We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Site!”

Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, MO
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Site!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I make it a point to visit National Parks/Historic Sites when I visit an area. I wasn't really too excited about visiting this one, but the Lyndon B. Johnson National Historic Park far exceeded my expectations! The entire historic site is spread out between 3 locations -- the Visitor Center, boyhood home, and old family settlement in Johnson City; the state visitor center and living history farm; and finally the LBJ ranch approximately 15 miles away. I highly suggest making this an all-day excursion as there is so much to see. We only had the afternoon and were able only to visit the Visitor Center and the boyhood home tour in Johnson City, the ranch home tour, and family cemetery. The tour guides were very knowlegable, willingly answered question and made the tours very interesting and easily understandable by children. The ranch tour is like stepping back into the 1960s! There is no charge for the boyhood home tour; there is a minimal fee for adults for ranch hour tour, but it is worth every penny.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wjd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    107
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Second Visit, for Sauer-Beckmann Farm alone”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've been to this park and went through the entire thing a few years ago. My absolute favorite part is the Sauer-Beckmann Living History Farm. It is located near the entrance of the state park. There are period-dressed workers on the farm, cooking meals, tending the homestead. It is like stepping into history. They've done a great job here and this second visit was strictly to visit the Sauer-Beckmann farm alone. We went through it and went on to Fredericksburg.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank txgirlfriday7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A "must see", irregardless of your politics.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

You feel like you are stepping back in time as you visit the ranch. The Park Service has done an amazing job in all aspects of the property. Be sure to stop and visit the schoolhouse (the first building you'll see), pull up the little side drive and park around back. The family graveyard is down the road on the left, and the reconstructed birthplace home across the street. The home is in a beautiful setting, very nice. Drive all the way around through the ranch to the main home...it is amazing. At the visitors center, right in front of the retired Air Force jet that shuttled LBJ around, pay the few dollars for the tour, worth every cent. Plan easily on a couple to a few hours, take the time to soak in some history.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Guide was terrific”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Well worth the time to take the free guided tour of the homestead and the grounds. Very friendly, knowledgeable and willing to explain and answer questions. Really filled in the history about the "Johnson" family life. Arrived late in the day so didn't tour the visitor center (took the tour instead and glad we did).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nh_roots_and_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Better than I was hoping”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nicknamed the Western White House, I can see why....The NPS has done a terrific job in perserving a bit of history for all us us. It's a drop back into time to see the electronics and communication devices from the 60's. Took me back to my early childhood. Make sure you do the auto tour and the tour inside the house.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing