. Vegetarians are catered for in menu. This means everything is cooked fresh and
mostly locally sourced.
Only downside is there is at present no WIFI - this apparently is due to cabling within area.
This hotel deserves more reviews.

Room Tip: Hotel does not do lunch any longer - but can get good salads and rolls in cafe Zara in village- don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186300Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We discovered this small hotel on out skirts of San Pantaleo 3 years ago and have come back every year. It has a special atmosphere - we decided best way to describe this - was like staying in a ski chalet - you feel 'at home'. The hotel is spotless from top to bottom. We now opt for a superior room - better views of the wild hills and valley. I think most of the rooms only have showers - but these are walk in and large - tiled exquisitely. The breakfast is a large buffet - sat out on terrace. Great choose of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, cold meat, cheese, lots of cakes and bread.
The delight of the day is dinner (we now book half-board) but the restuarant is open to
all sitting outside on a warm evening eating wonderful freshly made sardinian food with a bottle of wine. No worry about driving - you can wonder down to village for another wine or coffee after dinner - things seem to stay open until about 11.30 and admire the small galleries.
A car is really essential - however, the hotel does a twice daily run to the local beach, and will organise trips to Maddalena islands .
The Hotel does not have a lift and has quite a few steps - so no good for disabled / very eldery or possibly children who are just learning to walk or run.
It is one of our favourite hotels - relaxed 'at home' - if you require waiter or butler service all day this is not your hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are high or by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186300Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

II was looking forward to this 4-star hotel in San Pantaleo but unfortunately, I was quite disappointed. The room we were given had one bed that was in my opinion not fit for its purpose. It was a sofa bed that had a big gap running in the middle. It would be impossible for anyone to sleep on it. We asked for another room or bed but the reply was simply: There is nothing. These are normal beds for a third person in the room. The room had some toiletries and slippers. Eventually we were given another room with a proper bed. But the toiletries in this room were 50% less, (no slippers and lacking some items that were present in the first room). After a few days, when we finished the shampoo and bodywash, we asked for more but reception simply said: Sorry, we have none. When I started losing my temper, they gave us more shampoo and bodywash. For some unknown reason, they removed the bedcovers from our beds. We asked for them back but after 8 days, they never came back. The door lock did not always work leaving our personal belonging exposed to theft. (It is apartment like rooms, accessible from the street). When we complained about that, they said that the locking system they have is not meant to be for external use but only for internal use, hence it is not working properly. Twice we came back to our room and our door was open. The chairs in the restaurant need a good wash !!!. Internet is charged at 10 Euros an hour. Breakfast is way too early and short, (from 08:00 to 09:30 AM). Generally, a bad hotel in my opinion. In my book, NOT a 4-star hotel. Maybe just about a 3-star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kazanaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pantaleo
3.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
490 reviews
145.2 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
813 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
721 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
#12 of 21 in Porto Cervo
322 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arathena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arathena

Property: Hotel Arathena
Address: Via Pompei 47, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arathena 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arathena, a small charming 4 star hotel, is the ideal retreat for relaxing holidays in Sardinia. Its architecture, warm and traditional at the same time, reminds of an ancient "borgo" built following the natural development of the ground.The beautiful mountains of San Pantaleo are the frame of this charming hotel in Sardinia to which they give a magic atmosphere that guarantee to all the clients the peace and relax that they expect during a unique holiday in Sardinia. The beautiful mountains of San Pantaleo in Gallura form the backdrop to this charming hotel in Sardinia, giving him a magical atmosphere that guarantees tranquility and relaxation for your holiday in Sardinia. Our 4 stars hotel in San Pantaleo is recommended for those who want a holiday in Sardinia of tranquility, nature, and the warmth of the Sardinian hospitality.The hotel Arathena in San Pantaleo is recommended to those who wants an holiday in Sardinia characterised from a deep contact with nature , all enriched from the well-known Sardinian hospitality. Also the beach lovers will find at the hotel Arathena their home away from home. Thanks to its location in fact, the hotel Arathena remains only a few minutes drive from the best beaches in Costa Smeralda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arathena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arathena Hotel San Pantaleo
Hotel Arathena Sardinia/San Pantaleo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing