We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the birds”
Review of Hotel la Baja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel la Baja
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shame about the birds”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

As reviewers say, superb views from the cliff edge hotel, but the birds love nesting at the place even more! This regettably renders the pool and pool area unusable on health grounds. With that facility out, this really is quite expensive for a room with a view from the relatively small balconies. The main restaurant/breakfast room was fully enclosed and therefore quite airless. Had booked for 7 nights but had to leave after 2, took an hour to check out even though we had advised reception the night before that we would be going. The main course of the evening menu on both nights was poor, but the waiting staff were very polite and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank serviceplease33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    71
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
103
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We spent 6 days at La Baja and would have stayed even longer had there been a room available. The position of the hotel is spectacular, the rooms comfortable and clean. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the excellent food. We commend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurgenxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Stayed in hotel in July /august 2009 and throuroughly disapointed with quality of the food, service, rooms and staff in general. The hotel is in a splendid location with amazingly breathtaking views. it is a real pity that the air conditioning does not work in the family rooms. breakfast was very poor with a very pityful selection of fresh fruit (out of the fridge), and croisants, bread, cheese and cold ham that were shared by flies as it was left in the open. Evening meals (we were half board) were also disappointed and particularly outrageous was the fact that they used the remains of a wedding they held to conjure up a meal for half board residents. when you consider the cost of half board it was a bit of a cheek and to be honest a joke. the staf while polite and well mannered lied through their teeth. on multiple occasions when we reported the fault with the air conditioning they acted as if they were unaware of the problems while being fully informed as they could remotely monitor the temperature of each room from the main desk. we ended up leaving the hotel after a week of our two week booking and stayed in a hotel nearby which proved to be far far better in all respects. my advice is keep away and dont believe a word that the assistant manager Rosanna says.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diabolik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annatziu, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel la Baja, responded to this review, 29 August 2010
Mr. Diabolik99, of which we know the real name, has been our guest for three consecutive years. This year, at the arrival at the hotel, he discovered that our former manager had opened a small hotel three stars on her own.
Since then he has tried in every way to find a possibility to terminate his booking without losing money, but tried not to pay even what he had already used in our hotel.
Even after his departure in the small hotel of our former manager we allowed him and his family to use the pool and TV lounge of our hotel.
We don’t deny that there were temporary problems with the air conditioning but the problem was solved in the shorter time as is our custom.
The editor of this review has not succeeded in this and wanted to revenge in this vulgar way.
The hotel management is taking legal action. It provides for a complaint for libel after considering the lies and insults in the present review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Position: excellent for a quiet getaway. Service: first rate. Food: amazingly good - imaginative menus, interesting and well balanced and the highest quality ingredients.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roofman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Very nice location and food, but some problems occured: we received the only room left - 101, it is near the staircase. In the morning you can hear everyone going for breakfast and back. We also left the towel on the floor in the morning, but in the evening we found the same towels on the chair ;) In general it is a nice hotel but do not take a room near the staircase and mind the cleaning services.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank evaldas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

In short, there's just one reason to stay in this hotel....

But here are the facts first. The location is sublime, perched on the edge of a cliff above a bay of clear blue water. The views are marvellous, the beach is simply down some stairs.

A new chef has been recruited, and the a la carte food was good.

So what's wrong with place? The answers perhaps stem from its ownership. It's recently been bought by a local group who also own campsites. They've supervised the hotel's renovation: it's hard to believe that an architect was involved, or even that an Italian was involved. It's so dreadfully ugly: think open prison, and you've got the picture. Except there are some sudden dangerous drops without ballustrades which prison governors would sort out.

The staff are all perfectly competent, but work a day. They do their job, but that's it. There's no charm, little heartfelt hospitality.

Smoking's not allowed in the rooms. So smokers gather on their rooms' balconies. From there their smoke blows directly into your room. So, if you don't like smoke, there's a choice of asphyxiation or closing the window. (Given the view, that's a great shame).

So why stay? The answer is that there's a hole with a plastic bag in it filled with water. The result is a perfectly serviceable swimming pool. If you want a pool close to the beach at a faintly affordable price close to Oristano, then this might be for you.

But if you want Italian warmth, you need a hotel run by a passionately attentive and omni-present owner. There are plenty around Bosa.

And if you want a pool close to the Mediterreanean, there's are plenty of better options on Sardinia, or elsewhere.

Go if you have to, other wise spend your holiday and hard earned money elsewhere.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank bluejandn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We had never been to Sardinia before and we were not let down in the least. The hotel is lovely. Although we had a side room we still had the beach as a view and indeed we also got to have the sun rising over the mountains on the opposite side. The rooms are decent and well kept and the Reception staff, one particularly did their best to help with the queries we had.
If you can look past the rather basic food for breakfast; no pastries or croissant and no fried breakfast if that's what you like then it is a lovely hotel.
The hotel is in a good area to get to a number of places, good secluded beaches, Thoros - the Roman remains of a city, Oristano and all that it has to offer and further East up into the mountains. Bosa isn't far either in a car and is well worth going to.
The only thing to be aware of is that it is really quite essential to have a hire car. It allows you more for options.

  • Liked — Location and the views
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Caterina di Pittinuri
3.3 mi away
Is Arenas Resort
Is Arenas Resort
#1 of 1 in Narbolia
385 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Raffael
Hotel Raffael
#2 of 4 in San Vero Milis
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Vista S'Archittu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
678 reviews
35.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
642 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Torre
Hotel Gran Torre
#1 of 5 in Cabras
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Baja

Property: Hotel la Baja
Address: Via Scirocco 20 | Cuglieri, 09073 Santa Caterina di Pittinuri, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Santa Caterina di Pittinuri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Caterina di Pittinuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Baja 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In S. Caterina di Pittinuri stands the Hotel la Baja, very closed to the Sinis Peninsula, nestled at the foot of the Montiferru and only 20 km. from Oristano.From the swimming pool you can have a marvellous view on the underlying sea.Only 10 minutes from a 18-holes golf course inside a pinewood overlooking the sea (par 72).The Hotel offers 29 eleganty furnished bedroms with balcony overlooking to Santa Caterina's Bay. All rooms have private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, telephone, colour TV and fridge-bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel la Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Baja Sardinia/Santa Caterina Di Pittinuri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing