We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Interesting”

Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The birthplace of LBJ, his family home and the Texas White House and then the family burial plots are all very interesting.The home is modest by today's standards. LBJ spent over 400 days during his presidency at the ranch, where he conducted his business and met with foreign dignitaries. He passed away at the age of 64 while in residence. Lady Bird continued to live here for another 30 years. This place is a little slice of history that if one has the time, is worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    97
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited the LBJ site many times over the past 25 years. Although we miss the bus ride of years ago, the new format of more self-guided tours is fine. We did have a great tour of the Texas White House with our tour guide. She had many interesting tidbits regarding where, who, and when many of the items from inside the home came from. TIP: kids will be asked to count all the phones in the house. 15 is the number. Also, you won't believe how many TVs are all over the house. It is hot in Texas in the summer, so go before lunchtime for the most enjoyable experience. Once again, we took 3 grand kids and they did enjoy the stop. LBJ was a education president.


Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“History well preserved”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As always, the National Park Service does an excellent job of preserving and explaining the history of our country. Our guide at the "Western White House" did a wonderful job of telling us about the house and its meaning for the Johnson family. The tours fill up quickly, but there is a lot to see and read in the visitor center while you wait for your tour to start. Now that I have been here I can understand why President Johnson was so rooted in this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Take several hours to see the Living History farm on-site”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

There are several great reviews here (see May), but I would just add that if you like "early" Texas history, be sure and also see the Sauer-Beckmann Farm , for a "living history" example of how people lived and worked the land in the early 1900s.. (it is just a short drive from the LBJ Home, and the family that lived there built the first log cabin in 1869, then kept adding onto it). State Park operates it, and "docents" and farm workers are there to explain the daily work and way of life the family had. The original family there knew LBJs' relatives, too. The day we were there, the lady was making butter and cheese. I love seeing how simply people lived in the late 1800s, and also seeing inside the home, with the antique furniture, clothing , etc. I always want to visit the farm, after visiting LBJ Texas Whitehouse .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Driving through the ranch, seeing the cattle (some of whom are roaming free), and following the life of LBJ, in conjunction with the state historical park, was a real lesson in the history of our country and of the man. There are many things to see, but probably the most outstanding was the Texas White House. One could almost feel the presence of LBJ and Ladybird; for example, in the living room, I could see the fireplace and mantel and then look at a picture of LBJ standing in that very spot. There were two closets, one for LBJ and one for Ladybird, that contained their actual clothes, shoes, and accessories. The park ranger, who gave the tour of the Texas White House, was knowledgeable and told personal stories about the Johnsons which made me wish I had known them. After a day of learning about LBJ, I have much greater appreciation of our 36th president. It is free to drive through the ranch and costs $3 to tour the Texas White House. It was $3 well-spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 2littletime2seeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing