We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Better than ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park

Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited the LBJ site many times over the past 25 years. Although we miss the bus ride of years ago, the new format of more self-guided tours is fine. We did have a great tour of the Texas White House with our tour guide. She had many interesting tidbits regarding where, who, and when many of the items from inside the home came from. TIP: kids will be asked to count all the phones in the house. 15 is the number. Also, you won't believe how many TVs are all over the house. It is hot in Texas in the summer, so go before lunchtime for the most enjoyable experience. Once again, we took 3 grand kids and they did enjoy the stop. LBJ was a education president.


Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    84
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“History well preserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

As always, the National Park Service does an excellent job of preserving and explaining the history of our country. Our guide at the "Western White House" did a wonderful job of telling us about the house and its meaning for the Johnson family. The tours fill up quickly, but there is a lot to see and read in the visitor center while you wait for your tour to start. Now that I have been here I can understand why President Johnson was so rooted in this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Take several hours to see the Living History farm on-site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

There are several great reviews here (see May), but I would just add that if you like "early" Texas history, be sure and also see the Sauer-Beckmann Farm , for a "living history" example of how people lived and worked the land in the early 1900s.. (it is just a short drive from the LBJ Home, and the family that lived there built the first log cabin in 1869, then kept adding onto it). State Park operates it, and "docents" and farm workers are there to explain the daily work and way of life the family had. The original family there knew LBJs' relatives, too. The day we were there, the lady was making butter and cheese. I love seeing how simply people lived in the late 1800s, and also seeing inside the home, with the antique furniture, clothing , etc. I always want to visit the farm, after visiting LBJ Texas Whitehouse .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Living history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Driving through the ranch, seeing the cattle (some of whom are roaming free), and following the life of LBJ, in conjunction with the state historical park, was a real lesson in the history of our country and of the man. There are many things to see, but probably the most outstanding was the Texas White House. One could almost feel the presence of LBJ and Ladybird; for example, in the living room, I could see the fireplace and mantel and then look at a picture of LBJ standing in that very spot. There were two closets, one for LBJ and one for Ladybird, that contained their actual clothes, shoes, and accessories. The park ranger, who gave the tour of the Texas White House, was knowledgeable and told personal stories about the Johnsons which made me wish I had known them. After a day of learning about LBJ, I have much greater appreciation of our 36th president. It is free to drive through the ranch and costs $3 to tour the Texas White House. It was $3 well-spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 2littletime2seeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot Point, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LBJ Homesite and Historical Park and grave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is geared to adults, but has a huge collection of his cars, and shows a real ranch. beautiful hill country area, lots of trees. grave of LBJ family

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing